We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job”
Review of Wheatsheaf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wheatsheaf Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Virginia Water
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Does the job”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location, off an A road, near the M25 and walking distance to Wentworth golf club. Staff were all friendly and had good banter. Room was clean and had everything you would want, including what was probably the best shower in the world, seriously, we would have stolen it if possible!

However, and this is probably due to the building's age, but the place is incredibly bad acoustically when trying to get some sleep. You can hear every footstep, every conversation, every TV channel, every toilet flush, every door closing, maybe that was just our room, but it was impossible to get any peace and in my case, any sleep. Our neighbours weren't particularly loud, but we felt like we knew them after one night next to them!

Some sound proofing on this place and it will be top notch.

Traditional breakfast was excellent but they need to keep an eye on the coffee and juices which were usually low and/or empty.

Other than the noise upstairs I would have given this place four stars.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Paul J,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and have passed your comments regarding the noise onto our management team so they can review this in the future.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    76
    66
    62
    52
See reviews for
87
90
8
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Previously, on returning from our annual visit to the gardens with our walking group, I've been pleased to visit the Wheatsheaf Hotel for a good meal. But today's visit was a huge disappointment. Even though we had pre-booked, most of us were left waiting for about 45-minutes before being served. And this was after queuing for a tiresome length of time to order our drinks and food at the bar.

Furthermore, three of our members were either short-changed, or overcharged. My battered fish was somewhat undercooked and just about edible. I would have complained but the staff did not have the usual courtesy to ask customers if they were satisfied with their meal. In fact, it was a busy period and I got the impression that they were struggling to cope.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crustypants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear crustypants,

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear of the service you and your friends received during your visit, your feedback has been sent to our management team to investigate your experience.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your somments further.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Virginia Water hotels

Eastbourne
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed here on a saturday night just for a night away, room was comfortable, clean and modern. The pub was packed all day/night with people having food, which I can say was delicious, we did have to wait 50 mins for our food but it was so busy and the food was well worth the wait. We didnt venture out really as we were happy just relaxing in the room/pub. Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Purpledragonfly15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear natalieevans28,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Arrived at the Wheatsheaf "Hotel" at midnight, to find all the lights on but nobody at home. Although it was a late hour, we had travelled down from Manhester for Five and a half hours in pouring rain to get there.
The Hotel had been warned that we were arriving late, but when we tried to telephone them no one answered the telephone.
Walked round the building for 20 minutes trying to contact someone, gave up and drove ten minutes down the road to Premier Lodge, which was cheaper and OPEN.
Hotel looked nice, but we didn't get the chance to find out

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank towercourt1359
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear towercourt1359,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of the issue you encountered whilst trying to stop at the Wheatsheaf Hotel, we have passed your comments onto the management team to investigate.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your feedback further.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst doing legoland and Windsor and it's perfectly located for both. In a lovely location with Great Windsor Park accessible from the car park. The rooms were very nice with modern decor and very clean. Nice big queen bed. Our children shared a sofa bed. The only downsides were, noise from the road- we could also hear music from the pub below, and only Earl Grey Tea provided in room (I prefer English Breakfast) but neither affected our overall enjoyement. Would definately recommend and return in future. We ate in the pub the first night. It was very nice and friendly service. Didnt have breakfast at the pub, as we didn't get up and about early enough as it was only served till 9.30am. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Dear Katherine A,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the team made you feel well looked after. Your comments regarding the room you stayed in have been duly noted and will be passed to the Hotel Management Team.

Many Thanks

Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2012

As with the last review, I don't understand where the negative comments are coming from. We stayed at this hotel last week and found the service to be fantastic, cost reasonable given the gorgeous location and a train station close by with a 35/40 minute trip in to London, management staff who seemed to be a husband and wife team? really helpful. We ate in the pub and both had great meals. Yes there were a lot of young staff but they were all keen and pleasant. The room was clean with nice decor and comfy bed. We had breakfast in the morning and it was well worth the money, didn't need any lunch that day! Its not 5 star (but high 3 early 4 given its a hotel/pub) but its not 5 star prices either. People seem to expect 5 star service but dont want to pay for it! For cost the pub/hotel/restaurant is fab! Much nicer than a travelodge or other budget hotels!

Would I recommend this hotel? FOR SURE
Will I stay here again? 100% YES so much to see and do with easy access to London. Great for a weekend away!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Dear Fay R,

Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit.

We have passed your kind words on to the manager so they may share them with the team.

Kind Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

I visited the wheatsheaf hotel last night and then when I came to rate it today, I couldn't believe some of the reviews that had been written previously. We had a lovely time. We ate good food in a restaurant that was very busy but very well organized. We didn't wait overly long for service and even though it was busy, it was obviously still not too much trouble for the staff to ensure we were well looked after. We stayed the night in a very comfortable room and enjoyed a lovely breakfast. We had a great stay and I would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spirit P, Guest Relations Manager at Wheatsheaf Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear SubaruDriver,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your recent review, we have sent your comments onto the manager so that he may investigate them further.

We hope that you enjoy any future visits.

Regards
Chef & Brewer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Virginia Water
1.8 mi away
Savill Court Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
2.2 mi away
Sunningdale Park
Sunningdale Park
#5 of 6 in Ascot
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
671 reviews
2.1 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,041 reviews
1.7 mi away
Savannah Bed & Breakfast
Savannah Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 2 in Virginia Water
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheatsheaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheatsheaf Hotel

Property: Wheatsheaf Hotel
Address: London Road, Virginia Water GU25 4QF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Virginia Water
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Virginia Water
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wheatsheaf Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Wheatsheaf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheatsheaf Hotel Virginia Water, UK - Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing