We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Indian meal”

Saqui Tandoori Restaurant
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 12, 2016

Nice restaurant with excellent service and good Indian food. We enjoyed between 5 of us 5 different dishes and shared with white rice and Indian bread. A very nice restaurant with good food.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 47 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2016

My friend and I have dined here several times before but have never really been made to feel welcome, but the food is decent, its local and the service adequate.

Last night, though, it seemed to become far more personal.

To start with, the wrong wine was brought out. Not a massive issue in the grand scheme of things, but it was an indication of things to come when an angry, surly manager came over and angrily said, "Is this the right wine?" before filling our glasses and forgetting to apologise for the shortcomings of his staff.

It then took an inordinate amount of time to order. Then, when our main course came out, dishes were missing and took around 10 minutes to sort. Again, zero apology.

Finally, we wanted to get out of the place - it was a thoroughly miserable experience. After a lengthy delay, the manager brought the bill. He didn't seem to take kindly to me calmly going through the things that went wrong and had the temerity to say he did say sorry.

A shame that a local restaurant treats its local customers so badly. Simply holding your hands up to mistakes and a decent level of service goes a long way. We'll go a long way to avoiding Saqui in future.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank benc99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Visited with family. Very friendly staff, but this is not really authentic Indian food. The restaurant is also quite stuffy on a warm day

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Travelregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

Always visit this restaurant when I am in the area. The food is very good and I am always made to feel welcome. Chicken Jahlfrezi spot on!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Got a takeaway from here very late on a Friday night a couple of months ago, and it was the best takeaway we've ever had!
It was cooked quickly and we were made comfortable on the sofas while waiting.
The food was absolutely phenomenal, the main dishes were huge (perfect as we were very hungry) and the side dishes were perfect for all of us to share.
Will definitely be using this as our local from now on, especially as we live so close!

Date of visit: January 2016
Thank chloelbrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saqui Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Saqui Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing