We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable value no frills accommodation and only 10 minute walk to station or town centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
dumfries
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Reasonable value no frills accommodation and only 10 minute walk to station or town centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I would give it 3.5, if I could. We stayed 4 nights, in a classic room, as it is very convenient for visiting family and have stayed several times now. The hotel is only a 10 minutes or so walk from the town centre, train and bus stations. It is a short train journey to Waterloo from Kingston and Hampton Court, Richmond Park and Kew Gardens are only a few miles away. The room was very clean and spacious and although everything was fairly basic, it had everything we needed. Sleep quality would have been excellent but a Saturday wedding went on until midnight and our room was above it. The buffet breakfast has a good choice of cooked and cold food.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonetDumfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    261
    175
    84
    57
See reviews for
168
283
64
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week while visiting our newly born grandchild. We had booked a balcony room but when we arrived we were unable to access it because one of us has some mobility problems and access to the room was by by very steep narrow stairs. No lift.
We were then given a second floor room with lift. The room was large with a single and double bed. It was very clean with a newly refurbished large bathroom. Room 467. The decor is very dull and old fashioned, but the main problem is the lack of light because of the two small windows.
The breakfast food is very good, and the Tuesday carvery. But some of the bar menus are not great at all. All of the staff are very nice and helpful, and this makes up up for the dated dull decor.
It's good value all in all.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dublin-oldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed only one night as my daughter was having an interview at the University(unfortunately I had chosen it for its proximity to the wrong campus.Rather out of the way,about 15 minutes from centre.
Like earlier reviews we had a very basic room in the garden annexe which looked a bit like a 70's motel(shades of Crossroads).Really poor shower with little water pressure and much mildew.Cobwebs in the lights.
Breakfast which boasts 90 items and I was at some difficulty in getting anywhere near that was very undistinguished with the" freshly brewed coffee"incedibly weak and in a large dispenser/urn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ernestoxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear ernestoxford,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post a review.

I am sorry to learn that you experienced issues with the standard of housekeeping, which as you can see from previous reviews is very much the exception and not the norm.

The hotel is located within five minutes walk of the town centre, and several of the Kingston University Campuses, however, as you state some are outside of the town. I am pleased that as a visitor to the University, you benefited from the preferential rates offered, which are inclusive of our Full English and Continental Buffet Breakfast. I appreciate you bringing to our attention the issue of the coffee being weak, which has now been rectified.

I hope very much that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future occasion, and that you will once again take advantage of our preferential rates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kingston upon Thames hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Suffolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed one night on visit ro area for family reasons. Booked a so called superior room. It was a "garden room" which for us meant going out of hotel and through the (very nice) garden. The room was not one which overlooked the garden, the view was parking and a road.
Room was ok, basic but clean. No trouser press, shoe cleaning, bath (had shower) and no reading lights by bed. It was ok but disappointing as superior.

Breakfast was very good indeed.

Soon after arriving (about13.40) went to bar but closed. Not open till 17.00 which is unusual for a hotel. Only drinks were from a vending machine. We went out! It is not in Kingston bur 10 mins. walk away. Actually closer to Surbiton station. Does have parking but we did not drive.

Might stay again but prefer Chase Lodge in Hampton

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with view of garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GentlemanTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We booked a couple of rooms at the Antoinette as we needed somewhere to stay near Twickenham with free parking. The rooms were quite basic for the cost and the place is set out in almost a holiday camp chalet style. The Antoinette was in no way the dearest place that we looked at in the area, but it is not cheap either in terms of what you get for the money. We didn't use the restaurant but the bar was fairly accommodating to us and the staff were willing to get us a late beer from the fridge in reception when we returned to the hotel (quite a bit later) that night. We got a taxi to / from the rugby and back as it its about 5/6 miles away from the ground, which worked out Ok and is perfectly do-able if you don't mind being a bit further out of the way. To be honest, we found it to be a bit too far out and for this reason will probably not be back unless the hotel nearer are full.

Having said that it was reasonably clean and comfortable and more than suitable for a short stopover, such as our visit, but probably not somewhere that I would want to stay the week or frequently.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderer2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a garden room which was huge and spotless, but the decor was very 1980's and a bit tired. We experienced a lot of noise from the room above ours, furniture being dragged across the room and I presume a child running around at 4am. One morning we were woken by maintenance men drilling into the step into the room, they were adding a ramp. We hadn't asked for one and I wonder why they needed to do this before 8am. The Reception staff were excellent, friendly, helpful and knowledgable. A taxi into Kingston centre or to Surbiton station was £6, but both were easy to walk to. The breakfast was all pre-cooked buffet, but it was nice and worth the price. Some of he waiting staff in the dining room were sulky, and mostly seemed to hide in the kitchen. There was no coffee or hot water for tea one morning. It is wedding season and there were two receptions the Saturday we were there. There was music noise from the parties, children running around in the gardens but this only lasted until around 10.30 so not a problem. The Free parking was very welcome and there were plenty of spaces available.

Room Tip: We stayed in a ground floor garden room and it was huge, you could hold a party with room for dancin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alison W, Guest Relations Manager at Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear Wendy S,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased to learn that you room was serviced to a high standard, and that you found the reception team professional, and the complimentary parking a great benefit.

I hope you can appreciate that disturbance from other guests is beyond the control of the hotel, but I would like to assure you that had this been brought to the attention of the night team, it would have been immediately rectified.

The hotel tries to ensure that at all times a high level of customer care is delivered, and as such I thank you for valued comments regarding the restaurant team, which have been discussed with the restaurant manager.

Once again thank you for your valued feedback, and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of assistance with a future reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I used to live near the Antoinette, and remembering their marketing from back then, I was epxecting more of a boutique hotel experience than I got. Our room was in the 'garden annexe' which is a little dingy. The interior is painted a very murky green, giving a slightly institutional feel. The room was perhaps a little cramped with basic, crackly bedding, but was very clean, and I suppose that for that money in that area it was ok value. Staff were pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMomiji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston upon Thames hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
0.8 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
0.8 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bosco
Hotel Bosco
#2 of 2 in Surbiton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames

Property: Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Address: Hotel Antoinette Beaufort Road, Kingston upon Thames KT1 2TQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kingston's largest independently owned hotel offers 100 guest rooms, with complimentary Full English Breakfast, on site parking and Wi-Fi access. Located 12 miles from London, in a quiet residential area, both Kingston and Surbiton train Stations are within walking distance, and frequent services run to Central London with a journey time of 15 minutes. All rooms have television, hospitality tray, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, and well appointed bathroom. Our Hampton Restaurant offers modern British cuisine, whilst lighter dishes are available from the bar, which is equipped with large screen televisions. The hotel offers Courtyard Rooms, which are suitable for families, are overlook our landscaped gardens. Excellent value Weekend Breaks are available, and the hotel is an ideal base for visiting many nearby attractions, such as Hampton Court Palace, Chessington World of Adventure, Kew Gardens, and the sporting venues of Sandown, Epsom and Twickenham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing