We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dauphinoise disaster, otherwise great”
Review of Brasserie Vacherin

Brasserie Vacherin
Ranked #16 of 149 Restaurants in Sutton
Price range: $32 - $32
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dauphinoise disaster, otherwise great”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

A good offer, a French restaurant, dauphinoise potatoes on the menu, what could go wrong! The staff, the 3 course menu(asparagus, charcuterie, duck & port cassoulet & navarin of lamb)all glorious to eat but our mistake was to ask for the dauphinoise - light, rich and creamy it was not, heavy clumpy and overcooked yes it was, reminded me of school dinners! So it would ne 5 stars if we had not ordered this and I would advise you not to have this just have frites, mash or new potatoes

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    134
    69
    47
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very poor value and ridiculously tiny portions”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

These were the tiniest servings I have ever had. We were a party of six and four of us opted for the 'main course and starter or desert £10.95 which we thought sounded good value. However.. the 'main' course of sardines consisted of two miniscule sardines and a half a tomato!!! My pasta dish was five small pieces of tortellini!!! It would have been small for a starter. The desert was also small. Everyone who opted for the 'special' was starving.
I understand that in top restaurants portions are smaller than average but then they have to be outstanding in flavour and even in restaurants such as Scotts and The Ivy in London they are not this miniscule, it's a joke. The steak someone ordered was ok but not great and the sides were also ok but also small. We were NOT impressed.
Service was reasonable not amazing and they add an automatic 12.5% tip which is annoying. They do this in London but this restaurant is in Sutton.
A thumbs down from us.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crystal9078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, wimbledon
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had the voucher of 35 which was purchased form tarvelzoo for two to dine in Brassiere Vacherin. We had a fantastic time there, service was amazing and above all, food was outstanding. I have many food allergies and they have really made it tailored for my request and made me enjoy every bite of my dinner. Will go back again and will highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank somijoun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent Evening”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Visited with a friend on a Travelzoo voucher - £35 for 2 x 3 coarse meals + glass of champagne. Champagne was good & could choose off the a la carte menu. Food was great including the Breton Fish Stew. House white wine at £15.50 was very good value. Excellent Service. Easy to miss location if not looking for near BR Sutton Station.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mikey393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Excellent Dinner Deal”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Booked a table for 4 via Dinner Deals for 8pm on a Saturday. Peak time on a peak day so it was no surprise that the table was not ready. An opportunity to have a drink and a chat at the bar while the table was readied. We eventually were ushered to our table at about 8.40. The place was very busy and obviously not enough staff on. Menus had to be printed so a further wait ensued. This experience echoes that of No1 daughter the previous week. The deal was 3 courses + a glass of fizz and, at £23 each, was excellent value. Scallops were plump and juicy and huge. The cassoulet was filling and unctuous. Dessert was a selection of sorbets and ice cream which was a poor choice from the variety of dishes on offer. Other diners chose different dishes from the Dinner Deal menu and opted for side dishes to go with their mains. These are expensive so its easy to rack up the bill. Wines by the glass and bottle start at reasonable prices. Water in a jug freely given and replenished without asking. Tasty bread with anchovy butter and plain butter is gratis. As the restaurant began to empty out the service improved noticeably and the staff appeared less stressed. With regards scores for Service it started out poor but ended up very good. The overall rating would have been Excellent, based on the Dinner Deal, but for the lack of staff.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathIan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Vacherin also viewed

 
Sutton, Greater London
Sutton, Greater London
 
Sutton, Greater London
Sutton, Greater London
 

Been to Brasserie Vacherin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing