We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas stay 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Christmas stay 2013”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

For the second year running my Fiancé and I stayed over the Christmas period. This time a total of 9 nights. (About the same length in 2012). We booked early as to ensure that we would get a room as we were visiting our family. Just before we left Sweden to go my Fiancé saw on their website that they had a deal for complementary breakfast when you booked a weekend stay so upon arrival we inquired (as we were a) staying over two weekends and b) for rather a long period of 9 nights) if we would be entitled to a couple of complementary breakfasts. The receptionist said that we would have to contact the booking service and that she couldn't do anything for us. So we called the booking service. They were most unhelpful and pretty much said that if we had made two separate bookings ie checked in, checked out and the checked in again that it would have been possible to receive a comped breakfast. The reason I write this is because it pretty much sums up this hotel in the way you as a guest are treated. There is no reward at all for loyalty and there is no willing to go that little extra mile for the guests. Another experience that illustrates this is when the bar was very busy due to a function we went to the reception to ask for two wine glasses. We were immediately referred back to the bar and had to point out that the staff there had their hands full. And it turns out that the reception did have wine glasses after all. It's these little things that matter in my opinion. That you feel valued when you are a return guest and when you, after all, spend a great deal of money to stay.
A big gold star to the cleaning staff however! The room was beautifully made up every day, no matter how late in the day we left it to go out. Also our room had a balcony which was very nice; to be able to get some fresh air without having to go down to ground level.
We will however, not be returning to this hotel again and will instead explore other hotels in the area for next years Christmas trip. #room 203.

Room Tip: If you want to instant access to fresh air or a smoker: ask for a balcony/patio room at the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephanie_stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Stephanie_stockholm,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, as your feedback is extremely valued.

I am pleased to learn that you found the housekeeping team to be efficient, and that you enjoyed having a private balcony.

Please accept my apologies, that on the two occasions you made requests to members of the team, you did not receive our normally high level of customer care, and this has been addressed with the departments concerned.

Our Weekend Breaks include breakfast, and these are payable at time of booking and
non-refundable. I am sorry that this information was not correctly conveyed, when you made enquiries with the reservations team, and thank you for bringing this to our attention.

I would like to assure you that the loyalty of all our guests is greatly appreciated, and as such please do not hesitate to contact me, if you would like to return in 2014, so that I can personally look after your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    273
    181
    86
    59
See reviews for
184
302
64
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

This is a very average-ish hotel. The room I had was very small. The bathroom was fine but everything felt rather dated and the bathroom also had a strange smell. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful; those serving in the restaurant less so. I suppose it was generally okay but there's not much I can think of that would make me recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nph32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear nph32,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as all feedback whether positive or negative is greatly valued, as it helps us strive to achieve the best service levels possible.

I am pleased that you found the reception team professional, but am sorry this was not the case with another department, which has been discussed with the Restaurant Manager.

I am sorry that the room allocated did not meet your expectations, but would like to confirm that had you brought this to the attention of the Duty Manager, an immediate room move would have been arranged.

I hope very much that you will choose to return on a future occasion, so that your faith in the hotel can be restored, and as such, please do not hesitate to contact me, so that I can look after your next reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston upon Thames hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed here for New years eve with 2 friends. We booked a twin room and asked for an extra 'z' bed. We ended up getting 2 singles and a double bed, so that was a nice surprise. The room was clean and big, im guessing we got a family room.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank dave b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Our room was clean and big with excellent heating. The bed was clean and comfortable and we had a flat screen tv. The bathroom was clean with a shower over the bath. For such a big room the standard bed, chair and desk looked a bit lost so a few more pictures on the wall or an extra chair would be a good idea. The only problem was the cleaners trying to get in twice while we were sleeping and twice coming into the room when I was in the bathroom even though the do not disturb was on the door so make sure you always use the extra lock for safety and security. Our fire exit was a bit tricky to get to and onto the roof so we decided the safest route was out of our window onto the roof as there was only a minimal drop to it. So check first if you aren't too agile or fast.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoS772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
truro Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

A very enjoyable break at the Hotel Antoinette in November. We were able to access the town by walking and we were very grateful to have our car safely parked in the Hotel grounds. Our daughter is at Kingston hill uni, so ideal base to stay..

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Starting of in the garden building I was faced with a stiflingly hot room, a bathroom from the 80s complete with chips, brown plug holes, thick limescale and two visibly different types of mould. There was only lukewarm water and the shower being so limescale clogged gave a couple of decent streams all in different directions. With electrical issues meaning a phone takes 6 hours to fully charge and flickering lights not to memtion the delightful woodchip ceiling it's quite something. Staff were as helpful as possible supplying an extra duvet to pad the mattress as the springs stuck out.
Unfortunately due to a light fitting not working that couldn't be fixed due to dodgey electrics, I was moved to the main building for the thrid night of my 5 night stay. The room was much cleaner, a better temperature and the bathroom was much more modern. I was happy until I was woken at 5am this morning (day 4) by a loud humming which clicked on and off every 30 seconds or so. Before long it became apparent that this new room was above the kitchen and as staff used food processors and sang loudly (and badly) I was kept awake. A call to reception and they said they would look into it. No response. 7am breakfast is now served and all related noises have ceased although I now have to get up anyway. Let's just hope the shower is a little better.
Oh and if the guy next door could blow his nose a little more quietly I woild appreciate it!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear josreview,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay.

As your original room has only just been re-furbished, I was dissapointed to read your comments regarding the standard of housekeeping, especially as the mattress is brand new, and a recent questionnaire rated the cleanliness of this room as excellent. I have spoken to the maintenance team regarding the issue with the electrical supply, and it appears that this may have been as a result of the key card not being fully inserted. Please be assured that had you raised these issues with a member of our team on your first night, an immediate room move would have been arranged.

I am pleased that you found the second room to your liking, but am sorry that you experienced noise disturbance. I have investigated the source of the humming, which I can confirm was not from the kitchen, but from a faulty electrical bathroom fan, and this has now been rectified.

I hope very much that you will choose to stay with us on a future occasion, and as such please do not hesitate to contact me personally, so that I can ensure that you are allocated one of our Superior Rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We picked Antoinettes because of it value and location. We had a room overlooking the carpark and front lobby. The staff were all extremely helpful and courteous, the food was above average but nothing to write home about. The room was clean with everything we need for our 4 day stay.
Breakfast was included on three of these days. The buffet sytle breakfasts were good there was plenty of choice. Unfortunately on three night out of the four there were weddings and birthdays and a very loud crowd that carried on partying until the early hours. The smokers congregated just under our window and kept us awake. Another problem was the fire doors which closed with a bang all the way down the corridors. During the wedding evening young kids with parents room keys would run up and down the corridors letting themselves through the firedoors. That went on until late and the noise echoed every door. On reflection never take a room at the front and avoid weekends as they are the most popular place for weddings and conventions. But thats what pays the bills.

Room Tip: Never take a room at the facing the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnelse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston upon Thames hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
196 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,031 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bosco
Hotel Bosco
#2 of 2 in Surbiton
267 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Kingston upon Thames Central
Travelodge Kingston upon Thames ...
#11 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames

Property: Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Address: Hotel Antoinette Beaufort Road, Kingston upon Thames KT1 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston's largest independently owned hotel offers 100 guest rooms, with complimentary Full English Breakfast, on site parking and Wi-Fi access. Located 12 miles from London, in a quiet residential area, both Kingston and Surbiton train Stations are within walking distance, and frequent services run to Central London with a journey time of 15 minutes. All rooms have television, hospitality tray, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, and well appointed bathroom. Our Hampton Restaurant offers modern British cuisine, whilst lighter dishes are available from the bar, which is equipped with large screen televisions. The hotel offers Courtyard Rooms, which are suitable for families, are overlook our landscaped gardens. Excellent value Weekend Breaks are available, and the hotel is an ideal base for visiting many nearby attractions, such as Hampton Court Palace, Chessington World of Adventure, Kew Gardens, and the sporting venues of Sandown, Epsom and Twickenham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing