We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful July Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful July Wedding”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

I would definitely recommend The Nutfield Priory to anyone looking for a wedding venue.

The building itself is amazing and wonderful for photographs. The Wordsworth Suite is a fantastic huge suite for the bridal party to get ready. So spacious, it easily accommodated the bride, 5 bridesmaids, mother and father of the bride, and 2 photographers.

What made the day so special was the way Charlie and the rest of the staff made us all feel so important. Charlie was our co-ordinator for the day and he couldn’t do enough for us, nothing was too much trouble, everything ran like clockwork. The civil ceremony was held in the Gibson Room with champagne and canapés

We opted for the buffet dinner and Charlie made sure it was so organised that no one felt that their table had to wait too long before they could help themselves to the buffet. The food was absolutely delicious; the beef was cooked to perfection and all our guests commented on how lovely the food was and the male contingent were pleased how much there was to eat.

The evening was a great success and the dance floor was packed for the last dance. Charlie then, somehow managed to organise everyone without us feeling rushed. A large number ended the night in the bar and I have to say the bar staff were fantastic. They were so patience even though it was the early hours of the morning before we finally when to bed.

We opted for the private breakfast the following morning in the Fielden Room. It was a wonderful way to end a brilliant wedding; lovely large round tables so we could all discuss the day before. I would definitely recommend doing this.

In the bride and bridegroom words – ‘It was amazing, we couldn’t have wanted a better day’

Once again: a huge big thank you to Charlie and the rest of the team.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Many thanks indeed for your wonderful review and top score!

We are so pleased that the Bride & Bridegroom, as well as all the guests, thoroughly enjoyed such a special day together at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa. It is kind of you to take the time to share your thoughts on your experience on Trip Advisor. The team, Charlie in particular, will be delighted with your comments.

Wishing you all the best and we hope to be able to welcome you all back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    290
    169
    107
    64
See reviews for
174
517
22
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Lovely attentive staff and quality throughout. The building and its scenic backdrop are breathtaking. Perfect for a romantic weekend. The spa treatments we received were amongst the best I have experienced, and I will sorely miss their breakfast buffet! My only criticism might be that the room was a little basic for the price (though very comfortable and roomy).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your review and wonderful score.

The whole team, especially the Spa, will be thrilled to read the feedback. Thank for you for taking the time to share your comments on Trip Advisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay & spa treatments, in particular, with us. Do feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your comments further and to advise me in which room you stayed.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

Pros
- Without exception all the staff were genuine, welcoming and friendly. Outstanding service!
- Stunning building and views with plenty of space and beautifully dressed rooms to relax and enjoy the scenery.
- We had afternoon tea outside, lovely selection of teas but pretty pricey. Very nice cakes!
- Dinner was excellent, fantastic menu and great service again. Restaurant was cleverly laid out so that all tables were next to a window with the stunning views. We particularly liked the sweet corn starter!

Cons
- Bedroom was average, clean and pleasant but tiny bathroom and view on to car park. We didn't mind too much as we spent most of our time enjoying the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Many thanks indeed for your 5 out of 5 review.

The team will be delighted that they had such a positive impact on your stay with us. It is kind of you to take the time to post a review and in such a balanced way. Your feedback is very much valued. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you again.

All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Ended up at this hotel after not being able to find anywhere else in south London at short notice due to Royal Ascot, and how fortunate I was. This is a beautiful country hotel in fantastic grounds. On arrival I was told I'd been upgraded to a deluxe room due to the classic room not being available. The room was sheer luxury with fantastic views over the grounds and further out over the countryside towards Gatwick. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The full English breakfast was fantastic, with a choice of toast and eggs cooked to order. I chose poached eggs along with the normal English breakfast and I think they were the best poached eggs I have ever tasted. This hotel is highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review & recommendation.

It is kind of you to take the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. The team, especially the Kitchen brigade, will be delighted with your comments. We are pleased that you found us and I am hopeful that we will be able to welcome you back one day.

All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Service very slow - it was at least 25 mins before our drinks arrived and another 30 mins wait for food. Then told I would have to pay extra as my Hand Picked Hotels voucher did not cover the sandwiches!! Manager later apologized for their mistake with a glass of champers, but very embarrassing and put a real downer on my mum's Mother's Day treat. Portions were small and I did not feel it was value for money compared to other afternoon teas I've had. Will not be visiting again or recommending to friends.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clare-1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Many thanks indeed for your review.

I would be grateful if you could contact me directly to verify the date of your booking. Our afternoon tea is often mentioned as a real highlight of a stay at Nutfield Priory. I appreciate your review states you stayed in June – but any further details you could provide me with would allow me to look in to your comments for you.

Many thanks in advance for your time. My direct number is 01737 824401.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Me and my hubby stayed here for my belated birthday treat. The building and scenery was amazing. The staff were so friendly and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.

The room we stayed in was basic and for the money we paid for a two night stay I would of expected a bit more. Also our room was changed on the card we was given so not sure if we were downgraded!!

The food was exceptional we had dinner from the a la care menu on the first night and the 6 course taster menu on the second again like others have said very expensive - big compliments to the chefs
Breakfast was also nice however the buffet was a little limited and didnt seem that fresh.

The spa was ok swimming pool is a bit old and boring and not deep enough. The gym was great and I had two treatment which were fantastic the girls were lovely and really looked after the guests.

Overall a lovely place to go but a bit overpriced and the spa could do with a bit of a revamp.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa.

The team will be delighted with your comments around general service & friendliness and of course the Kitchen brigade will be very pleased with your feedback on the tasting menu. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your bedroom; I have checked and can confirm that you were allocated a room within the category booked; the specific room number was changed due to availability at the time of check in. Due to the historic nature of the building our rooms do differ from one to the next, perhaps if we were lucky enough to welcome you back - I could show you a selection of bedrooms for you to choose from.

Thank you for your time. All the very best.

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We choose this as a unique place for our last night in England, with a day at Hever Castle before flying out the following noon from Gatwick. It worked fine for that, although figuring out the route from Hever Castle to the hotel took a little effort. (We did not have GPS in our car.) Getting to Gatwick, however, was easy from the hotel. The facility itself, as others have noted, has a wonderful historic main building and we enjoyed our giant junior suite with a view from within that building. The small non-view rooms and spa area seemed less desirable. The dinner in the restaurant was good but overpriced. Our main complaint is that the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night, which could happen anywhere, but based on other reviews, it sounds like this may not be a rarity here. We also found the high tub moderately difficult to get in and out of.

Room Tip: A junior suite is worth the added cost. I wouldn't stay here in a lesser room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Vicki_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Many thanks indeed for choosing to stay at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa for your final night of your trip to England and indeed for taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel especially the junior suite and dinner. I appreciate your preference is to stay in a junior suite - pleasingly on this point we are lucky enough to have 15 suites (junior or master suites) to choose from - so if your return I am confident of having an appropriate room for you.

Please accept my apologies for the disturbance you experienced due to the fire alarm. Our alarm system is set in accordance with the primary requirement for guest safety but of course I appreciate that this incident was not conducive to a relaxing nights sleep.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again.

All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nutfield
3.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
21.4 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
1,076 reviews
9.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
133 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
22.1 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa

Property: Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Address: Nutfield Road, Nutfield RH1 4EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Nutfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa in Redhill, Surrey is inspired by the Neo-Gothic design of the Palace of Westminster and is a unique Victorian mansion house in Surrey. Dating back to 1872 and set in 12 acres high on Nutfield ridge, Nutfield Priory Hotel is a four star country house hotel and spa with a 2 AA rosette restaurant. Cloisters Restaurant offers traditional British food with a modern twist accompanied by the breathtaking views of the Surrey and Sussex countryside. This fine hotel offers 60 bedrooms, 15 of which are individually designed, large feature bedrooms, with lavish artwork, and offering the likes of sleigh beds and original features. The suites are particularly special, one offering its own private balcony terrace and another which occupies three floors in the tower of the hotel. Set alongside the main hotel is the Nutfield Priory Health Club & Spa. A dedicated facility, this offers a fully-equipped gym, dedicated free-weights room, indoor pool, sauna and steam rooms, exercise studio and squash courts, plus a cafe bar and garden. The Spa itself is fully enclosed within the Health Club and is the perfect place to treat yourself or a loved one. Offering great Spa deals and Spa days in Surrey with nine treatment rooms, a quiet lounge, relaxation room and manicure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nutfield Priory Hotel Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel And Spa
Priory Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing