We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Spa Day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My Mum and I went for a last minute spa day which was amazing! Fantastic spa facilities, very friendly and helpful staff. Amazing massages. Wonderful Lunch. Only down side was some children in the swimming pool. Would highly reccomend and will be returning.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

What a lovely review. Thank you very much for the recommendation.

It is wonderful to know what a great experience you had with us. I will be sure to share your comments with the spa team who will be delighted. It is great to know you plan on returning to us. On your return please do ask us about our adult only swim times that may be of interest to you.

All the very best and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

808 - 814 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed here for a family evening wedding reception on 21st December. The building is beautiful with many outstanding original features (stonework, fireplaces, windows, balcony, organ, etc). The staff were all accommodating and friendly. The food was all good (as far as buffet finger food goes). The rooms (suites) were excellent with spectacular views. We did not use any spa facilities. It is very well suited as a wedding venue; we had a wonderful evening there.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time at Nutfield Priory whilst celebrating a family wedding. It is lovely to know you enjoyed the hotel features & setting as well as the food and service. The team will be very pleased with your comments.

Please do pass on our best wishes again to the newly married couple. All the very best for now and we hope to be able to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

After not having visited the hotel for a little while we went back to Nutfield Priory for a charity dinner. We were reasonably impressed in many ways.

The hotel is an austere looking neo-gothic pile which was built to impress but the welcome from the reception desk in the entrance hall was pleasant and efficient... if not overly warm.

We had a very pleasant room... No 1, in the tower above the reception hall. One interesting original feature was that a little window by the side of the bed had been strategically positioned to give a view along the frontage of the hotel. The room had been styled in heavy burgundy and was very masculine and 'corporate' in feel but it was O.K..

When we went down to the great hall for the drinks and canopies reception, we were a little surprised that there was no formal welcome but we were offered a glass of champagne. Canopies were delivered on large slabs of slate but the nibbles were almost impossible to pick up as the bases crumbled as soon as they were touched. We eventually gave up on them... It was not a significant problem... we had a good meal to look forward to.

The food and service throughout the meal was super... That’s what we liked best. We and everyone else at our table had a very nice time and the hotel staff were excellent.

In the bar and lounges afterwards we were surprised to see a number of the male hotel guests were dressed in such a scruffy, unkempt and dirty manner although their companions were smart, attractive and well dressed. The general theme seemed to be dirty, well worn trainers, scruffy overly long jeans frayed at the heals, un-ironed shirts hanging loose outside the trousers, several days growth of unsightly stubble and unkempt hair. One chap had even put his feet up on that the chair opposite and was using it as a footstool. Dirty jeans and trainers in an elegant formal restaurant offering fine dining and excellent service in the heart of Surrey is incongruous and ruins the ambience of the place.

When we discreetly asked the staff if there was no dress code these days, we were informed that 'spa breaks' were sold cheaply over the internet attracted more 'urban' couples to this country house hotel.

Drinks are very, very expensive... £20 for three soft drinks including two lemonades from the tap and one glass of whiskey.

We had a good breakfast the following morning although it was far from warm when it arrived at out table.

Unfortunately the lack of dress code really conflicts with the hotel's claims to be an elegant escape. Our main criticism was that Nutfield Priory just can't really decide between being a smart, elegant country house hotel offering fine dining and excellent service or a cheap all-inclusive spa one night stand for those who buy last minute breaks over the net. The two really don't mix.

Our overall impression... A good hotel... Not as grand as it was... Some attention to detail needed... including a smart dress code for weekend evenings in the restaurant and lounges if the hotel wants to continue attract people like ourselves.

Room Tip: Take a room in the older part of the building... they are much larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twotravellersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Many thanks indeed for taking the time to post your comprehensive review of your recent stay.

I understand from the review and the attached score that you generally enjoyed your experience with us. We will certainly take your comments on board with a view to make improvements where possible, for example on the welcome and the canapés for this particular event.

I appreciate that one of your key points was regarding the dress of fellow guests. Regarding this matter - we do indeed encourage our guests to feel at home, steering clear of strict regulations around dress code as it is important to us for our guests feel comfortable and relaxed. I do hope this would not prevent you returning to Nutfield in the future.

I would be keen to discuss your feedback in more detail if you would be so kind as to contact me directly when convenient. I would be grateful if you could confirm the drinks order you have mentioned (as I need to verify which Whisky you had, as they do vary in price, and the size of the measure, I would also be keen to confirm the soft drinks order as we do not offer draft) so I can check the accuracy of the charge for you.

Many thanks once more for your time and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We loved this house. After staying at The Rhinefield House in Brockenhurst (part of the same chain) we wondered how this house would be. We were not disappointed. We stayed in The Swift Suite (December 30, 2012) and the Austen Suite (January4, 2013) The staff were friendly and kind. Breakfast was wonderful. The beds were extremely comfortable (including the portable beds that were brought in for the children to sleep on). We would definitely come back again. Gorgeous house and gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and score.

It is great to know that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your two recent stays with us. We have recently invested in new beds - so it is lovely to read the comments on how comfortable you found them.

We look forward to welcoming you back here at Nutfield or indeed to any of our other Hand Picked properties.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband and I spent our wedding night at the Nutfield Priory - it was a great experience, champagne organised by my husband was left in the room as request, just what we needed after our long day - it really was the perfect place to spend our first night as husband and wife. Wonderful breakfast, love this hotel, happy memories.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review.

We are very grateful that you selected Nutfield Priory Hotel to enjoy your wedding night. It is wonderful to know that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. The team will be delighted that they have been a part of ensuring such happy memories for you.

Wishing you and your husband all the very best for your new married life together.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lovely service - had a treatment by "pip" and my husband had a 2 hour massage and facial by "judy". Both of us fell asleep as we were so relaxed. The girls were friendly and very good at their job and we would definitely go back. There was not tea and coffee when we arrived as all the cups were dirty but the girls from reception sorted it all out before we even had to ask.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eilidhmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Many thanks indeed for your review.

The team in the spa will be delighted to know how much you enjoyed your respective treatments. It is great to know that based on your experience you will be back. We look forward to seeing you then.

All the very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I booked a deluxe room for my husbands Xmas present with a 3 course evening meal and breakfast I payed extra for a 2 hour spa experience.

We were taken to room 44 on the third floor - a pokey attic "loft conversion" . The Deluxe rooms are supposed to be bigger and more luxurious - what a disappointment . I rang reception to confirm we were in the correct room as it was so small and claustrophobic - they confirmed it was the correct room.SKY TV did not work until we phoned to complain and you only were given enough milk for one drink each. SAs we had already called reception to ask for dressing gowns and then again to ask about the T V and then again to ask about being in the right room - we did not want to ring again to ask for more milk - so we did without.
The meal was superb and so was the service - we upgraded to the better menu (15.00 each) as the menu included for the price was rubbish. Breakfast was good apart from cheap-skating on the ketchup ( you advertise HEINZ beans but provide 2nd rate ketchup in a bowl).
Overall would I go back? Yes, if I was given one of the rooms advertised in the brochures. The hotel was empty and there was no reason why we could not have been given a better room.

Room Tip: Dont settle for the room you are provided - ask for the same one as in the adverts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eilidhmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RussellLines, General Manager at Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us.

It is clear that you have been disappointed with certain elements of your stay for which I would like to offer my apologies. I would very much like to speak with you and would be very grateful if you could contact me directly to discuss your stay further.

I am sorry that your allocated bedroom was not to your liking. It is a unique room in shape and layout due to its location within the hotel and offers double aspect windows offering wonderful views of the surrounding countryside but I appreciate it is certainly not the largest room that we have and fell short of your expectations. I am sorry that we could not offer you an alternative room at the time.

I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your dinner but am keen to establish what elements of our table d’hôte menu were not to your liking. Regarding breakfast - I can confirm that we do serve Heinz ketchup as a standard and I apologise for any error on this particular occasion.

I look forward to talking through your feedback whenever is convenient to you.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nutfield
21.4 mi away
Great Fosters
Great Fosters
#1 of 3 in Egham
1,166 reviews
3.8 mi away
Langshott Manor Hotel Gatwick
11.1 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
9.4 mi away
Alexander House Hotel & Utopia Spa
7.5 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa

Address: Nutfield Road, Nutfield RH1 4EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Nutfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Nutfield
Price Range: $167 - $428 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa in Redhill, Surrey is inspired by the Neo-Gothic design of the Palace of Westminster and is a unique Victorian mansion house in Surrey. Dating back to 1872 and set in 12 acres high on Nutfield ridge, Nutfield Priory Hotel is a four star country house hotel and spa with a 2 AA rosette restaurant. Cloisters Restaurant offers traditional British food with a modern twist accompanied by the breathtaking views of the Surrey and Sussex countryside. This fine hotel offers 60 bedrooms, 15 of which are individually designed, large feature bedrooms, with lavish artwork, and offering the likes of sleigh beds and original features. The suites are particularly special, one offering its own private balcony terrace and another which occupies three floors in the tower of the hotel. Set alongside the main hotel is the Nutfield Priory Health Club & Spa. A dedicated facility, this offers a fully-equipped gym, dedicated free-weights room, indoor pool, sauna and steam rooms, exercise studio and squash courts, plus a cafe bar and garden. The Spa itself is fully enclosed within the Health Club and is the perfect place to treat yourself or a loved one. Offering great Spa deals and Spa days in Surrey with nine treatment rooms, a quiet lounge, relaxation room and manicure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nutfield Priory Hotel Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel And Spa
Priory Nutfield
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing