We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incomplete menu - again”
Review of The Running Horses

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Running Horses
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mickleham
Certificate of Excellence
Mailhac
Level Contributor
298 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Incomplete menu - again”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I was invited by some friends/colleagues for a pleasant evening meal after a long day. The setting of this restaurant and its bar is magnificent.
Apparently they had a flood in their dry store the night before so more than half the menu was not available (including some dishes with only fresh food in them!). Only the tastiest (to my mind) dishes we not available BUT they did have an extra dish of a chateaubriande at £60.00!!
The Macon wine had been allowed to get hot and was then served super chilled.
I did enjoy my dessert and the company that I was with was very pleasant. Had this not been the case, I suspect that my review would be much worse.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    76
    36
    21
    14
See reviews for
58
113
7
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
weybridge
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recently visited The Running Horses with my brother, who had been visiting me for a few days.
We had been walking at Juniper Bottom and decided to have a pint and a snack afterwards, at what looked like a very inviting country pub. We were dismayed to find the staff extremely unfriendly and also unwilling to serve us with a couple of bowls of chips, which is all we required, with our drinks. They said they could only serve chips if we ordered a proper meal to go with them. This pub obviously only wants clientele who come in and pay their over inflated prices for a meal and does not cater for walkers who just want a drink and a snack. We also witnessed a customer being spoken to by a member of the bar staff, extremely rudely, without any cause to do so.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trevord866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We have been to the Running Horses many times for celebration meals, and have always enjoyed the food and service. We were disappointed to find that some menu items were un available, and had been substituted - I don't think mash is a good substitute for root vegetable dauphinoise, so this was a shame. Mussels were off the menu too. We were given a table so wonky it could have starred in Fawlty Towers. The desserts were delicious.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank maisielane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were invited for lunch to this delightful pub on Good Friday. The restaurant was naturally very busy and there were a few hiccups with the orders not arriving together. The food itself was however absolutely delicious. I would highly recommend the smoked mackrel fish cakes served on a bed of sanfire which I had as a starter. As well as the food being excellent, there was a large selection of wine sold by the glass - although it is of course always cheaper glass for glass to buy by the bottle.
It was a pleasure to be served a meal on a spotlessly white cloth with cloth serviettes and not paper ones.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Booked by friends who lived locally to the Pub, this was our first destination in our European Holiday. I imagine this is true to authentic village pub (although I have nothing to compare it to!) Very hospitable staff. Food was really good. Had my first Guinness here, in a "true" pint! Stayed in the Ascot Room, which had a gorgeous four poster bed, and fabulous bathroom with claw footed bath (I think the bathroom was recently renovated). Very clean. Comfortable bed. We did get very hot in the room... but probably our fault, as we didn't know how to turn down the thermostat (we don't have those sort of heaters at home!) Can't complain about anything. Is a lovely old pub with good old fashioned service. Short taxi ride away (staff happy to assist in ordering), to board the train at Leatherhead or Dorking, and take the train to Waterloo (London)

Room Tip: All rooms are upstairs, so if you have mobility issues, this isn't the accommodation for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel early this month for my wife's Birthday and to visit friends.
While it is out of London central it gives you a great feeling of what a country village feel is all about.
The staff are very friendly and the locals made you feel at home.
The rooms are very well appointed, clean and a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Food served on dirty plates, sauce out of a jar. Serving staff charming but not that bothered that I didn't like it . My friend had soup out of a chipped ikea bowl. This place used to be a lot better than it is now. I had a bar meal here last summer and that was also disappointing. I'd hoped it was a one off but actually seems to be becoming the norm. Please go back to providing quality food rather than trying to cut corners

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolita2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mickleham
0.9 mi away
Mercure Box Hill Burford Bridge Hotel
5.0 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#1 of 8 in Dorking
93 reviews
2.5 mi away
The White Horse Hotel, Dorking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Thatchers Hotel
Thatchers Hotel
#3 of 3 in Leatherhead
538 reviews
4.5 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
979 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Garden House Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Running Horses? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Running Horses

Property: The Running Horses
Address: Running Horses Old London Road | nr Dorking, Mickleham RH5 6DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Mickleham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mickleham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Running Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Running Horses is a perfect country inn at the heart of picturesque Mickleham village in the Surrey hills. Step inside and you’ll discover one of the most charming places to eat and stay in Surrey. Dating back to the 16th century, it was once a coaching house. Back in those days, the inn’s clientele provided rich pickings for highwaymen. Thankfully, things are a little more peaceful these days, but some traditions live on. You’ll still find wonderful home-cooked British food, made with the freshest ingredients, accompanied by a wine list to compare with the top restaurants. The Running Horses has been family owned and run for the last fifteen years. And because we’re not part of a chain, the inn is full of character and individual touches. You’re guaranteed a warm welcome from the moment you enter the cosy bar with its roaring log fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Running Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Running Horses Hotel Mickleham
Running Horses Mickleham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing