We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back!”
Review of El Peyote - CLOSED

El Peyote
Price range: $1 - $129
Cuisines: Japanese, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Dolsot Korean Restaurant is happy to be the first Korean Restaurant to open in Kingston. We are mainly based in Myungga Korean Restaurant in Kingly Street, Central London and have been running a Korean Restaurant over 25 years. Hope our experience over the years can satisfy everyone in Kingston Upon Thames.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“I'll be back!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

They have recently changed owners and that was reflected in the food. Last time I went the food was ok but this time excellent!
We had the calamari starter and Chicken Burrito and the food was very good and well presented. You won't leave hungry :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hlg33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    13
    4
    1
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food and service - Seemingly unfair reviews”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Glad we didn't read reviews before going as we probably wouldn't have risked it. We were the only ones in the restaurant when we arrived but by the time we had left, business had picked up. Food was good with a few people trying the surf and turf fajitas and one the chicken burrito. Sangria and guacamole were delicious and waitress was pleasant. Perhaps slightly over priced, however portions were large. Well worth it, particularly with the taste card!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Change of ownership... going downhill fast”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Since the change in ownership, service and atmosphere has plummeted. Poor quality drinks, even the whisky is terrible. A real shame as El Peyote was a great lively addition to the street,

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank addictedza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worst mexican restaurant ever”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

the list is endless on the negatives. the food, the prices, the service, cleaniless, the attitude. the food is just poor quality, cheap ingredients and not the right spices to make it taste better, with the prices being charged they should maybe give the customer the quality that is deserved. we ordered cokes and it was served from a bottle and was flat, what a joke. we had poor services throughout the night and the bald guy (i think was the owner) was rude and a snob when we complained about the food. we couldnt wait to leave to be honest. the only thing good was the decor, thats the thing that attracted us, but if they dont improve on the food, quality and the service then i cant see this place continuing.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank david g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Mexican or Mexicant ?”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

On arrival our group of 4 was greeted by a gent who ushered us in through the front door, we mentioned we'd booked a table earlier in the week but that seemed to just be ignored. Our waitress was hilarious !! Not a single English word was understood by her all evening! we had to point at the menu and even then it was a struggle. The menu itself is set out strange, there's no real direction as to what your ordering, is it a starter ? a main ? who knows ? not even them ! My fiancée ordered a simple Diet Coke, this took a little time to explain but eventually the waitress got it, i asked for a cider (as per the menu) but no they didn't serve it! So i was left with no other option but to go all out for the Tropical Non-Alcoholic cocktail. the drinks turned up, my fiancées diet coke was just a normal coke which was in fact flat and my tropical cocktail was small and not very tropical. The ordering of the food was a nightmare, once it turned up it was OK, but very bland, no spices, no sauces, the salads were all old looking and nothing special about them. The food itself turned out to be nice but expensive for what we'd ordered. Also the 'kind gent' who showed us to the table at the start of the evening was pretty rude, he barged but my on 2 occasions and each time he served the table behind us he leant on my finance's seat, which angered her ever so slightly. All in all a very average night, great company but disappointing food. My suggestion is to do what they done, crack open the Old El Paso and just add some more spices. Also they didnt even serve Nachos as a starter with dips !!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank danwot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Peyote also viewed

Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
 
Surbiton, Kingston upon Thames
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing