We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favourite restaurant in Kingston!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cappadocia

Cappadocia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We started out in Kingston in 2001 and opened our Walton restaurant in June 2014. Our owner, executive chef, and many of our staff are Turkish and they have proudly drawn on their heritage to create a little corner of Turkey in the UK. Our food is cooked by chefs who were brought up with traditional Turkish cooking and who have been trained to the highest standards in Istanbul. We want you to enjoy the true taste of Turkey so the interiors of both restaurants are designed with Turkish decor. And all food is served in authentic Turkish cooking utensils such as clay pots. THE ORIGINS OF OUR NAME According to ancient history, Cappadocia was the birthplace of St George. It means "the land of beautiful horses and was an extensive inland district of Asia Minor, which is now modern Turkey. The first settlers built their homes into stone cliffs and burrowed their cities underground. Today tourists are drawn to Cappadocia by its unusual scenery, and of course to stay in a cave hotel.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant in Kingston!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have eaten at Cappadocia 3 times in the past two months with family and friends .On each occasion the food was fantastic. As part of a larger group, we decided to eat there on a Monday night in early December. A great decision for us! There was a special £25, three course menu for two people...£12.50 each!! There was a cold meze to share, followed by a delicious mixed grill selection and finally a selection of Turkish desserts. The delicious Turkish bread is complimentary. I would not have normally chosen a meat heavy main course but the quality, variety and taste of the food could not be faulted and I would choose this again without a doubt! 7 of us had a really good meal at a brilliant price and we all agreed to meet again at Cappadocia in the New Year! Kingston, like most other places nowadays, has too many of the usual chain restaurants serving the usual pizza/burger fare. It's great to have a really good Turkish restaurant serving fantastic food within walking distance! Cappadocia, now expanded, also has lunchtime specials from a fixed menu which is good too if you want a quick and tasty lunch. Thursday evenings are very entertaining if you want to take friends or visitors for a night out with Turkish music and the bellydancer!! Yes, we have done that a number of times and they even managed to get my mother up dancing with her walking stick!! Generally, portions are large, most starters,some of the main courses and the desserts, so sharing is a good option if you really don't want to leave feeling you've eaten too much. We have always found the staff to be very welcoming at Cappadocia and cannot fault the service. Cappadocia has been a very welcome addition to Kingston, providing excellent, good value authentic Turkish cooking in a town where there are very few independents! Give it a try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trgarrity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    181
    48
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Could be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Just been in this restaurant and sadly disappointed. Food was ok but value for money not good at all. Also felt we were rushed to eat out meal, my drink and 1 of the plates were taken away before I could finish it and the staff didn't ask once ask if we were happy with everything or say thank you. Would rather have gone to the kebab shop much cheaper and you can eat without being rushed!!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley8382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I Love this Restaurant - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Cappadocia restaurant is a refreshing change from the limited selection on Kingston high street. The food is always fresh and full of flavour. You can get food of all types and sizes. You can get platters, entrees, or bite size treats. It is fairly priced, the atmosphere is fun, unique, and the staff is always attentive and friendly. It is definitely worth stopping in when you are in the area or booking the restaurant for any special events.
I love this restaurant - I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a unique experience with delicious and exotic food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zaralenzi1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great restaurant with a great vibe..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Once again Cappadocia proved to be the perfect venue for our family outing. The friendly atmosphere and amazing food combine to make it one of the best Turkish experiences in the South. The food is mouth wateringly good and the portions are more than ample. Overall a great restaurant with a great vibe, I recommed it to anyone looking for quality food, value for money and something special.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank linda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food, friendly service. Huge portions not huge bill!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Still my favourite restaurant. So professional and food consistent. Manager and/or owner always present to oversee standards. This is the only restaurant where the food is so obviously fresh and all cooked to order. Meat of a very high standard and the platters of food come with so many sides of vegetables and salad, you never need any side dishes. This makes it great value. Coffee best in Surrey. Thursday to Saturday Evenings usually need to book is my hot tip. The restaurant is rapidly building in popularity but busy seems to add to the atmosphere. Love it. I eat there once a week.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cp28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cappadocia also viewed

Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to Cappadocia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing