We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sub standard afternoon tea” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Sub standard afternoon tea”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Service very slow - it was at least 25 mins before our drinks arrived and another 30 mins wait for food. Then told I would have to pay extra as my Hand Picked Hotels voucher did not cover the sandwiches!! Manager later apologized for their mistake with a glass of champers, but very embarrassing and put a real downer on my mum's Mother's Day treat. Portions were small and I did not feel it was value for money compared to other afternoon teas I've had. Will not be visiting again or recommending to friends.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Clare-1712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Many thanks indeed for your review.

I would be grateful if you could contact me directly to verify the date of your booking. Our afternoon tea is often mentioned as a real highlight of a stay at Nutfield Priory. I appreciate your review states you stayed in June – but any further details you could provide me with would allow me to look in to your comments for you.

Many thanks in advance for your time. My direct number is 01737 824401.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    276
    160
    94
    60
See reviews for
153
486
18
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

Me and my hubby stayed here for my belated birthday treat. The building and scenery was amazing. The staff were so friendly and made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived.

The room we stayed in was basic and for the money we paid for a two night stay I would of expected a bit more. Also our room was changed on the card we was given so not sure if we were downgraded!!

The food was exceptional we had dinner from the a la care menu on the first night and the 6 course taster menu on the second again like others have said very expensive - big compliments to the chefs
Breakfast was also nice however the buffet was a little limited and didnt seem that fresh.

The spa was ok swimming pool is a bit old and boring and not deep enough. The gym was great and I had two treatment which were fantastic the girls were lovely and really looked after the guests.

Overall a lovely place to go but a bit overpriced and the spa could do with a bit of a revamp.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa.

The team will be delighted with your comments around general service & friendliness and of course the Kitchen brigade will be very pleased with your feedback on the tasting menu. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your bedroom; I have checked and can confirm that you were allocated a room within the category booked; the specific room number was changed due to availability at the time of check in. Due to the historic nature of the building our rooms do differ from one to the next, perhaps if we were lucky enough to welcome you back - I could show you a selection of bedrooms for you to choose from.

Thank you for your time. All the very best.

Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

We choose this as a unique place for our last night in England, with a day at Hever Castle before flying out the following noon from Gatwick. It worked fine for that, although figuring out the route from Hever Castle to the hotel took a little effort. (We did not have GPS in our car.) Getting to Gatwick, however, was easy from the hotel. The facility itself, as others have noted, has a wonderful historic main building and we enjoyed our giant junior suite with a view from within that building. The small non-view rooms and spa area seemed less desirable. The dinner in the restaurant was good but overpriced. Our main complaint is that the fire alarm went off in the middle of the night, which could happen anywhere, but based on other reviews, it sounds like this may not be a rarity here. We also found the high tub moderately difficult to get in and out of.

Room Tip: A junior suite is worth the added cost. I wouldn't stay here in a lesser room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom_and_Vicki_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Many thanks indeed for choosing to stay at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa for your final night of your trip to England and indeed for taking the time to post a review.

I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel especially the junior suite and dinner. I appreciate your preference is to stay in a junior suite - pleasingly on this point we are lucky enough to have 15 suites (junior or master suites) to choose from - so if your return I am confident of having an appropriate room for you.

Please accept my apologies for the disturbance you experienced due to the fire alarm. Our alarm system is set in accordance with the primary requirement for guest safety but of course I appreciate that this incident was not conducive to a relaxing nights sleep.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back again.

All the very best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

My (now) husband stayed here in mid May after our wedding. The staff were superb at helping carry all our presents to the suite at gone midnight - of which there were many trips to and fro!

We stayed in the Wordsworth which was absolutely gorgeous. Everything about it was wonderful, the views were resplendent. Only cock up was when the hot water ran out on the first day but it was immediately fixed by an engineer. Reception were excellent at sending ice buckets etc and the room service was wonderful.

I suppose the only downfall was the spa and pool which do seem a little worse for wear. The staff are friendly but the pool is tiny and not deep at all.

We dined in the restaurant one night - the food was utterly divine - although outrageously expensive.

The terrace gets the sun all day and the staff are very good at bringing drinks etc.

We had the most wonderful weekend and would definitely recommend the hotel - and especially the Wordsworth suite to anyone!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BrianLouise16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Many congratulations on your wedding!

Thank you so much for still finding the time to post a review. It is always extremely rewarding for the team to know when a guest has enjoyed their time with us - so many thanks for your comments. I am sorry for any hot water issue and am glad that it was resolved immediately.

I appreciate your balanced review. Thank you very much for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

I booked a Spa day for me and my wife and, although expensive, we did feel pampered and the staff in the Spa itself were very good and the treatments very relaxing. The Gym and swimming facilities were also good. However, the lunch was very average - the Avocado "Mousse" was in fact slices of unripe Avocado, the main was ok, but the dessert was poor and not worth the money. The food was uninteresting, reflecting the lack of effort or skill that went into preparing it. My advice would be to have a the bar food - the lunch was definately not worth £25 per head.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your treatments during your spa day - the team will be delighted. I am sorry to hear of your concerns around the spa lunch. For your information I have met with the Chef and he is introducing a new menu imminently which I am sure will be well received.

Many thanks for your time and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

Came here after doing helicopter ride over London as part of my husbands both celebrations. We stayed in the feature bed suite with great views. It was amazing! Massive and clean with coffee machine and evening maid service. Bathroom and dressing room were stunning.
Food good, we shared the chateaubriand. Staff very efficient and friendly. Bar lacking atmosphere. Some music would be good but think the speakers were broken.
Hannah in the spa was fantastic and very helpful. Had a great facial, fell asleep!
Breakfast is served to you which was great and a huge good quality serving-we both couldn't finish it! Great hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get the Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveaholiday!Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review & score.

It is always a delight to read such feedback and to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It is very kind of you to take the time to post your comments. I can confirm that we have some further improvements planned for music in the bar area that will enhance the atmosphere there.

All the very best for now and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a one night stay at Nutfield Priory with use of the spa and a treatment each. I can't fault the spa, the staff were lovely and we felt pampered and relaxed too - it was very relaxing. We also went to a yoga class and a pilates class, both of which were excellent. We upgraded to a suite in the hotel which was absolutely beautiful with amazing views of the Downs from the window. Supper was slightly hit and miss but the pudding was delicious. They did however redeem themselves with a fantastic breakfast. My husband had a smoked salmon omelette which he said was lovely, and I had lots of fresh fruit and yoghurt from the well stocked buffet. We then went back to the spa before leaving. Would definitely recommend and revisit.

Room Tip: The views are amazing so try to get a room on the south side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DGM_ARowledge, Deputy General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and highlight so many aspects of your experience. I am also pleased that you took the time to enjoy one of our yoga and pilates classes during your time with us. Thank you for choosing to stay at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Adam Rowledge
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nutfield
15.8 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
20.8 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
10.3 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
11.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa

Property: Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Address: Nutfield Road, Nutfield RH1 4EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Nutfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa in Redhill, Surrey is inspired by the Neo-Gothic design of the Palace of Westminster and is a unique Victorian mansion house in Surrey. Dating back to 1872 and set in 12 acres high on Nutfield ridge, Nutfield Priory Hotel is a four star country house hotel and spa with a 2 AA rosette restaurant. Cloisters Restaurant offers traditional British food with a modern twist accompanied by the breathtaking views of the Surrey and Sussex countryside. This fine hotel offers 60 bedrooms, 15 of which are individually designed, large feature bedrooms, with lavish artwork, and offering the likes of sleigh beds and original features. The suites are particularly special, one offering its own private balcony terrace and another which occupies three floors in the tower of the hotel. Set alongside the main hotel is the Nutfield Priory Health Club & Spa. A dedicated facility, this offers a fully-equipped gym, dedicated free-weights room, indoor pool, sauna and steam rooms, exercise studio and squash courts, plus a cafe bar and garden. The Spa itself is fully enclosed within the Health Club and is the perfect place to treat yourself or a loved one. Offering great Spa deals and Spa days in Surrey with nine treatment rooms, a quiet lounge, relaxation room and manicure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de and Priceline so you can book your Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nutfield Priory Hotel Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel And Spa
Priory Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing