We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant, especially if sharing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ditton Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ditton Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Ditton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant, especially if sharing!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

As others have said this is hidden gem and when going to twickenham either Ditton or Villiers Lodge (it's sister property) are always on the list. Very clean, very welcoming, good breakfast, quiet location but close to amenities (shops,buses,trains). Only slight gripe was that there is not even a small discount for single occupancy. We had to have a twin room for two nights but one of us was missing for one night. Now I appreciate a room is a room but there was only 1 breakfast, half the towel laundry etc. I was not expecting half price but a gesture of £5/10 off in lieu of the 2nd breakfast would I think have been good PR. Wont stop me re-booking but will stop it from being automatic choice and will just have a look first. Final thing, parking is provided but can get crowded so if you can get there early to get a spot!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splitnote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    28
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
39
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
117 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is an up market B&B. It is traditional with traditional furniture, very well presented and very clean. The staff cannot do enough to help which contributes to a relaxing stay. breakfast is fresh coked to order with generous portions. They advertise Internet access but despite trying four times I could not log on. Nice basic products in the bathroom and basic tetlley / nescafe tea and coffee in the room. By being a little off the beaten track it is lovely and peaceful.
The hotel is about 15- 20 mins simple walk from the train station at surbiton. I stayed here for a trip to Hampton court palace and got much better value than trying to stay closer. It is well priced for the area. (Taxi to HCP should be less than £15)
Tips: reception closes about 10 so let them know when you are coming. 2 There are no phones in the rooms. 3 If you need internet find out which server to connect to at reception and stay there till you are logged on.
IF STAYING IN ROOM 10 DO NOT USE HAIRDRYER. I GOT MY HAIR STUCK IN THERE AND HAD TO WRENCH IT OUT IN THE END - OUCH.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2013

The Ditton Lodge is great value for money. Lovely clean, characteristic room. Power shower which is always a winner. The best thing about the lodge is the team who were lovely. Extremely pleasant and helpful. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

let me say first that the employees were very nice and the breakfast quite ok too.

This said, we called before making a reservation to see if the family suit was ok for two adults and two teens, and they said it was ok. it was definitely not. When someone tells you suit, you expect two rooms, or a big one. Here we had one, with no place to walk between the beds and no place to arrange our luggage or even the underwear. The shower was a pathetic small cabin.

so, not coming back there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gustavo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whissendine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This small private hotel has to be one of the best I've stayed in.
The rooms are spotlessly clean with high quality furniture. The bed was large and very comfortable, the room clean and warm. Uncharacteristically for a London hotel, there was no traffic noise and the only sound heard in the morning was the drumming of a woodpecker.
I think the shower was probably the cleanest, hottest and most powerful of any shower I've experienced in a hotel.
Breakfast is a delight, a good range of cereals and fruit with on demand cooked breakfast using really good ingredients.
Very pleasant common areas with a little bar if you fancy a drink, they even found us champagne flutes for our own bottle of champagne.
If there is a fault it is with the parking. There is only a small area for parking and this is not adequately policed, meaning residents have to request cars to be moved sometimes to get in and out.
On balance one of the best, can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_John_Poyser_4952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stay at Ditton Lodge regularly on business. I used to stay at the Holiday Inn Chessington which is very large, overpriced and nowhere near as good at this place.
Ditton Lodge doesn't do a dinner option but there are many varied and decent restaurants in Surbiton which is a 10 minute stroll away.
The staff at Ditton Lodge are very friendly and efficient. The house itself is very tastefully decorated and comfortable. The rooms are very quiet spacious and are better than some you will find in many of the large (expensive) "chain" hotels.
The breakfast is first class and cooked to order. If I can get in here I won't even consider anywhere else in the Leatherhead/Surbiton/Chessington area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here for one night when attending a nearby party. Had a choice of nearby chain hotels but as they were a bit further away I booked this one. It's in a residential street in an affluent area, not close to town centre so little to do nearby except walk.
I was very impressed: strikes a good balance between homely and professional, spotlessly clean, good & efficent welcome. I was upgraded to a (small) double from the booked single as they weren't full. The room was excellent, TV, free wifi,hairdryer tea & coffee making facilities. All that is fairly normal nowadays but then came the bits that are so often missing in hotels that should know better: iron & board, bedside lights that worked and actually in a position to light one's book, heated towel rail, super shower, bathroom shelves for your stuff, shelf in shower, hooks to hang your stuff. Yay! A very well thought out room.
I heard people go in and out of the room next door but wasn't disturbed by any other noise. Breakfast was excellent in a lovely room overlooking a large garden. Newspapers provided.

Couldn't fault it and would definitely return.

Room Tip: If you're a couple and there for more than one night, ask for a spacious room. Mine was a bit s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JulieJ63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Long Ditton
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bosco
Hotel Bosco
#2 of 2 in Surbiton
238 reviews
1.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
816 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
631 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 2 in East Molesey
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ditton Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ditton Lodge Hotel

Property: Ditton Lodge Hotel
Address: 47 Lovelace Road, Long Ditton KT6 6NZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Long Ditton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Long Ditton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ditton Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The staff at Ditton Lodge welcome you to their beautiful Edwardian Hotel set in a quiet location convenient for London sightseeing, airports, all London's main motorways and main routes and many places of interest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ditton Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ditton Hotel Long

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing