We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
204
95
49
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
204
95
49
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub roast beef old english pub fish cakes old church booked a table comfortable bed stayed here for one night full english leatherhead boxhill england venue gatwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The beers, staff and general atmosphere in the past 2-3 weeks is much improved.
I think the management may have moved in a little before this but this weekend was the first time of been in a for a while. Very good all round, will be going more often.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, General Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Jon E,

Firstly thank you kindly for such a lovely review from your recent visit to the Running Horses. You are very kind in saying that new management has improved things here. However I have to say the team have been absolutely terrific and very supportive since I started here and all the changes implemented have been carried out through them. They really have pride in what they do and it is great that it shows.

We are all very much looking forward to welcoming you back as your re invigorated local,

Best Wishes

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came across this pub on a walk around Box Hill. It is exactly what a pub should be! V.v cosy inside with plenty of outdoor seating too, extremely friendly staff (Paulo), and lots of history attached to it too. Myself and a friend had lunch here the other day and found the food was delicious and at a good price - definitely a hidden gem, can't wait to come back in the Winter for the fire! Thank you Running Horses!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, General Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Chris G,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a great review,

Paulo is a great member of the team and has a lot of pride for hospitality.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon,

Best Wishes,
The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were visiting our family from New Zealand and they live in Leatherhead so we decided to walk to the pub for lunch.
The village is really pretty and we were pleased that we could sit outside. The pub itself is a typical English country pub. Food choice was really good and we all really enjoyed our meals. I had gammon, watercress and chips, because we don't get gammon on the menu in New Zealand. I wasn't disappointed.. really juicy gammon, great chips and a fried egg on top.
There's a traditional bar inside and also a well designed restaurant.
Definitely would go again.
My family are keen to go to the gin and jazz night on a Saturday.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 577nicolap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, General Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 577nicolap,

I am delighted that you chose to visit the Running Horses with your family. The hospitality trade in NZ is fantastic so I'm extremely pleased we were able to impress.

The Gin and Jazz night is fantastic, but it is on Friday not Saturday. hope you can come down and enjoy,

See you soon,

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This inn is fantastically located just off the A24, perfect for a stop! We had a wonderful breakfast on Saturday - smashed avocado on sour dough toast, two perfect poached eggs and tomato salsa, with as much coffee, tea as we wanted and fresh fruit aplenty. And what is more, it was amazing value. The staff were really friendly, making our stop extraordinarily delightful!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Caroline,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave a review. The Breakfast is "SMASHing" so glad you enjoyed it.

We do hope to welcome you back soon,

Best Wishes,

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great stay at the Running Horses, the rooms were cosy and quaint, the food was excellent (recommend the scallop special at the moment!) and had some great service from Izzy!

View of the Church across the road is fantastic, felt like we had really escaped the hustle and bustle of London. Good beer range, the wines and spirits are well chosen too.

Big thanks to Edward as well for being such a great host. Will definitely come again!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Thelazybassist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Thelazybassist,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. The Scallops are incredible and definitely one of Izzy's favourites,

I hope you visit us again soon and see what specials we have on!!

Best Wishes,

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews