We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average Food at above average prices” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wheatsheaf Hotel

Wheatsheaf Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Average Food at above average prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Marina and I went with a friend for Sunday lunch. We had booked a table and were seated immediately. The waitress stayed at the table to take our food order and we asked for a few minutes to look at the menu. 30 minutes later I went and ordered at the bar. We all had roasts which we 'larged' up. When the meals arrived we couldn't for the life of us see how our meals were any bigger than any of the others coming out of the kitchen. The food was ok but not exceptional. The slices of meat were very thin and as a result were pretty tasteless. Only one dessert ordered, a crumble with "lashings" of custard, but the custard was served in a wee little jug that was not much bigger than an egg cup. We did ask for some more immediately but in keeping with the level of service it failed to arrive. The wine, a white Zin' was expensive at £15 a bottle for only 9deg Alc. content. I had 2 pints of Ale, Doom Bar, that was bright and well kept. Only one dessert and the bill came to £76. Not impressed and will not be going back to eat again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlyFarly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    78
    49
    69
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very poor food and no service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Sunday lunch was cold and poorly cooked. Beef was tough. Barely saw any staff and they had no interest in us.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

visited last saturday with my family and found it was very warm and comfortable,the service and food was very good and would visit again if in the area.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NIG195452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very good fish and chips”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

An early evening meeting with an old friend (who happens to be the head of the world's biggest caterers) saw us arrive here and look for a table. It was not a busy evening so one in the corner enabled very pleasant conversation and the drinks were served in a friendly manner. Food ordered and arrived promptly starting with the Pate & Chicken Satay. Both perfectly acceptable. The main course was fish, chips and mushy peas for both which came on a large plate to accommodate a large piece of cod. The fish was very well cooked and the batter crisp and crunchy, pease were not puree but instead were well cooked mushy peas and good portion of chips. Portion size was excellent therefore had to skip the puddings but overall a perfectly good meal at a very reasonable price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyandAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

I have previously complained about another Chef & Brewer establishment, but the Wheatsheaf was much better than I expected when a group of 13 of us lunched on a very busy Sunday. Staff on the day friendly and helpful, reasonable wait for all of our food, which was of a good standard.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 771MikeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheatsheaf Hotel also viewed

Virginia Water, Surrey
 
Englefield Green, Surrey
Sunningdale, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Virginia Water, Surrey
 

Been to Wheatsheaf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing