We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor service,low grade food,definately misable”
Review of Haweli of Belmont

Haweli of Belmont
Reserve with OpenTable
Haweli of Belmont is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #61 of 163 Restaurants in Sutton
Price range: $28 - $48
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: ‘Haweli’ derived from Hindi word ‘Haveli’ which describes an enclosed mansion built with pride to keep family members together. The word therefore immediately gives a sense of security, trust and closeness. The Haweli of Belmont’s philosophy lies on this very traditional value of warmth and hospitality, which is embodied in the South Asian way of life.‘Haweli of Belmont’ is a family run business with a great passion to deliver the very best South Asian dining experience to our guests. In this venture we have deeply explored the rich and diverse dishes of our continent to bring the very best for you. Our chefs and consultant culinary experts have taken a lot of care and creativity in selecting and preparing a menu that offers the true touches of South Asia in its colour, taste and cooking style with a matching wine list that goes very well with the spices used in our dishes. We always select the finest ingredients for our dishes and we remain at your service with a dedicated team of staff and sincere management. Our dedication to provide our guests the very best Indian dining experience continues with our attentive, seamless service and a creative selection of fresh and exotic dishes from our exciting menu. Haweli of Belmont is a highly renowned Indian restaurant in Sutton, with its guest list featuring the occasional politician, sports star and many TV celebrities. Haweli of Belmont has been run by the Chowdhury family for over 20 years and every aspect of the restaurant is designed to offer you the very best Indian food available. The contemporary design and welcoming service help you unwind and puts you in the perfect mood to enjoy the acclaimed Haweli of Belmont dining experience. Book a table today and come and see for yourself why Haweli of Belmont comes so highly recommended. Takeaway or free delivery for Curry in Belmont, Sutton, Cheam, Banstead, Epsom, Tadworth, Carshalton, Wallington,. Have high quality restaurant food delivered to your home - authentic, traditional and contemporary Indian cuisine.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Myself and my family often used to eat at this restaurant, but unfortunately due the rapid decline in service and poor quality of food we will be taking our custom elsewhere

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Russ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpiceMarchent, Manager at Haweli of Belmont, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We are sincerely sorry to hear your experience, however thanks for sharing your views.. This certainly helps to be alert about our standard of service including our food. You would be happy to know that we have recently undergone a massive renovation program ( reopened on 21/8/13) which means not only the environment is now more exciting , fresh and new , we have been working very hard to bring a new menu with more interesting dishes. We also have a fresh bunch of staff both in the front and in the kitchen. I would request you to revisit us given you have been a regular customer. We are dedicated to our service and quality food and we are sorry . However we would like to welcome you back as I ensure you you will be satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 184 of 218 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Disappointing, complained that there were pieces of concrete in nan bread. We were told by a very rude and irate manager that we were lying, despite staff confirmation that there was a problem with the oven and clearly visible evidence. Not even offered an apology let slone a refund!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank mrhigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpiceMarchent, Owner at Haweli of Belmont, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

It is very unfortunate that the above customer has remained unhappy despite our best efforts. At Haweli we always do our best to address our customer’s concerns with sincerity. The above customer ordered a take away on the evening of Saturday 31/8/13 total £58.55 . After the delivery the customer advised us of a piece of hard clay on the Nan bread. A clay oven is made of very soft clay and on occasions thin pieces of clay could come with a nan bread as they are sticked to the body of the oven during baking. At any point after a delivery if there is an issue with the food or delivery we immediately replaced this via our delivery man as a priority.
In this case, when the customer contacted us we wanted to send a replacement Nan but the customer advised us that that they had finished their dinner except the nan bread. Next morning the discussion was mainly around refund. The customer demanded a full refund of £58.55 of the whole meal. This contradicts with our policy as we would like any faulty item to be returned to us as promptly as possible. This time, the customer advised us that they threw away the whole meal and did not eat any of the item ordered.
Especially in this case the issue was with a nan bread. We were duly apologetic and wanted to make the customer happy but unfortunately we could not meet the demand of full refund. As a note we will address the concerns expressed about the person the customer spoke to.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Visited Haweli of Belmont for the first time this weekend having previously only had take aways from this restaurant. They have just undergone a major refurbishment resulting in a very smart / chic setting split over two levels. Service was attentive (perhaps overly so). Excellent wine list which is unusual for an Indian restauarant. Food quality / taste was excellent (try the prawn puri or haryali chicken to start and the chicken tikka korai or garlic chilli chicken for mains). Couple of minor issues - the waiters prefer to serve your rice / curry onto the plate on your behalf (which I personally don't like) and seemed a tad nervous pouring wine. Overall, a very enjoyable meal / experience and reasonably priced too!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This used to be an ok restaurant either to eat in or for takeaway but our most recent takeaway was quite possible the worst we've ever had, anywhere.

The Chicken Tikka Massala was watery (not creamy), the Lamb Jalfrezi was bland and even the Onion Bhajis were poor, being somewhat undercooked.

Now, this was about a week before they started a major refurb (still going on) so maybe the usual chef was already on holiday or something and we will try it once more, a few weeks after they reopen but if it hasn't improved then I'll actually drive back with the order and demand a refund; a great shame as it used to be a 'safe' choice at the higher end of the cost spectrum.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JulianandOlya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SpiceMarchent, Manager at Haweli of Belmont, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

We are very sorry to hear your experience. It is an acknowledgement that the reviewer used to be a regular customer. It is true that we have just been through a massive renovation program. However, none of our kitchen staff went on holiday . Given the impact of renovation we closed our restaurant for about six weeks and only kept the takeaway service as many customer requested to keep this service running. We are extremely dedicated to customer satisfaction and we hope that you will try us again and at any point if you are dissatisfied please speak to a floor manager. Many Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

The best curry in Sutton, you can't go wrong with The Hawelli. The staff are friendly & efficient.

You won't go wrong with this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Marksf1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haweli of Belmont also viewed

Sutton, Greater London
Woodford, Redbridge
 

Been to Haweli of Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing