We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveler rating
30
9
5
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
9
5
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswashington roomspread eagle tavernovernight staybutternut squash ravioliohio
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 51 of 51 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2009

This restaurant needs to take a hard look at itself, and stop relying on past reputation. Everything except the atmosphere has gone downhill in the past few years. They used to serve a delicious bread with the meals. Now it's just tasteless white bread. More than once, they meat has been dry. One gets the feeling that if you don't appear wealthy, you're just taking up space better used for more important people. On Thanksgiving, they actually had some people seated at card tables!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tammy1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

In the late 1980's it was a destination restaurant, in the 1990's it was more of a political backdrop ... I'm sad to report that in 2009 it has gone way down hill.... Service is SLOW and staff does not know the menu, PRICE is HIGH, food is mediocre at best, my risotto was like paste and cold, plate presentation is awful and amateur, with flowers used as garnish on every plate! ... Creme brulee was curdled and served with cheap spray whipped cream and raspberry sauce? .... Nothing stands out on the menu and they do not have a signature dish ...you would be better off trying Mezzaluna or the Hart Mansion in Minerva, Ohio ... even Grinders would be better food than Spread Eagle Tavern! ... Don't fool yourself into believing it's a good meal because of price, it's not Ken Stewarts, you don't get what you pay for here.. STAY AWAY!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChefGAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2009

The Spread Eagle is hands down our favourite restaurant in the greater Ohio Valley/Pittsburgh area—and since it's over an hour from Pittsburgh (where there is a super sushi restaurant), that should tell you how much we LOVE it. Fantastic food, bend-over-backwards service, and incredible surroundings. It is almost overwhelmingly terrific. The few times we've had an order miscue, our waitress (we try to get the same lady) goes far above and beyond to make good despite our protestations (no one could ever possibly be angry or unhappy at the Spread Eagle). It's amazing, and customer service of the type that we long thought was dead.

The food is excellent and the wine list quite good (try some of the local Ohio wines for pleasant surprises). A few of the desserts remind me of things my grandmother used to make, remarkable in and of itself.

The staff is, as noted above, always excellent, friendly, and helpful. On quieter evenings they're not averse to chatting with interested customers. We had quite a nice chat with our waitress during an impromptu Thanksgiving Eve dinner at the Spread Eagle. Even on a holiday eve, none of the staff seemed unhappy or sullen about being there.

The Tavern & Inn itself is splendid. Do take time to wander about and drink in the history and beauty of the Spread Eagle. Not only is the Tavern & Inn itself beautiful, it's filled with art, Americana, and memorabilia. I'm a photographer, and this has quickly become one of my favourite places to shoot; such charm, grace, and plain Americana. The Rathskeller & bar in the basement are fun, too.

Though we've not yet stayed overnight, we've of course seen all the rooms available. They are very pretty, nicely and comfortably appointed. Several (if not all) have fireplaces and large private baths. Hanoverton is a quiet town along US30, so your stay should be peaceful as well as picturesque. Several of the rooms also have chairs, couchettes, or rockers, so you'll have several choices of where to sit.

One thing to note for those in wheelchairs or with other physical impairments is that I don't recall seeing any elevators. This won't be a problem for those interested only in dining, but if you are unable to navigate the stairs, staying will obviously be an issue. Keep in mind, though, that it was built in 1837 and is quite a historic building. There is also a smaller house on the property with two rooms for guests. Quite nice indeed.

We dine at the Spread Eagle frequently (though never often enough!) and hope to stay overnight sometime soon. However, based on our experiences with the staff and food, it's safe to say you'll enjoy yourself whatever you choose to partake of at the Spread Eagle.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kaimannaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

This place is more than just a restaurant -- it is an event. The building is rich in history, the service is imppeccable, the food is gourmet quality and Owner David will treat you as if you are the most important guest. I love it and will return again and again! Probably my favorite ever. This is a fabulous place for a special occassion.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovecoolplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews