We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique experience for great food”

The Clink Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 148 Restaurants in Sutton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $39
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Clink Restaurant at HMP High Down opened to the general public in May 2009 and offers over 30 prisoners full-time work within a true-to-life restaurant and kitchen environment. Alongside their employment the prisoners also train towards gaining nationally recognised City & Guilds NVQs in food preparation and food service before returning to their prison accommodation at the end of the working day. Upon their release, The Clink Charity helps the graduates find employment within the hospitality industry. The restaurant is an example of a unique charitable project that is committed to reducing reoffending rates in partnership with HMPS. The restaurant positively promotes the rehabilitation and reintegration of prisoners and also champions the wealth of quality, fresh and organic produce available locally. Breakfast is served from Monday to Friday between 8:15am and 10:30am, and lunch is served from Monday to Friday between 12pm and 3pm. Guests can enjoy Afternoon Tea from 2pm to 4pm. This must be booked at least 24 hours in advance. Available for exclusive hire, The Clink Restaurant boasts a private dining room that offers projector and AV facilities making it perfect for meetings, conferences and presentations.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Unique experience for great food”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Woking very close to The Clink we decided to try this as a team lunch.
The booking was made well in advance and we made our way to the reception.
After the security check in we were escorted through the the restaurant inside the prison walls.
It was a very strange feeling and a unique experience
Once inside the tactfully decorated and well lit restaurant it was very hard to believe where we actually were.
The service from the prisoners was second to none and they should be proud of what they are achieving.
The menu was excellent with good choices for all. When the food was served we were absolutely stunned by its quality. As good as any top restaurant in London and half the price.

It was also refreshing to sit and enjoy a relaxed meal with no mobile phone interruption and no one with they head inside their smart phones being unsociable.

The prisoners (I really do want to call them staff) were polite, approachable, helpful and attentive. I really have my eyes opened to what can be achieved by such a charity. Reading the reoffending figures in the small informative booklet was refreshing and we were more than happy to make a decent donation to this worthwhile cause.

As the title suggests, a very unique experience with amazing food and service.
You must visit, we certainly will be returning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Allan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    70
    10
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Food & Service - with the benefit of making a difference”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

It is a bit of a drag waiting to be escorted around the building but it was nice to dine without a mobile phone anywhere nearby! However the wait was worth it. Varied menu, fresh ingredients and well prepared food. It was delicious. The belly pork was divine - really melted in the mouth and the orange sorbet with chocolate ganache was just awesome. Service was top notch too in surprisingly pleasant surroundings - you wouldn't think you were in a prison bar teh plastic cutlery. The people behind this deserve every success and the fact the money is going to such a worthy cause and not into the pockets of some large chain is a good to know. Prisoners who are involved are less likely to reoffend (10% against a prison population average of 47%) so book up and enjoy a great fine dining experience!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tradesecrets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Almost unique experience - delightful!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

To celebrate a relatives wedding anniversary, we were taken for a 'surprise' meal - imagine arriving at HMP High Down and having to go through all the security checks before being accompanied to the restaurant deep in the prison. At no stage did we feel insecure or apprehensive. When entering the restaurant we were greeted very professionally and shown to our table. Only difference was plastic cutlery and no alcoholic drinks - there is bottled water which is quite pleasant. Very good menu with sufficient choice including vegetarian. Starters excellent as was main course and dessert. The salad was fresh and crisp. Staff charming, unobtrusive and attentive. The price was reasonable and helps to subsidise the project which gives prisoners a chance to change their lives. Make sure you have ID and a cheque book and carry no electronic devices. Dress smart casual. An excellent experience which we would highly recommend. Note over 18 years of age only.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Well worth the hassle.Go to this restaurant”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

HMP High Down prison, formerly Banstead lunatic asylum, now houses a super restaurant run by a charity. It's a bit of an effort to book and get to the restaurant but once inside you will be amazed. Well lit, comfortable and with a well-priced menu. We found the food to be certainly comparable with most of the better restaurants in Surrey. The service was polite and professional but the super food and presentation was a big surprise. Go there, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dog63green
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“What a place to dine!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

After the entry process to the clink, walking threw all the barbed wire gates and high security checks, we get to the clink restaurant that has lovely big glass tables and comfy seats. The waiting staff (prisoners) were brilliant, serving drinks and being attentive. The menu was lovely and the produce was all fresh, some things grown in the prison walls. The restaurant was full on Thursday lunchtime. The only downfall is that you have to pay by cheque, however because of the security measures you understand this. I would love to revisit and would recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants to experience somthing slightly different for brilliant value.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clink Restaurant also viewed

 
Banstead, Surrey
Sutton, Greater London
 
Carshalton, Surrey
 

Been to The Clink Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing