We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding - 20th July 2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thatchers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Thatchers Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Leatherhead
Godalming, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding - 20th July 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Firstly we would like to Thank all the staff who helped make our day PERFECT!! I can honestly say on the day of our wedding all the staff worked above and beyond our expectations to make sure our day ran smoothly and we would personally like to thank Clinton, Don, and the team for all there hard work and efforts My husband and I along with all our guests had a brilliant time Thank you.

We did however have a few issues with the administration side of things at the hotel and at times we were very disappointed in the service that was provided in preparations leading up to our big day - our wedding did get double booked originally!! Which at the time was heart breaking - Clinton however was very professional in how he handled the situation to ensure we where informed promptly and after a lot of discussions he managed to come up with a solution we where all happy with.

Our guests at times were also misinformed - we had a room block code and a number of guests were told that this was not accessible to them - even when it was ... but again after communicating with the General Manager and Clinton these problems were rectified.

When we look back and review the past 18 months ..... I would say we are more than happy with the Overall service and more than Happy that we chose The Ramada as our wedding venue. The actual day of our Wedding was amazing and any problems we had in the lead up to the day were washed away by the exceptional service we had on the day. THANK YOU once again to the wonderful Clinton and his team :-)

Mr and Mrs Copping

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank david72782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieWGM1, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Copping,

Thank you for your excellent feedback. It was a pleasure to be part of your special day and Clinton was delighted to read your comments as were all our team. We will look forward to seeing you both on your 1st year anniversary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    143
    108
    62
    40
See reviews for
104
176
13
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed here for a friends wedding nearby. We were in the newer part of hotel. Room clean and very comfortable. Other guests had older rooms which were a little more shabby but altogether nice. Staff helpful and a good breakfast that was continuously topped up and kept fresh. Only downside was not being able to get late drinks at the bar as we hadn't registered our card to our room.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer part of the hotel that overlooks car park
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gem W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieWGM1, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you Gem W for your kind comments from your stay with us. Hopefully next time you stay we can get your card registered quick and easily at reception so you can have that late drink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

I stayed here in high summer and the heat was unbearable! Windows don't open far and although a fan was provided it was quite old and bit noisy. Still, only likely to be an issue for 1 month out of 12 given this is Britain! Otherwise the hotel was good, plenty of free parking, free wifi and tasty room service which arrived very quickly.

No real complaints at all about the service or the room, apart from that dreaded heat!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moos3h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatieWGM1, General Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments Moos3h. It is a shame the summer didn’t last that long this year! I am pleased to hear the heat did not stop you from enjoying your stay with us. Hopefully see you again in the Autumn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Stayed 1 night on business. Room allocated this time was over the bar area as I was told I'd get wifi signal. Unfortunately the room was not so good, being small and basic and smelling really musty and damp. This was a far cry from the last time where I think I was lucky to be given an executive room. Positives are the staff who were all really friendly and gave excellent customer service. I would stay again but only in an executive room..

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tillycass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc11976, Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Tillycass,

I was disappointed to read that this visit was not as good as your last stay due to your observations regarding the bedroom.

We have a variety of bedrooms, ranging from Standard to Executive to Feature rooms, which contrast in their style, to accommodate our guests particular preferences. However the condition of the room that you highlighted are not standards that we strive for, and after talking to my housekeeping and maintenance teams, have now addressed the situation.

We are also in the process of reviewing our wifi offering and range, to our guests.

It was a pleasure to read that you found the staff really friendly and gave excellent customer service, and I shall pass on your kind comments to the team.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramada Guildford Leatherhead and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon


Yours faithfully


Puran Barr
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

After a long journey down we were greeted with a lovely smile. However after finding a wallet on the stairs, the receptionist seemed quite annoyed that people kept loosing articles, like apples and bottles of water. Giving them yet another job to do!!! We felt it necessary to ask the following day if the owner had been reunited with the wallet.
The hotel was quiet clean, and the beds being the most important thing were a lot more comfortable than other places. However I do think they could have done a little better in the bathroom.
With it being the hottest day for a very long time it would have been good if there was some air conditioning. Failing that, it would have been good if they had some portable fans available, as it was extremely stuffy in the room. The bedroom was situated above the outdoor seating area. So if you opened the window you could hear several clients on the outside smoking, yuck! They carried on talking and smoking until way into the early hours!
Food, the soup was atrocious, please don't choose leek and potato. However my husbands steak was very good and my salmon was adequate. Also a very limited choice on the menu mainly grills. The menu for starters could have done with a little imagination. However it was a refreshing change that the waiter gave us water at the table with lime, without even being asked.
At breakfast the staff were friendly, however they had to keep referring the simplest of questions to there boss, who seemed the only person who seemed competent. As she was quite busy training a member of staff, there wasn't adequate directions as to where to go, or where the different types of food was situated. It took them quite a while to replace the bread for toast. We also had to ask for plates for the full English breakfast.
The late check out was really good, as this gave us extra time to leave!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We got married on 29th of July at the ramada. We had the best day and staff went the extra mile to help and make the day perfect. I had loads of decorations to make the venue look slightly less like a hotel. They listened to exactly what I said and Mayed it look amazing! I spent so long paying attention to detail and the hotel helped so much to make it exactly how I wanted. Clinton the wedding co or donator took control do everyone knew where to go so I didn't have to worry on the day! Highly recommend. Xxx

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hkkkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc11976, Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Hkkkk,

I am so pleased to read that you both had the best day on your very special wedding day. Although the Hotel possesses plenty of character, I’m glad that all the decorations and your attention to detail made the venue look amazing and closer to what you had envisaged.

The staff are a fantastic team who know exactly what is expected from them and they take huge pride in delivering that high standard of service, with Clinton a shining light, firstly laying down the precise template for a successful event, and then ensuring that the high quality is carried all the way through to the day itself.

It will give me great pleasure to pass on your kind words to my team, especially Clinton, whom you have highlighted.

On behalf of the hotel I would like to pass on my best wishes to you both for a healthy, wealthy and happy life together and l personally look forward to welcoming you back next June (I do hope that the “...29th of July…” was a typing error!), to celebrate your first year wedding anniversary.

Yours faithfully


Puran Barr
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst working locally.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Also very cheerful.
The room was basic and the Bath was damaged slightly. This however did not put a dampner on our stay.
It was warm in the room but with the window open it was cool.
I had a great night sleep.
The breakfast was a great buffet cooked breakfast. And a great coffee also.
Would stay here again ... Just need free wifi in rooms :-)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joelthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc11976, Manager at Thatchers Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear joelthorn,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding the buffet cooked breakfast, the coffee and especially the staff whom you found to be friendly, helpful and very cheerful. I shall be sure to pass on your positive feedback to the team.

Your observations regarding the bedroom and the bath have been duly noted and in terms of the wear and tear of the hotel and these issues will be resolved in our constant refurbishment program.

You will also be pleased to hear that we are in the process of reviewing our wifi offering to our guests.

The Hotel is in the perfect location for those who are working locally, especially with business parks situated in Guildford, Leatherhead, and Woking and Dorking..

Once again I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay and, very importantly your sleep, with us.

May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Ramada Guildford Leatherhead and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon


Yours faithfully


Puran Barr
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leatherhead
0.3 mi away
De Vere Horsley Estate
De Vere Horsley Estate
#1 of 1 in East Horsley
3.5 of 5 bubbles 922 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
3.8 mi away
De Vere Wotton House
De Vere Wotton House
#2 of 8 in Dorking
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Manor House Hotel & Spa
Manor House Hotel & Spa
#11 of 11 in Guildford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Cobham M25
Days Inn Cobham M25
#1 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
6.3 mi away
Barnett Hill Hotel
Barnett Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wonersh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatchers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatchers Hotel

Property: Thatchers Hotel
Address: Guildford Road | East Horsley, Leatherhead KT24 6TB, England (Formerly Ramada Guildford)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Leatherhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Leatherhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Thatchers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Thatchers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Guildford / Leatherhead Hotel Leatherhead
Ramada Leatherhead
Leatherhead Ramada
Thatchers Hotel Leatherhead, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing