We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't find a thing to complain about”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The White Hart Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
TX
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Can't find a thing to complain about”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Clean. Modern plumbing. Plenty of hot water. Comfortable beds. Excellent service. Has an attached pub with food better-than-average. Rooms are small but what you'd expect in UK. Bus stops just outside. Staff very attentive and professional. On-site parking which is unheard of. Book with hotel directly rather then online services as they said there were no rooms but rooms were available. So happy we've found a great place to stay near our daughter. We re-booked for September. Ignore the review here about not letting the dog into the pub. Did they want it to have table service? Dogs are welcome in the adjacent common room and they'll serve you there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freshisbest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    300
    53
    18
    10
See reviews for
259
488
34
133
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

2 night stay for business during May. Room was well furnished and comfortable. Heating / air conditioning worked quietly and effectively. Bathroom was clean. Nicely stocked tea tray and bottled water on first night (unfortunately not replaced for second night of the stay).

Ordered room service for evening meal, quality was excellent and priced reasonably. Breakfast was very good indeed.

Service was friendly and efficient, and the hotel well situated for the centre of Kingston. I can imagine rooms at the front of the hotel may suffer from traffic noise, but my room at the rear of the building was very quiet indeed.

Next time I need to stay in Kingston, this will be at the top of my list.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room at the rear of the hotel tyo avoid very busy road at front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scotborderstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Receptionist's style was somewhat brusque and I wasn't hoping for too much. We stayed here for one night for a Bat Mizvah party. Having negotiated the heavy traffic from Wimbledon to Kingston early afternoon we were pleased with our room. One major downside for us was the very small double bed - a 4' 6" wide. We have a 6' foot at home and having tossed and turned for some 3 hours, I eventually decided to turn myself round and slept with me head at the foot of the bed and my feet under the pillow. This worked!

The staff at breakfast were extremely friendly. We were late down and all the tables taken. We didn't wait too long for a table and were happy to wait for breakfast - heck someone else was cooking it after all - and it was worth the wait.

Location for getting into the centre of Kingston is excellent. 5-6 mins across the Bridge which proved to be perfect for our evening party which was held on one of the river boars.

Turn left out of the hotel and you are in an interesting "neighbourhood". If you're in to (push) bikes - and you have a substantial budget (£3000) this will be heaven on a plate.

Late Lunch on Saturday at the Foresters pub around the corner was good - friendly service, well presented pub grub.

And ... although I'd been to Kingston several times on business (traffic is always dreadful), the shopping centre is well worth a visit - better than London's West End - with everything you need within easy walking distance (from TK Max to John Lewis; Heals, usual fashion stores, Apple about to hope ... and some great independent cafes.

A thumbs up to Kingston and to the White Hart.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DangerousLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teddington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Stopped for a quick bite to eat and were impressed from beginning to end, very friendly staff, and the food was amazing, boyfriend had a burger which was delicious, you can't beat homemade burgers and it came with great hand cut chips and homemade mayonaise, i had a chicken burger which was great, will definately go back. So refreshing to find a place to eat that has got it right, Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night after a wedding nearby. Staff were friendly and efficient even at that late hour and were happy for us to linger in the lounge until quite late. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable and a great shower in the bathroom. Much needed complimentary toiletries were a great help. Checkout was fast and no fuss.

Room Tip: Our whole party thought the rooms were great so hard to say which were better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Positives:
Great location
Good standard pub hotel

BUT: the hotel information says they welcome dogs. And they do, but not in the bar. This effectively means you cannot eat here if you have a dog with you. They did say we could eat at one of the tables in the very small reception / lounge. However, this would mean eating dinner next to the constantly opening & closing automatic doors to the car park and with people standing next to you while checking in. Not an acceptable solution.

So, definitely not recommended if you're travelling with a dog. Ive got no problem with the policy - but it should be clear in their booking conditions up front. At least then you could choose to stay somewhere else if you're travelling with a pet.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryBanham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Pennines
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I really can't fault the White Hart. I stayed there on Friday night for a business trip. It's just over Kingston bridge (4 minute walk from Kingston Market Square i.e. Kingston town centre). My room was extremely clean and comfortable - I got a little cold in the evening but the air conditioning/heating unit was easy to use. Breakfast was fine - not a great choice for vegans but then few places cater for vegans - but I had dry toast & juice which was enough to send me on my way and all I usually have in any hotel so I shan't mark them down for it! The bed was extremely soft which was not to my back's liking, but again I can't mark them down for it as the mattress was clean and new and the bed linen all well laundered. Hotel tea tray was comprehensive and toiletries provided. Yes, great location, fabulous room, really helpful and welcoming staff and I felt safe and well looked after (always important for a solo female traveller). They even have an ice machine on the first floor! Will stay again should work take me back to Kingston.

Room Tip: Room 205 is lovely (the one I stayed in). The view is of the car park but not unpleasant. A street-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston upon Thames
0.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
197 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
1.9 mi away
Warren House
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
855 reviews
1.5 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
621 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lion Gate Mews​
The Lion Gate Mews​
#1 of 1 in East Molesey
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Hart Hotel

Property: The White Hart Hotel
Address: 1 High Street | Hampton Wick, Kingston upon Thames KT1 4DA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The White Hart Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing