We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (402)
Filter reviews
402 results
Traveler rating
204
95
49
30
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
204
95
49
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub roast beef old english pub fish cakes old church booked a table comfortable bed stayed here for one night full english leatherhead boxhill england venue gatwick
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 402 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We had a great stay at the Running Horses, the rooms were cosy and quaint, the food was excellent (recommend the scallop special at the moment!) and had some great service from Izzy!

View of the Church across the road is fantastic, felt like we had really escaped the hustle and bustle of London. Good beer range, the wines and spirits are well chosen too.

Big thanks to Edward as well for being such a great host. Will definitely come again!

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Thelazybassist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Thelazybassist,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. The Scallops are incredible and definitely one of Izzy's favourites,

I hope you visit us again soon and see what specials we have on!!

Best Wishes,

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our stay at Running Horses was wonderful, the old pub, plaid, plaid, plaid, newly remodeled rooms, delicious dinner, view of lovely old church across street, a drive up Box Hill and the stunning view. My USA family enjoyed our stay in a place with both interesting history and comfort! Manager Paulo, Chef Yusuf and Server Maddy provided excellent service and we will always remember our fun stay. After reading some unfavorable reviews, me thinks some folks are just a bit too demanding. This is not your momma's house but a lovely quintessential English pub and we say "cheers!"

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, General Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Ms. C. Woods,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a 5* review with extremely kind feedback. The Staff here are fantastic and like to go that extra mile to make your visit special. It really is a boost fr them when they get positive well deserved reviews. I do hope you visit again soon.

Best Wishes,

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So, a bit of a tale...For us the measure of exceptional service is how a business acts when things do not go according to plan. Having booked a stay a few weeks ago we arrived to find that due to the booking system being down that our room had been double booked!
However from that moment onward ALL of the staff acted with the utmost professionalism,respect, courtesy and gave exceptional customer service.The ability to admit an error and take ownership is not an easy thing to do yet they managed the whole situation wonderfully. We were offered a meal and drinks and more importantly accommodation elsewhere which was covered for us.
We then booked a return visit, which was offered on a complimentary basis although we were happy to pay for our food we were given vouchers and accommodation gratis. All of this alongside of a beautiful room, spotlessly clean, wonderfully comfortable and rather delicious food, the scallops were exceptional as was the duck.
In addition the staff Amanda, Paolo, Chris, Ed and all of the other staff took total ownership of what had happened and ensured that our stay was perfect in every way.
Yes, perhaps it was deserved given the initial error however, you cannot manufacture this level of comfort, food or service just to ammend a mistake. These lovely, genuinely warm and kind people know what they are doing and they do it very, very well. We would have no hesitation in returning and extend our thanks once again to all of you. We had the most perfect stay..

Room tip: Goodwood Room..Perfect
Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SDSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, General Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello SDSurrey,

Firstly I would like to extend a further apology for the initial error with your first visit here. The mix up was completely our error and I am extremely grateful you chose to come back to see us in a positive light.

The team were over the moon that you returned and were so pleased to be able to rectify the mistake made. They all have a lot of pride in what they do and I hope that showed.

We are all looking forward to your next visit with us here at the Running Horses.

Best Wishes,

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Popped in on the off chance and we had heard about the place but never visited before, the pale ale was amazing the food was fantastic, the pub itself is really nice and traditionally decked out and has the very nice village pub feel to it, the staff were also really nice and the service was excellent, will definitely visit again....

Date of stay: August 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 677mrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, General Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Mr S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a fantastic 5* review. It is always great to receive positive feedback as the staff here work tirelessly to ensure you have a pleasant visit.

Look forward to welcoming you back,

Best Wishes,

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2019 via mobile

Popped into this pub on Sunday and had a fantastic lunch with the family who came down to visit over the weekend. The scallops were heavenly and the Roadt beef butter perfection. The staff were very friendly and very accommodating!! Highly recommend

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank edwood12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edrushen, Manager at The Running Horses, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2019

Dear edwood12345

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave such a nice review, The team are absolutely fantastic and enjoy going the extra mile for all our guests,

Hope to see you soon,

Best Wishes,

The Running Horses Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews