We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small cafe that serves superb food.”
Review of Giuliano

Giuliano
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
668 reviews
550 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 456 helpful votes
“Small cafe that serves superb food.”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The best Italian Restaurant in Kingston! Located in one of the small lanes nearby Kingston Market, the shop is a small one with really limited tables. The choices are rather limited, but good enough. Portion is superbly huge.... If you're not a big eater you should consider sharing! It is rather authentic too - try their squid ink seafood pasta!! Price is very reasonable too... We spent about 10 pounds per person and we got ourselves decent Italian food! However, the shop is really really small, so to avoid the queues, do drop by earlier. It is so small I'm not sure if they even take reservations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    12
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very surprised”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Tucked away I would not have popped in if my cousin had not recommended it.
Small Italian cafe. Its not first date kinda place and the look can put some people off as its simple, baisc and no frills but the food is fantastic.
Now, let me share my pet hate about italian food outlets - pasta, pizza must be very cheap to purchase and put a little bit of sauce on it with either meat or veg and you have good bowl of food to sell at anywhere between £9 and £12. For what?! Carbs and a couple of prawns or some chirizo slices? A rip off if you ask me.
But Im so glad to know that there are places like Giuliano's that deliver tasty, great food at good prices. I only ordered take aways but for 3 main portions it was £18.
If you live in Kingston or popping in for a shopping trip I would advise you stop in on your way home pick up a couple of pasta dishes and you have a good meal when you get home.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good pasta overpriced meal”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Food was authentically italian and good quality. The portions were generous.
The final bill was a bit of a shock however as we would have expected to have paid at least 25% less.
Dessert was disappointing and came from a packet.
The service was friendly and children were welcomed.
The cafe seemed very clean but the decor and atmosphere don't reflect the expensive cost of the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fllondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Authentic and Cool”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

You're in the town centre, just popped in to Reiss for that "must have" dress and need a quick but satisfying re-fuel and chat with your bestie about your next move?
Saturday lunchtime and Kingston's cafes and restaurants are heaving; there are many options to consider, well, please move Giuliano's to the top of your list.
Without the pretence of being Italian, Giuliano IS Italian; a decidedly brasserie feeling without the brasserie this delicafe is cool and sophisitcated in it simplicity; unobtrusive music playing in the background.
No need for a menu; our pasta is on display freshly cooked, your specials are on the board and cooked from scratch.
Pleasant helpful girls attend to you and your food arrives smelling and tasting as good as it looks. You tuck in and feel grateful that you didn't go anywhere else.
Giuliano emerges from the kitchen with a bowl of freshly cooked mussels that he sticks under your nose and hand picks a few and puts on your plate because you looked like you would pass out from the aroma!!
This is how you would want lunch at "yours" to be like, only it's better because you didn't have to prepare a repertoire that ranges from freshly cooked mussels to tortelli con spinace e ricotta to freshly cooked sardines
The rest of Kingston is heaving and you are relaxing in a small corner of Italy that you should only tell your best friends about.
You leave the oasis feeling refreshed and relaxed... shoe shops ahoy!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LostInTranslation79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic authentic Italian food”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I are strangers to Kingston and by chance came across this restaurant when looking for somewhere to have lunch. We are so glad we dined here. We ordered the crab and lobster ravioli which came in a delicious chilli sauce and ate this with a portion of garlic bread. The meal was devine!

The premises are relatively small and obviously a popular haunt as it was very busy whilst we were there. Although a little on the pricey side, if you are looking for authentic Italian cuisine, then I would recommend a visit to this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank rollobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Giuliano also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Giuliano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing