We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (774)
Filter reviews
774 results
Traveler rating
220
223
148
95
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
220
223
148
95
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews afternoon tea ceremony room wedding breakfast wedding reception wedding venue buffet style an evening meal groupon deal an overnight stay one night stay full english jets bride guildford pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 774 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2019 via mobile

Went with my partner, stayed a night. Everything was perfect.
Big room , a bit old fashioned, but very clean.
Excellent food in the restaurant, and could not fault the service.
We had a great time and would highly recommend anyone to stay. On top of that the price. I felt bad only paying £60 for my room.
Looking forward to return once refurb is finished
Thank you Thatchers .

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank jamiehO337IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewV1913, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2019

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for kind comments, they honestly help us to improve on a day to day basis.
We look forward in seeing you very soon.
Once again thank you
Kind regards
Andrew Vales
General Manager
Thatchers Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as we had to be in the area for some family business. What a mistake!

Starting with a positive, there’s a spacious car park.

Check in was perfunctory bordering on rude. The compulsory £25 deposit for spending in bar, extras or “if something happens in the room” is ridiculous. This wasn’t highlighted at any time in the booking procedure, although the check in woman was happy to jab her finger triumphantly at a page of small print.

The room was a fair size but very tatty, tired and needed a deep clean. The bathroom needed replacing. After a long journey a bath would have been good, but it seemed too scuzzy.

The TV didn’t work (sound but no picture), there was no milk to go with the grubby set up for tea and coffee. The bed was uncomfortable.

If the owners can’t be bothered to maintain the place or have any pride in it, then don’t expect return visits. You’d be much better off at the De Vere just along the road. Or try a Travelodge where at least there’s a bit of style, a guaranteed half decent bed and a clean bathroom.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bear C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewV1913, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2019

Dear Guest

In all Web sites and booking agents, we indicate that there will be a Pre-Authorisation taken when booking our rooms, this is a normal proceeding in many Hotels and Hotel Chains now a days. As mentioned before this is a Pre- Authorisation, we do not take money and its not for spending in the bar, this is a security hold or incidentals. Once you depart from our hotel we automatically stop the pre-Authorisation.

As all signs and posters indicate, we are under refurbishment and have been for a year, we are slowly refurbishing our Hotel, so we do not interfere with our guests day to day.

We have checked both TV and tea tray and there was nothing to report, TV works perfectly and there was milk, tea, sugar and coffee on our station.

We have never had complaints about our beds, but will check. All our Exec rooms have Hipnos Beds, the only rooms that have normal beds at our standard rooms.

Please forward your booking reference and name, and I will personally be in contact.

Kind regards
Andrew Vales
General Manager
Thatchers Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2019 via mobile

Thatchers is about to be refurbished, but this did not detract from the excellent welcome, service, quality of food, and ambience for our family celebration. We had a buffet meal, but the tables were all laid beautifully and the food itself surpassed expectations with everything being home made and plentiful. The staff were particularly impressive in that they were attentive when we needed them but never intrusive. I remember this being a good quality venue from years ago, and it can only go onwards and upwards after the big refurbishment. A relaxed, personal, but high standard venue. Thank you Thatchers for a happy afternoon.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Nwad2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewV1913, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2019

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind words, comments like yours help us improve on a day to day basis.
Thank you again.
We look forward in seeing you again very shortly.
Kind regards
Andrew Vales
General Manager
Thatchers Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2019 via mobile

My wife and I had been given a ‘red letter day’ hotel stay for our wedding anniversary. Having planned a visit to the nearby Polesden Lacey, we used the opportunity to stay nearby. As we planned to arrive Sunday lunchtime we also booked a cream tea through groupon.

The hotel was extremely quiet and on arrival the car park appeared empty. We went straight to the restaurant and were greeted warmly. Our cream tea duly arrived, along with a glass of Prosecco each.
The tea, sandwiches and cakes followed. Average standard and acceptable for the total of £22.95 we paid.

The 3 course evening meal (included in the package) was more that acceptable. However, the restaurant was completely empty at 8pm and lacked a little atmosphere.

The breakfast was by far the highlight with all that one would normally expect, with the exception perhaps of muesli. The cooked breakfast was very well cooked and presented again, with all the usual components.

The decor, along with the rest of the hotel was very tired and needs to be updated from the 80’s. Our room was ok, if a little grubby in places. Having said that, the staff were very polite and accommodating. I looked online, and the price for one night stay with breakfast was available at £65. Quite acceptable for a one night stay, but I would seek more comfort and finish for more than a night.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank TrevorSneeze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewV1913, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments, as you would have seen all round the hotel, we have signs indicating that we are under refurbishment. We are slowly changing our hotel.
Some areas have not been yet finished.

Kind regards
Andrew Vales
General Manager
Thatchers Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2019

Lets start with the positive. Plenty of parking, large rooms and a good breakfast. I am afraid it goes downhill from there. The lampshades in the room were all at angles and covered in thick layers of dust. The bathroom had mould on the ceiling and the bath itself had bene cracked and crudely fixed, leaving dirt traps. Needless to say i did not use the Bath or Shower. Staff were friendly, but did not one ask how my stay was. I get the impression the owners have let this hotel go and are unwilling to spend any money on the rooms or common parts. I would advise that you do not stay here! I did not ask for a room change as I was late arriving and went staring out and did not notice how bad the room was until late in the evening when it was unlikely I could change the room.

Room tip: Inspect it first to make sure it is clean.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank PaulT327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrewV1913, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2019

Dear Guest
First of all I would like to apologise for all the inconvenience mentioned in your letter. If you would have mentioned anything we would have done our best to ensure that everything was to your satisfaction .
As all the signs in the hotel mention, we are currently under refurbishment. Some of our rooms have not yet been refurbished.
I can assure you that our rooms are clean.
Please forward us your booking reference, and I will personally look into the above mentioned issues, if any.
Kind regards
Andrew Vales
General Manager
Thatchers Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews