We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cranleigh Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Reigate
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed for a week on business and had a great experience. Large room, clean, comfortable and good Wi-Fi. Great hosts and friendly staff. Tremendous breakfast. Walking distance to wide range of restaurants in Reigate town centre.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve65140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 74 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

From start to finish, top to bottom, the Cranleigh does what it sets out to do - brilliantly. Accommodation, service, comfort all first rate, and the breakfast is superb. Many thanks and look forward to coming back soon.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ed1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

To be fair, I was not staying at this hotel, but stuck in stationary traffic, unable to reach Oxted,
owing to atrocious weather and flashfloods. I decided to park up outside this hotel, and asked
very politely if I could use their washroom, and then have a ;pot of tea, as I was completely
stuck in bad storms.

I was told their was no washroom downstairs - only ensuites to bedrooms upstairs. Did not
believe that!!! No tea available either. Glad to read positive remarks if one is staying there.

Maybe I called at a bad time but the 'hosts' were watching television so were not exactly
rushed off their feet!

Room Tip: I should imagine a room at the back, if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
8  Thank whiskymoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

This hotel truly deserves an excellent rating. The attention to detail is second to none, the rooms are beautifully and individually decorated to a very high standard, the breakfasts are wonderful and you are really made to feel at home with a friendly welcome.
The hotel is located within 5 mins walk from the town centre where there are many restaurant choices and some very nice independent retailers.

Room Tip: I've stayed here a couple of times and all the rooms are good - I guess that the rooms to the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights on business and found the Cranleigh very welcoming and comfortable. I had a room at the back looking over the garden and it was very quiet. Room spacious and well appointed, good quality bed and pillows so wonderful sleep. Breakfast lovely prepared by the friendly hosts and cosy breakfast room. They do not serve dinner but plenty of restaurants close by. All in all a good place to be on business, I could tell there are many returning happy guests.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuffolkMobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

I have stayed at the Cranleigh hotel twice now to enable me to be close to the office, and also the town on each occasion, and the service has been high standard both times.

The rooms that I have had each time have been very spacious, with a high level of upkeep, and I have been made to feel of absolute importance by the owners of the hotel.

Breakfast in the mornings is great, the even personalise your food by making the cooked breakfast into the shape of a smiley face. This is a small enjoyable quirk that myself and my work colleagues always comment on, and really enjoy.

Thanks Cranliegh for your top work!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at the Cranleigh in October 2011 for 4 nights while in the UK on a business trip. I was immediately made to feel welcome by Michael and Bruno who are the most fabulous hosts and Bruno makes extremely delicious scrambled eggs! In fact you can pretty much order anything for breakfast as there's no particular set menu and there's also a nice selection of cereals and pastries plus lots of lovely fresh fruit. The only downside for me was the shower which seemed to have very low pressure which is a nightmare if you've got a lot of hair to wash! The hotel is just a few minutes walk from Reigate town centre and I imagine would be a lovely place to stay in the summer as they have a beautiful garden. All in all a winner!

Room Tip: I caught a glimpse of the rooms on the lower floors and it looked as though they were slightly large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LozzaWorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reigate
0.9 mi away
Best Western Reigate Manor Hotel
1.3 mi away
Bridge House Hotel
Bridge House Hotel
#3 of 3 in Reigate
383 reviews
3 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
3 mi away
Premier Inn Redhill Reigate Hotel
4.9 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cranleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cranleigh Hotel

Address: 41 West Street, Reigate RH2 9BL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Reigate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Reigate
Price Range: $134 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Cranleigh Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Cranleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cranleigh Hotel Reigate, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing