We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Divine afternoon tea!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Today was the 2nd time I've visited Kingston lodge for afternoon tea with a voucher purchased from buyagift.com and it's the most reasonable, generous afternoon tea for miles. If you're local to the area and want to spend some quality time with your best mate, mum, hubby...whoever it's great value for money. The sarnies were delicious as were the scones, cakes and service.
Hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank XsusieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you so much for your review , hope to see you again soon
Best Regards
Mairead and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (640)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

498 - 504 of 640 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2012

very comfortable hotel with very friendly staff. Good breakfast with sensible eating times (up to 10.00am). Well located within easy reach of central London and near M25. Reasonably priced for the area and good value for money. Drinks maybe a bit on the expensive side especially the wine.
Evening meal has a good menu and similar food available for bar snacks

Room Tip: rooms away from the main road are recommended as it is next to a very busy main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your very kind review
Mairead and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've been staying here regularly for 12 years and it's had it's ups and downs due to lack of investment and, sometimes poor management/staff but since Mairead (manager) took over things have improved enormously. I stay about once a month and every time I notice more improvements. The catering is now first class and can compete with any of the better restaurants in the area. The rooms are being updated constantly and now feature wifi. The staff are really friendly and polite and Mairead is the perfect hotess.
My favourite rooms are the ones with a balcony overlooking the inner quadrangle, and a rare treat in today's hotels, double doors that actually open fully rather than have restrictors limiting opening.
Great for sitting outside with a drink.
In case this review sounds like it's from the management, I have only one small niggle. The bar is often unattended for long periods and I often have to go searching for the bar staff.
Well done Mairead for turning the hotel around from it's one time sorry state.

Room Tip: Pick a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

Thank you so much for your fantastic review.
Mairead and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

me &my wife have just spent the weekend 25/08/12 at this hotel and must say we had a very enjoyable stay .the hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful ,,,as we had a long day wondering around hampton court palace, we dicided to eat in the restaurant of wich i would very well reccomend.. the waitress was helpful with our choice of wine, and the meal was as good you would get in a 4/5 star establishment ,,,good value for money ..all in all a very nice place to stay if you are planning a weekend away ,,,,

Room Tip: as we stayed in room 215 the view was a bit restricted but the balcony was a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MRGRIMSDALE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2012

Thank you so much for your fantastic review.
I do hope you will return to Kingston Lodge in the not too distant future.
Best Regards.
Mairead and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

the afternoon tea was fantastic- lovely sandwiches (4 and a half each), scones and cakes but there were several little details that spoilt the afternoon.
The amount of cream for the scones was a bit mean and there was only one 'choice' of jam, whereas Ive often had a choice of 2 or 3 in other places.
We sat in the courtyard which, although pretty, was full of weeds and needed some serious TLC. The table was dirty as it had been raining that morning, but the waiter brouht us our tea/coffee and didn't wipe it-we had to ask him. There was no decaf tea, although he offerred us fruit or green.
As we left there was a wake arriviobg, which was a little awkward as noone mentioned it and we walked into the room that was set out for the after funeral drinks etc. It might have been good to have been warned and shown a different way to exit.
Over all a lovely afternoon, but these little details could have made the experience that little bit more special.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Milesandmilesaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2012

Thank you for visiting Brook Kingston Lodge and taking the time to review your afternoon tea experience with us . I am pleased that, in your words, you found our Afternoon Tea “ lovely” and you had a fantastic afternoon!.You are extremely complimentary about the sandwiches and cakes and yet you rate the afternoon very harshly as only 2 out of 5 .I am disappointed with your rating considering the strong positives of your afternoon with us .We would always have provided more jams and cream if you had requested them at the time . I will make sure that our decaffeinated tea is replenished but of course my staff were able to offer you a wide range of alternatives on the afternoon . I must also add that at the time of booking we are always happy for Chef to accommodate any special dietary requests. You are right ,The Courtyard is extremely attractive and all of us at the Hotel take great pride in its maintenance but despite weeding and pruning twice a week at the moment the unpredictable and very wet summer weather this year has allowed many plants to grow unexpectedly quickly ! .I am sorry that you felt embarrassed and awkward by the Funeral Function that was taking part that day in our restaurant area. But all our exits from the courtyard back in to the Hotel are quite clearly signposted to avoid entry back through the restaurant . However I will make sure my staff are aware of this sensitive issue and show new guests the alternative routes back to our reception area.

Best Regsrds
Mairead and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

Bed linen consisted of a dirty pillowcase, duvet cover used as a sheet that was not fully covering the mattress.

Old and tatty furnishings throughout. Very very basic service.

Staff with a real negative attitude about the hotel with one calling it a "complete dump".... say no more :(

For £172/night I would have expected so much more. Will never stay here ever again I'm afraid.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Thank you for your review and I am so sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

Your feedback is quite startling .I never receive negative comments about my staff and I find it quite difficult to take on board your comments. As you can see ,other contributors on Trip Advisor have nothing but praise and compliments for the efforts and attitudes of my staff. If however you would like to contact me personally regarding the particulars of your stay I would of course be more than happy to talk to you .

Best Regards
Mairead Flynn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a business meeting over two days with an overnight stay for Spice UK. We have used a number of the Brook Hotels in the past and always receive a warm welcome. This was our first visit to Kingston Lodge and.the Manager and staff are really very good and helpful. We had lunches, afternoon tea and evening meals and the food was of a very high standard. Rooms clean, comfortable and the dining room has great views of a lovely garden. We would definitely use again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spicelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChesterManager, General Manager at Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2012

Many thanks for your very kind review
We look forward to welcoming you back
Best Regards
Mairead and Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston upon Thames hotels
1.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Warren House
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
829 reviews
1.5 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
889 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
769 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel

Address: 94 Kingston Hill, Kingston upon Thames KT2 7NP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kingston upon Thames
#4 Business Hotel in Kingston upon Thames
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range: $94 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brook Kingston Lodge, an Exclusive Hotel & Wedding Venue Alongside Royal Richmond Park, the 18th century Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel features 66 ensuite bedrooms, a beautiful private indoor courtyard, the Atrium Brasserie and two conference rooms for up to 60 delegates. Dating from 1726, the bespoke rooms at the Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel have free WiFi, comfy beds, quality linens and 24 hour room service. The Atrium Brasserie serves a contemporary British menu using seasonal produce. The Brasserie offers light lunches, dinner and afternoon teas, whilst the stylish Surrey Comet Bar serves popular beers and bespoke wines, alongside our modern bar menu. The Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel is just 6 miles from Central London, a 15-minute drive from Twickenham Stadium, 3 miles from Hampton Court, just 4 miles from Wimbledon and the fun filled West End is a 20-minute drive away. There is free on-site parking and great transport links. The Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel is only 20 minutes from London Waterloo and a ten minute walk from Norbiton Station. It's an ideal base for the M25, M3, M4 and Heathrow Airport is just 7 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brook Kingston Hotel Kingston Upon Thames
Kingston Hotel Upon Thames
Kingston Lodge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing