We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty food and friendly service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plough

The Plough
Ranked #9 of 59 Restaurants in Leatherhead
Price range: $0 - $28
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Contemporary, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tasty food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed dinner in this atmospheric village pub in Effingham (near Leatherhead). Good varied menu as well as a blackboard with a good range of specials for the day. All the food was delicious and served in reasonable quantities. Very friendly helpful service from the waitress and bar staff. Fairly expensive for a pub meal - we paid £30 a head for two courses + 2 drinks and coffee. But worth it. Will return.

Helpful?
1 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    51
    18
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex
1 review
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We live in West Sussex and we often come up to Epsom, so we always go to The Plough for a lovely relaxing drink, there your find friendly staff, great owner, and then finish off with a Thai meal there. This place is well worth a visit, brilliant food, friendly staff, I could go on, so please try it you wont regret it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place, Expensive food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stopped for lunch in the Plough today as we were in the area and had read the good reviews on TA. The staff were welcoming and attentive and the pub itself was very nice. My only gripe really was the food. Some aspects of the menu were excellent, both of the desserts we had (chocolate brownie and apple crumble) were particularly good. The starters (mussle and chorizo paella and salt beef rosti) were rather bland and the mains, whilst good (the duck breast was cooked to perfection) were a little 'confused'. I can't help thinking that the cook is trying a little too hard.

The prices were rather high. Our mains were £14 and £17 respectively - and the portions where fairly small - this meant I had a full 3 course meal (usually one or two is plenty)
The whole meal (3 courses) and a couple of soft drinks came to £70 - which I would expect to pay in a restaurant of a better standard, but not a pub.

All in all, this is a nice place, hence the rating. Just way too expensive for what it is.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank clefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

From the moment you walk in and are welcomed by the friendly staff we know the whole experience is going to be a thoroughly enjoyable one. The food is consistently good and the new decor has enhanced the general impression of the pub. The Plough is by no means our local but is always our first choice if we want a pub meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank papillon50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lunch time stop over”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch on a wet Saturday afternoon. Lovely decor, great ambience. I had crispy duck which was very good . Staff v Friendly, decent prices.would like to try dinner next time we're down here.
Overall v good experience

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough also viewed

Leatherhead, Surrey
Leatherhead, Surrey
 
Leatherhead, Surrey
Great Bookham, Surrey
 

Been to The Plough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing