We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
High Peak Derbyshire
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We came to Kingston for the Easter weekend to visit our daughter who has married and moved down to Kingston, and this was the closest Hotel and had really good reviews.
The staff here are great. Really friendly and can't do enough for you. The hotel is probably one of the cleanest I've stayed in. The room was really nice, and at the back so there was no noise from the busy road outside.
We only ate breakfast at the hotel due to lots of days out, but we tried several things and everything was good. The food we saw when we returned in the evening looked good! It was nice to have a drink i the bar before going up to the room. My only problem was being too hot in the night. It wasn't hot weather, so it was a case of legs out of the duvet to cool down, back in when cold, out again when hot. I think the duvets were too thick for the season (felt like a 50 tog!), and there was no sheet to use instead, only a scratchy blanket in the wardrobe, which wasn't any good. We were planning on asking for a thinner duvet, but there was no one on reception when we finished breakfast, and the cleaner had already done most of the room when we went up after breakfast. As we were only staying 3 nights, we didn't bother to try and ask again. However, that was the only criticism, and wouldn't stop me giving the hotel full marks.
The location is terrific, just off the Thames, over the river from Kingston town centre, Hampton Court, parks and ample pubs! If I need a hotel in the area again, this is where I would come back to.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoonyPrune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear reviewer, when reading guests reviews it is not only the score that jumps out but it is lines such as "If I need a hotel in the area again, this is where I would come back to". I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed yur stay whilst visiting family and would return in the future. I am sorry to read that you were a little uncomfortable during the night, April can be a difficult month to judge as temperatures can either be toasty or frosty, however had you asked at the reception we would have been happy to change this for you, regardless of whether the room had already been serviced. Neverthtless thank you once again for your kind words.

Warm regards
Chris Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    263
    46
    14
    8
See reviews for
227
426
30
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
exeter
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Lovely, pretty and very comfortable but what makes this place soooo special is the people. So very friendly and welcoming, you feel they really care. The food was great......especially loved the wild mushroom soup.......to die for!
Perfect position for exploring the area yet quiet. Safe car park also.
We have stayed in many hotels but this one has it all. Dont hesitate.....book and enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yvonne p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Another land mark review. Of course we appreciate all the reviews we receive and are delighted to receive a 5 out of 5 from yourself, however what makes this one even more special is that it was our 100th excellent (5 out of 5) review. Thank you for providing us with this. Your praise towards the team is gratefully received, it is one of the main aspects to that "home from home" feeling.

Thank you again.
Chris Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We have just had a one night stay in the White Hart Hotel.
We usually opt for Hiltons...thought we'd give this hotel a go!
Reception check in excellent - quick, friendly & easy!
Room very clear & tidy. Family room quite compact. I did know this though as the children's bed was advertised as a sofa bed. Not really quite big enough for my tinsy 7 & 10 year old.
Breakfast was fresh & delicious!
Location is great - just by the bridge & a five/ten minute walk to the Rose Theatre!
We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as we felt we would explore the Thames restaurants and find a mid-week offer for the family.
Hotel looks lovely from the outside - literally a five minute walk to Hampton Wick train station. Was £25 for a family of four to travel to Waterloo including zones 1-6 travel card. About 30 mins train journey - great chance to sit down!
My only minor criticism would be to show the prices of the mini-bar in the hotel rooms...couldn't find a menu! Assumed the goods were not for free

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarathonMum12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Good location. Nice secure car park. Communal areas well maintained. Check in/check out quick & simple. Impressed with the fact that we had to use our key card to get the the area where the door to our room was. We were just off reception, so this was ideal for the security concious (given that the hotel is in the middle of town)
.Room well good with just a couple of niggles that stopped the room from being excellent. Bed very small. The room could easily manage a king size. Handle missing on drawer (room 102) & badly fitting black out curtains.
We ate in the restaurant, which is small & cosy. The food was excellent. The decaff coffee was not. Breakfast is expensive. I had prebooked breakfast, but if we stayed again I would go to one of the riverside cafe's a couple of hundred yards away where the breakfasts were cheaper and looked just as tasty.
Just a note to the lady on reception when we booked in (around 1830hrs on Friday 4/4). When we booked in we asked about the availability in the restaurant. The receptioist made enquiries & told us there shouldnt be a problem. As we were eating our meal she took the time out to come and find us to make sure we had been accomodated, which we thought was nice.
We took our dog with us & were charged £15. Not sure what that £15 covers. We have stayed in other hotels that profess to be pet friendly that charge less (or don't make any charge at all) and have provided snacks and/or blanket.
All in all though a thoroughly nice hotel, with lovely staff

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roversrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for providing a comprehensive review of your stay. All the aspects you have mentioned are ones that we can look into and therefore continue to improve. With regards to the bed you will be happy to hear that as we look into refurbishing these rooms we are planning to upgrade all of the beds from double to king size, the size of the rooms can easily handle this. I'm sorry to hear that the black out curtains were not performing as you would expect, this is certainly something we can rectify, along with the handle. I am sorry to hear that you felt our breakfasts were expensive when comparing to some of the local alternatives, however the other restaurants do not include an unlimited buffet, bottomless tea, coffee and unlimited toast. This is all included with and cooked breakfast purchase. I apologise if this was not explained to you clearly. I appreciate your recognition for our reception team who assisted you.

Kindest regards
Chris Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

nothink on meniu what I would like to try.my self I can do better meniu.the rest everything fine.i stay room was nice.But not realy exited.becouse im workig in food industry,and I know lots about food.so I will visit again but if meniu of restaurant same I wont stay.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear reviewer, thank you for your opinions regarding your recent stay with us, it is nice to see that you enjoyed the room and would return, however it is dissapointing to see that you found the menu uninspired. I am happy to report that our Spring menu has just gone live this week and we have an extensive offering for both lunch and dinner. This can be viewed on our website and I hope you will find something to your taste.

Kindest regards
Chris Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed in the Catherine Parr suite for one night on 1 April 2014. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome and found everything we needed for an enjoyable stay. The hotel is ideally situated for Kingston and Hampton Court Palace which was the reason for our visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxmeister33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
The Catherine Parr Suite is a lovely room and it is great to see that you thoroughly enojoyed it. and I am glad to see that you felt welcome in our hotel. Thank you for rewarding this stay with a high tripadvisor review.

Warmest regards
Chris Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

This was our second trip using this hotel. Both times our 4 cats have stayed also. The hotel is absolutely fine about this, our cats stayed OK in the room while we were in London for the day(s) and of course our cats behaved brilliantly. If you are responsible with you pets, the hotel is marvelous about them.
The hotel is not the newest perhaps but the staff are friendly, the rooms are clean, the towels are white and fluffy and dry you wonderfully. The rooms have air-conditioning and the beds are very comfortable. The food can be fine to really great. To recommend are the fish dishes, the veal shank, the pie and of the desserts the homemade plum cream brulee was gorgeous. Reasonable prices for drinks too.
London is by south west train (walk to station less than 5 mins from the hotel) to Waterloo or Vauxhall, a 30 min trip, and then all the tube trains are in reach around London. Car stays at the hotel free too.
For those who want to have reasonable rates within a reasonable distance to do things in London it is very good. If you want to drive there by car and have pets or kids with you it is absolutely brilliant.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwitzerlandChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WHHOTELMANAGER, General Manager at The White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer, thank you for taking the time to review your stay for both yourself and on behalf of your cats. It is great to hear that this is your second visit and I appreciate that you chose to return and stay with us. As you correctly state, providing the pets are well behaved we have no issue at all with allowing them in the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards
Chris Kerr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston upon Thames hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Warren House
Warren House
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.8 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: 1 High Street | Hampton Wick, Kingston upon Thames KT1 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Hart Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing