We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recharge the batteries!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
West Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Recharge the batteries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was the start of the snow and luckily the journey only took an hour to get there!
The ground staff had really kept the drive clear and so no worry of skidding!
The Priory really looked beautiful with the lights on inside and it must be great at Christmas time that's if the snow is on the ground! We had a warm welcome from reception and had a lovely room with views over the fields.We had a swim and spent quite a bit of time in the jacuzzi. That evening we had a drink and canapes in the bar and ordered our food. It was lovely dining in the Cloisters and looking out at the garden through the window and the snow gave it a magical touch.I had beef, cooked to prefection and just melted in my mouth! The Spy Valley Sauvignon Blanc was superb!
We swam again in the morning and this was followed by a generous breakfast.All the staff were friendly and efficient. We will return again hopefully during the year!

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back of the building or at the sides to get the views of the rolling countr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Many thanks indeed for this wonderful review.

It is great to know that you enjoyed your stay at Nutfield Priory - the team will be delighted that they had such a positive impact on your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    276
    160
    94
    60
See reviews for
153
486
18
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel the entrance and exterior was breathtaking. In fact architecturally and aesthetically the hotel was faultless, then the service or lack of it was so disappointing. we sat down in the lounge and although many members of staff were around no one thought of asking us for a drink we asked 2 staff for help and they said they couldnt help but would get someone, 45min and eventually we found someone willing to take our order and we waited another 20 mins before we were served, we were never asked if we wanted more!!! The dinner was adequate but again timings were shocking. The next day when we asked how to get to the spa we were pointed in the direction pass a staff area where although amusing hearing the staff moan probably not a good pr for the hotel. The staff at the spa were lovely, polite and helpful a great finish to a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us.

I would like to offer my apologies for the delays in service that you have highlighted. The team pride themselves on offering prompt service throughout - I am so sorry that on this particular occasion we have faltered. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly so I can ascertain the dates of your stay as this will help us to make the necessary improvements.

It is kind of you to highlight the positive experience you enjoyed in the spa; I will share your comments with the spa team - who will be delighted. I do hope that the positive elements of your stay will bring you back to us in the future where I am confident you would enjoy the higher level of consistency in standards that are normally synonymous with Nutfield Priory.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
242 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Hi
After going to Nutfield Priory earlier last year now mid 2012 to a wedding and a stay over ,which had a lot of problems, we returned at the personal invitation of the Hotel for a stay over, and we booked to have dinner which we paid for.
A very expensive venue, but this time we had a really fantastic room on suite of course with a really great view from the window of Sussex and Surrey.
We had afternoon tea in the gallery, and we had dinner in the restaurant, we were given a really great table, and we had the table d hotel which was £36 a head plus suppliment for steaks of £8 a head, which we had and paid for.
The standard of the food was extremely good, and the service was very good aswell, the meal wines etc were expensive, but if you want to spoil yourselves go for it, they do make you feel special.
Overall a very good experience the second time around, we will use them again
Paul and Joan Bennett

Room Tip: Get a room at the back of the Hotel with the great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
It is very kind of you to post a review following your return to Nutfield Prior Hotel.

I would like to thank you for choosing to return and am delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your experience with us. I will certainly share you comments with the team who will be very pleased that based on your experience you plan to return again.

Wishing you all the best and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

My Mum and I went for a last minute spa day which was amazing! Fantastic spa facilities, very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing massages. Wonderful Lunch. Only down side was some children in the swimming pool. Would highly reccomend and will be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
What a lovely review. Thank you very much for the recommendation.

It is wonderful to know what a great experience you had with us. I will be sure to share your comments with the spa team who will be delighted. It is great to know you plan on returning to us. On your return please do ask us about our adult only swim times that may be of interest to you.

All the very best and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for a family evening wedding reception on 21st December. The building is beautiful with many outstanding original features (stonework, fireplaces, windows, balcony, organ, etc). The staff were all accommodating and friendly. The food was all good (as far as buffet finger food goes). The rooms (suites) were excellent with spectacular views. We did not use any spa facilities. It is very well suited as a wedding venue; we had a wonderful evening there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Nutfield Priory whilst celebrating a family wedding. It is lovely to know you enjoyed the hotel features & setting as well as the food and service. The team will be very pleased with your comments.

Please do pass on our best wishes again to the newly married couple. All the very best for now and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

After not having visited the hotel for a little while we went back to Nutfield Priory for a charity dinner. We were reasonably impressed in many ways.

The hotel is an austere looking neo-gothic pile which was built to impress but the welcome from the reception desk in the entrance hall was pleasant and efficient... if not overly warm.

We had a very pleasant room... No 1, in the tower above the reception hall. One interesting original feature was that a little window by the side of the bed had been strategically positioned to give a view along the frontage of the hotel. The room had been styled in heavy burgundy and was very masculine and 'corporate' in feel but it was O.K..

When we went down to the great hall for the drinks and canopies reception, we were a little surprised that there was no formal welcome but we were offered a glass of champagne. Canopies were delivered on large slabs of slate but the nibbles were almost impossible to pick up as the bases crumbled as soon as they were touched. We eventually gave up on them... It was not a significant problem... we had a good meal to look forward to.

The food and service throughout the meal was super... That’s what we liked best. We and everyone else at our table had a very nice time and the hotel staff were excellent.

In the bar and lounges afterwards we were surprised to see a number of the male hotel guests were dressed in such a scruffy, unkempt and dirty manner although their companions were smart, attractive and well dressed. The general theme seemed to be dirty, well worn trainers, scruffy overly long jeans frayed at the heals, un-ironed shirts hanging loose outside the trousers, several days growth of unsightly stubble and unkempt hair. One chap had even put his feet up on that the chair opposite and was using it as a footstool. Dirty jeans and trainers in an elegant formal restaurant offering fine dining and excellent service in the heart of Surrey is incongruous and ruins the ambience of the place.

When we discreetly asked the staff if there was no dress code these days, we were informed that 'spa breaks' were sold cheaply over the internet attracted more 'urban' couples to this country house hotel.

Drinks are very, very expensive... £20 for three soft drinks including two lemonades from the tap and one glass of whiskey.

We had a good breakfast the following morning although it was far from warm when it arrived at out table.

Unfortunately the lack of dress code really conflicts with the hotel's claims to be an elegant escape. Our main criticism was that Nutfield Priory just can't really decide between being a smart, elegant country house hotel offering fine dining and excellent service or a cheap all-inclusive spa one night stand for those who buy last minute breaks over the net. The two really don't mix.

Our overall impression... A good hotel... Not as grand as it was... Some attention to detail needed... including a smart dress code for weekend evenings in the restaurant and lounges if the hotel wants to continue attract people like ourselves.

Room Tip: Take a room in the older part of the building... they are much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twotravellersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post your comprehensive review of your recent stay.

I understand from the review and the attached score that you generally enjoyed your experience with us. We will certainly take your comments on board with a view to make improvements where possible, for example on the welcome and the canapés for this particular event.

I appreciate that one of your key points was regarding the dress of fellow guests. Regarding this matter - we do indeed encourage our guests to feel at home, steering clear of strict regulations around dress code as it is important to us for our guests feel comfortable and relaxed. I do hope this would not prevent you returning to Nutfield in the future.

I would be keen to discuss your feedback in more detail if you would be so kind as to contact me directly when convenient. I would be grateful if you could confirm the drinks order you have mentioned (as I need to verify which Whisky you had, as they do vary in price, and the size of the measure, I would also be keen to confirm the soft drinks order as we do not offer draft) so I can check the accuracy of the charge for you.

Many thanks once more for your time and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We loved this house. After staying at The Rhinefield House in Brockenhurst (part of the same chain) we wondered how this house would be. We were not disappointed. We stayed in The Swift Suite (December 30, 2012) and the Austen Suite (January4, 2013) The staff were friendly and kind. Breakfast was wonderful. The beds were extremely comfortable (including the portable beds that were brought in for the children to sleep on). We would definitely come back again. Gorgeous house and gardens.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review and score.

It is great to know that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your two recent stays with us. We have recently invested in new beds - so it is lovely to read the comments on how comfortable you found them.

We look forward to welcoming you back here at Nutfield or indeed to any of our other Hand Picked properties.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nutfield
15.8 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,442 reviews
21.4 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
20.8 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 5 in Egham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
10.3 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
11.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa

Property: Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Address: Nutfield Road, Nutfield RH1 4EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Nutfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa in Redhill, Surrey is inspired by the Neo-Gothic design of the Palace of Westminster and is a unique Victorian mansion house in Surrey. Dating back to 1872 and set in 12 acres high on Nutfield ridge, Nutfield Priory Hotel is a four star country house hotel and spa with a 2 AA rosette restaurant. Cloisters Restaurant offers traditional British food with a modern twist accompanied by the breathtaking views of the Surrey and Sussex countryside. This fine hotel offers 60 bedrooms, 15 of which are individually designed, large feature bedrooms, with lavish artwork, and offering the likes of sleigh beds and original features. The suites are particularly special, one offering its own private balcony terrace and another which occupies three floors in the tower of the hotel. Set alongside the main hotel is the Nutfield Priory Health Club & Spa. A dedicated facility, this offers a fully-equipped gym, dedicated free-weights room, indoor pool, sauna and steam rooms, exercise studio and squash courts, plus a cafe bar and garden. The Spa itself is fully enclosed within the Health Club and is the perfect place to treat yourself or a loved one. Offering great Spa deals and Spa days in Surrey with nine treatment rooms, a quiet lounge, relaxation room and manicure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nutfield Priory Hotel Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel And Spa
Priory Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing