We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great quality authentic French food and service!”
Review of La Barbe

La Barbe
Ranked #2 of 80 Restaurants in Reigate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $92
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great quality authentic French food and service!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We visited La Barbe in Reigate on 20th December for a family wedding. Being so near to Christmas we wondered if our party of about 20 would get good service. We need not have worried with the staff being friendly and attentive we had a lovely time in the back area which ensured a little privacy. The four course meal food was typically authentic French cuisine, very tasty and of good quality with portion sizes not huge but adequate. We left feeling very content, thanks to all the staff. Prices are not cheap but if you want great food and service for a special occasion then it's well worth it!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    91
    26
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
“A nice afternoon lunch”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I went over christmas with my mum for lunch and we were welcomed by a friendly french smile and sat at a table in a quiet booth. The food was presented very well on the plate and the venison was delicious and extremely well cooked. The service was attentive and I feel the price for the meal was reasonable. Definitely somewhere you need to go to in Reigate!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SophieEmily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Simply the best in the area over the long term....!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

La Barbe is simply the best restaurant in the area. An independent French bistro which has consistently produced excellent food at competitive prices for over 30 years.

The snails are a family favourite. There are a number of excellent dishes, particularly venison when in season and the cheese board is divine.

A table in the very cosy entrance part of the restaurant is the premier place to be for a group of 4 or under, particularly couples. This can be requested when booking a table.

Regular patrons are offered a loyalty card which gets a 10% discount off the total bill except dinner at the weekend and Saturday lunch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hdias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A place to go to celebrate, not to pop out to when you don't fancy cooking”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

You pay for what you get. Good food, good service, friendly atmosphere and rather expensive (though not enough to discourage). More a place to celebrate special occasions than to pop out to when you don't fancy cooking. The orange creme brulee was excellent! A good venue for xmas parties of up to a dozen.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service in Reigate”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

La Barbe in Reigate has been our favourite local restaurant for many years. The welcome is always very inviting and the menu changes regularly. The choice of dishes and wines is outstanding and if you apply for a loyalty card there is a 10% reduction on weekdays.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ConteAlmaviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Barbe also viewed

 
Warlingham, Surrey
 

Been to La Barbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing