We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sutton
bolton
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“what a wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We have just returned from a week away and this was the 3rd Holiday Inn of the trip and we definately saved the best till last. I had originally planned to stay at the hotel on Epsom Downs but decided it was a little far out from the town for us, this hotel proved to be just perfect. We were greeted by a very friendly young lady on reception who checked us in with a smile and gave directions to our room, room 218. This was on the 2nd floor and wow what a size, 2 double beds, seating area and nice big bathroom with shower and bath. As we were travelling with 2 seven year olds it was great to have a seating area for us and a bit of space for them. Directions were given from reception for local attractions and nothing was too much trouble, all 3 ladies who were on reception were helpful and very friendly, top marks for customer service ladies!! We decided to breakfast in the hotel and the selection of food was excellent, we had porridge the first morning which was delicious and even though we were very late coming down we did not feel rushed and a good selection of food was available, the waiting staff were very friendly especially 1 lady who was joking with my son, he thought she was great. Day 2 was even better with a very nice omelette prepared fresh for me by the chef. Full marks to the kitchen for the breakfast on both days. Our room was kept very clean and the whole hotel looked great.
We used the leisure facilities and found them to be very well run and spotlessly clean, staff friendly, especially the man on duty on Friday morning, he was very welcoming and made a point of saying goodbye and wishing us a good trip home. We did eat in the restaurant on our last evening, kids eat free and we found this to be very good value for money. As others have commented the restaurant was not busy, when we came down at 6.30pm we were the only people in there, it did get busier after 7.30 though. We did find the customer service overall excellent, the food in the restaurant delicious and although not cheap we thought was very good value for money, our boys declared it was the nicest meal they had eaten all week and definitely want to return, we agree and will definitely use this hotel again if in the area. Just a suggestion, although ice is free from room service a fridge in the room would be greatly appreciated, when travelling with children or for a few days it makes such a difference.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suzannesmeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
It is always such a pleasure to read coments like these as it makes us proud and happy to work at the hotel.
Thank you for your comments, we will certainly share this with all the staff at the hotel. I have taken on board your comment on the fridge, which at present are only in our Executive rooms, and will use this for future planning.
Thank you again.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    204
    104
    26
    19
See reviews for
133
105
35
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, Berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We booked this room at a bargain 'overnight' rate and were well pleased with our choice. Room was clean and fresh, staff were exceptionally friendly, location to the town centre was brilliant and the breakfast was plentiful. The only downside was that on the hottest day of the year, the window was broken and couldn't be opened - but we cranked up the air-con! Would definitely recommend to anyone - certainly at the price we paid!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hammee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments with reference to your last stay at the Holiday Inn London Sutton. We will certainly share your comments with all staff accordingly, who will be happy to see the appreciation for their service.
Looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future,

Kind regards,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

The room was clean and spacious enough.The staff on reception, housekeeping and room service were nice.

I ordered the Vegetarian lasagne and had it brought up to my room. The price would have been reasonable if it had been nice. Not much effort had been put into it and you can tell, the lasagne strips were very soft and there's no other way to describe the veg than mushy.

The walls were far too thin. I could hear conversations that were going on near the lifts and I wasn't particularly close. I could hear every sound the person next door made. I was assured I was situated on a quiet floor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasisinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the hotel. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience caused and have discussed your comment about the lasagne with our Head Chef for immediate follow up.

Looking forward to welc ome you back to the hotel in the near future

Yours sincerely,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s.w.england
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2012

stayed at this holiday inn many times,most recent july 2012.
great location just a short walk to train station,about twenty minutes to centrel london.
staff are very good.all in all good hotel for short break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T.C.22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your kind feedback. Indeed our location to central London is quite good, as you stated, with a 5 minute walk to Sutton Train Station and a mere 20-25 minutes train ride to London Victoria Station.
Looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future,

Your sincerely,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Hotel was lovely, rooms clean, food and breaksfast gorgeous - even given champagne at breakfast!!!

One waitress in particular a young lady called Nikki has to be one of the most polite and welcoming members of staff we have come across. Nothing was too much and she made us feel so welcome. If I needed to stay in Sutton again I would definately stay here,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
I hereby would like to thank you for your kind comments, especially with reference to Nikki, one of our Food & Beverage Assistants, who we will share your comments with.

Thank you and looking forward to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here last weekend, we had a great stay, staff very friendly and helpful. We have stayed here several times before and each time it gets better. Complimentary champagne @ breakfast was definitely an added bonus. Hope to go back soon as Hotel is in a great central location. Can't comment on Spa and pool as did not use.

Room Tip: chose a high floor is possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaygirl010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
It is always a pleasure to read comments like this from our regular guests and we hope to see you again soon at the hotel.

Thank you.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

There is nothing wrong with this hotel. The room was clean and safe. It is also located within walking distance of several restaurants. What I didn't like was there was no business center for me to use a computer. Internet was not free and as I checked in late and was not in room for much of the time, I didn't want to pay the high per day Internet charge so I could check in for the next days flight. Just seemed like there were little charges for everything (apples at the desk), etc. when I return, I will look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pima41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager5_9, General Manager at Holiday Inn London Sutton, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience at the hotel. I thought I point out that although internet is not for free we have several options accordingly which means a hourly charge, 4 hour charge or 24 hr charge. the 1 hour internet is offered at £ 5.00 . It is a shame you did not ask our reception counter for the internet usage for checking into a flight as they would be more than happy for you to use the computer at the front desk for this, as we have done so on numerous occasions for other guests in the past.
The apples on the front desk is not an extra charge, is is for our chosen charity, Shelter in a Storm; we just ask for any small donation if you would like to help yourself to either a apple, banana or orange. I do apologise if this was not made clear accordingly and we will adjust the sign standing with the fruit accordingly.

We really hope we will be able to welcome you back to the hotelo in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Marco Frik
General Manager
Holiday Inn London Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton
0.5 mi away
Thatched House Hotel
Thatched House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Sutton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Greyhound Carshalton Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hilton London Croydon
Hilton London Croydon
#9 of 24 in Croydon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Premier Inn Epsom North Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Epsom Downs
3.5 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Croydon Aerodrome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London Sutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London Sutton

Property: Holiday Inn London Sutton
Address: Gibson Road, Sutton SM1 2RF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Sutton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Sutton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn London Sutton 3*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London-Sutton, a modern, full service hotel situated in the heart of Sutton town centre. Perfectly located for many famous Surrey & South London attractions and events Chessington World of Adventure, Wimbledon All England Tennis Club and Epsom Racecourse to name a few. The Holiday Inn, Sutton is easily accessible from Croydon to the east, Kingston to the west, Wimbledon to the north and from the M25 to the south. The hotel has 119 air conditioned bedrooms, including 4 suites, 2 DDA rooms as well 20 Executive rooms all which have en suite facilities, including high speed internet access (HSIA). Kids stay and eat free*. Our Hotel restaurant, lounge and bar offering tempting dishes from around the world including the famous Holiday Inn breakfast. Squiggles Lounge also offers wireless internet connections. The Holiday Inn Meetings Network Rooms and Orchard Suite are self contained on the first floor. A well known venue which comfortably seats 160 for a celebratory meal, or 200 for a corporate meeting. Spirit Health Club, located within the hotel, is open to members and residents. The gymnasium, indoor heated pool, spa, sauna & steam rooms are available to residents on a complimentary basis. *Terms and conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn London Sutton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Sutton Hotel Sutton
Sutton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London Sutton Surrey, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing