We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing spectacular ”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of China house

China house
Ranked #40 of 80 Restaurants in Reigate
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Opposite Reigate Train Station
Reigate
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nothing spectacular ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

I can't believe this restaurant has gained so many 5 star ratings and wonder how many decent Chinese meals have been eaten by these people. The staff are very friendly and the price is certainly fair, but the overall quality of the food is pretty poor. I have eaten here several times and the food generally tastes like it has been re heated with a high MSG content. I do keep coming back, however, so I only have myself to blame! There just isn't a decent alternative for Chinese food nearby.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mattkeating1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    34
    19
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best around!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

my family dine here regularly! cant believe some of the reviews i have read! food is fresh and the choice is wide! service is very friendly and price is resonable for all you can eat! cant wait to go again next week!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kazward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oi Oi top chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

This was simply one of the best chinese's i have ever had the pleasure of coressing my tate buds apong. Strongly recommend this place. Oi Oi chinese!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for what it is”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went with a group of 16 of us after a race night at Lets Race in Horley. Food from the all you can eat buffet was pretty good, service was friendly and prompt. For 16 people it cost £250 incl drinks and service :).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarrySmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripledub
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Not much more to say really - lunchtime is very good value if you ask for the £6 lunch special, but be prepared to wait. May be completely different experience in the evening, but it's a pretty functional dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank tripledub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China house also viewed

 

Been to China house? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing