We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good budget option for visiting London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Gateshead
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A good budget option for visiting London”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I suspect that whether or not you like this hotel depends on the room you're allocated. I booked via Booking.com and paid £68 for a double room without breakfast - that's excellent value in (outer) London. We were given a 'garden room' which was huge, clean, well equipped, and with a little 'terrace' that had a table & chairs. The garden itself is attractive and well maintained. Other reviews appear to suggest that some of the remaining rooms aren't quite as nice.
Ate a bar meal one night, which was OK and reasonably priced, but nothing special.
Look at it this way: if you drive to London in your car, you can park it here free of charge and then buy a Zones 1-6 off-peak travelcard for £8.90 to get you into and around London (you'd probably have to buy a slightly cheaper card anyway if you were staying in Central London). Surbiton & Kingston stations are about 15-20 minutes' walk away, with very regular trains to Waterloo. Kingston itself is attractive, with walks/bars etc. along the Thames. Hampton Court is very close, but if you plan to walk there it might be best to walk along the river to it - slightly further, but more interesting than the shorter route which runs alongside a long and very boring brick wall.
One downside is that the walls are very thin, so you can hear what your neighbours are up to.

Room Tip: Try to get a garden room (downstairs)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank InspectorBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

826 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    265
    176
    84
    57
See reviews for
175
285
64
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
353 reviews
263 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Only here for one night, but the following could be helpful.

Location is very good, being close to London, but away from the hubub.
I had a room in the garden annex and it was a little tired but ok for a single night. Sadly, the wifi, whilst free to use, had a lousy signal and the connection was dropped every few minutes. The room itself was a little gloomy and not over spacious. Also, due to the hot weather, sleep quality was poor. Even with the window open, i was sweating all night.

The breakfast was ok for a buffet, however as usual, the fried eggs were congealed..... Nice sausages though!

The girls on reception were very helpful and welcoming......sadly, couldnt say the same about the bar staff.

Plenty of free parking on site though which is a bonus

Would i return? If working in the area for a day or two, yes. However, for a romantic weekend with Mrs Sowie, probably not

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear sowie,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as all feedback whether positive or negative is greatly appreciated.

I am pleased that you found our location to be good, and benefited from the complimentary on site parking.

I apologies that you experienced an issue with the wi-fi signal, which I can confirm has been rectified.

I hope that you can appreciate that due to the weather being exceptionally hot recently, sometimes as high as 23 degrees, this is something the hotel has no control over, but please be assured that had you requested an additional fan this would have been provided.

I look forward to welcoming you back on a future occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel excellent value for money. Garden suites and family rooms are spacious. Lovely staff very helpful. Food was good and a decent selection from the menu too. Plenty of car parking spaces . Good base to travel round London 15 min walk from surbiton station. Lovely area plenty of pubs etc for meals

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyWaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed one night. We were given a room in the garden annexe behind the hotel and on the 3rd floor. There was no lift but that was ok for us. The corridors were very narrow and our twin rooms decor looked a little tired. The bathroom door kept getting stuck and made a horrible scraping noise. The water pressure was weak so the shower and taps were merely dribbles.
The worst thing was the terrible heat!! As we climbed the 2 flights of stairs it got hotter and hotter. The window only opened at the top and although there was a fan we had an extremely uncomfortable night. We've stayed in hotels in very hot countries but have never felt so close to suffocating! I would have liked to see what temperature the room was.
On the plus side the receptionist was friendly and helpful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller67Chorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear traveller67Chorley,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as all feedback whether positive or negative is greatly valued as it helps us strive to achieve the best service levels possible.

On the date of your stay the weather in this country was reacching record temperatures of 33 degrees, and as such the hotel was endeavouring to make rooms as comfortable as possible by closing curtains, switching on fans for periods of time, and providing additional fans if required. I hope you can appreciate that these conditions were exceptional, and beyond the control of the hotel.

I am pleased that you found the Reception team, professional and helpful, but am sorry that the room allocated di not meet your expectations. I would also like to thank you for bringing to our attention the maintenance issues, which I can confirm have been rectified.

I would very much welcome the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel, and as such please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can personally look after your reservation, and allocate one of our spacious Superior Rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Very nice staff and very good food. The garden was lovely for an evening drink however the room was tiny,double bed pushed up to the wall and a very small window the room was an oven , we had an electric fan otherwise we would of melted overnight, not comfortable. I would stay there again if there was a better room. Would of been a great weekend apart from the room

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room with air con if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
146 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed here as I was in the area for my Uncles 60th birthday celebrations. The hotel was £118 for one night with breakfast which is expensive. The hotel is rather bland and uninspiring and one I'll forget about quickly. The room was ok, staff were ok and breakfast was poor. If you can stay somewhere else in the area that looks ok for a cheaper price then go for it because this place is nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpw369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear dpw369,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, as all feedback whether positive or negative is greatly valued, as it helps us strive to achieve the best service levels possible.

I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your recent stay, and felt that your accommodation was expensive. I would like to assure you that the bed and breakfast rate paid for a family room with multiple guests, does represent extremely good value for money.

I was disappointed to read your comment regarding breakfast, as this receives great feedback from our guests, and offers a large selection of both hot and cold dishes.

I appreciate that you feel that you do not wish to return, but hope very much that you will choose to stay with us on a future occasion, and as such please do not hesitate to contact me so that I can personally look after your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wasn't sure what to expect as it is slightly off the beaten track, but what a treasure. Surprisingly homely feel, whilst still feeling spacious. Evening bar meal was excellent and the buffet breakfast was good enough to go back for seconds (bang goes the waistline). Forgot my showergel and there in the shower was just what I needed...cool.
The staff were all welcoming and very helpful. We will be booking again next time we are near.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston upon Thames hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
0.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 928 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bosco
Hotel Bosco
#2 of 2 in Surbiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames

Property: Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Address: Hotel Antoinette Beaufort Road, Kingston upon Thames KT1 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston's largest independently owned hotel offers 100 guest rooms, with complimentary Full English Breakfast, on site parking and Wi-Fi access. Located 12 miles from London, in a quiet residential area, both Kingston and Surbiton train Stations are within walking distance, and frequent services run to Central London with a journey time of 15 minutes. All rooms have television, hospitality tray, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, and well appointed bathroom. Our Hampton Restaurant offers modern British cuisine, whilst lighter dishes are available from the bar, which is equipped with large screen televisions. The hotel offers Courtyard Rooms, which are suitable for families, are overlook our landscaped gardens. Excellent value Weekend Breaks are available, and the hotel is an ideal base for visiting many nearby attractions, such as Hampton Court Palace, Chessington World of Adventure, Kew Gardens, and the sporting venues of Sandown, Epsom and Twickenham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing