We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
204
95
49
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
204
95
49
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub roast beef old english pub fish cakes old church booked a table comfortable bed stayed here for one night full english leatherhead boxhill england venue gatwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Came across this pub on a walk around Box Hill. It is exactly what a pub should be! V.v cosy inside with plenty of outdoor seating too, extremely friendly staff (Paulo), and lots of history attached to it too. Myself and a friend had lunch here the other day and found the food was delicious and at a good price - definitely a hidden gem, can't wait to come back in the Winter for the fire! Thank you Running Horses!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, General Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Chris G,

Thank you kindly for taking the time to leave such a great review,

Paulo is a great member of the team and has a lot of pride for hospitality.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon,

Best Wishes,
The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We were visiting our family from New Zealand and they live in Leatherhead so we decided to walk to the pub for lunch.
The village is really pretty and we were pleased that we could sit outside. The pub itself is a typical English country pub. Food choice was really good and we all really enjoyed our meals. I had gammon, watercress and chips, because we don't get gammon on the menu in New Zealand. I wasn't disappointed.. really juicy gammon, great chips and a fried egg on top.
There's a traditional bar inside and also a well designed restaurant.
Definitely would go again.
My family are keen to go to the gin and jazz night on a Saturday.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 577nicolap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, General Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 577nicolap,

I am delighted that you chose to visit the Running Horses with your family. The hospitality trade in NZ is fantastic so I'm extremely pleased we were able to impress.

The Gin and Jazz night is fantastic, but it is on Friday not Saturday. hope you can come down and enjoy,

See you soon,

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This inn is fantastically located just off the A24, perfect for a stop! We had a wonderful breakfast on Saturday - smashed avocado on sour dough toast, two perfect poached eggs and tomato salsa, with as much coffee, tea as we wanted and fresh fruit aplenty. And what is more, it was amazing value. The staff were really friendly, making our stop extraordinarily delightful!

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Service
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Caroline,

Thank you ever so much for taking the time to leave a review. The Breakfast is "SMASHing" so glad you enjoyed it.

We do hope to welcome you back soon,

Best Wishes,

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great stay at the Running Horses, the rooms were cosy and quaint, the food was excellent (recommend the scallop special at the moment!) and had some great service from Izzy!

View of the Church across the road is fantastic, felt like we had really escaped the hustle and bustle of London. Good beer range, the wines and spirits are well chosen too.

Big thanks to Edward as well for being such a great host. Will definitely come again!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Thelazybassist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Thelazybassist,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. The Scallops are incredible and definitely one of Izzy's favourites,

I hope you visit us again soon and see what specials we have on!!

Best Wishes,

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay at Running Horses was wonderful, the old pub, plaid, plaid, plaid, newly remodeled rooms, delicious dinner, view of lovely old church across street, a drive up Box Hill and the stunning view. My USA family enjoyed our stay in a place with both interesting history and comfort! Manager Paulo, Chef Yusuf and Server Maddy provided excellent service and we will always remember our fun stay. After reading some unfavorable reviews, me thinks some folks are just a bit too demanding. This is not your momma's house but a lovely quintessential English pub and we say "cheers!"

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, General Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Ms. C. Woods,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a 5* review with extremely kind feedback. The Staff here are fantastic and like to go that extra mile to make your visit special. It really is a boost fr them when they get positive well deserved reviews. I do hope you visit again soon.

Best Wishes,

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews