We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of The Canbury Arms

The Canbury Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a Gastropub serving great homemade food, outstanding wines and superb real ales, service is second to none. Our style is relaxed but professional, we are independent and proud, committed to our community and embracing of all our cutomers.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

Went in to this restaurant early on Saturday to reserve a specific table for 9pm that evening. All OK. When we arrived we waited until 9.15 having a drink at the bar . When we enquired when our table would be ready we were told that the people who were occupying it had been there since 6pm and weren't ready to leave. We questioned this with the manager (Kamal?) who said he didn't feel he could ask them to move. He eventually did after we insisted that he do his job properly. After we werre eated he came over and said 'happy now?' Needless to say we were not impressed. Our meals were mixed - the pork belly and the chickpeas burger were good but it was spot the chicken in the Caesar salad and hunt the halloumi in the
grilled halloumi and mixed leaves. We will not be going back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KayfromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Sorry that you will not be returning. It is surprising that you had an issue with our duty manager and we will look into the incident, how frustrating for you. Regarding the Caesar salad and halloumi salad I will pass on your comments to the kitchen as there have been no complaints of this nature before, the items have been popular dishes on the menu for around 6 months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    91
    50
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch - some highs, some lows.”
Reviewed August 19, 2014

Popped in for a spot of early Sunday lunch with young son and sister-in-law:

Arrived early so LOTS of empty tables - hooray!

Was offered a choice from only two tables, as the rest were reserved - boo!

While we looked at the menus a bottle of chilled (presumably tap) water was put on the table - hooray!

One of the accompanying glasses was so dirty it could've passed for a starter - boo!

Didn't fancy anything from the menu, but when I asked if they were doing roasts lunches, was told they had a choice of beef, chicken, lamb or pork - hooray!

We ordered our food, and as we were waiting for it to arrive, a couple at the next table were read a list of the other specials that were available. We weren't told about these, and I really liked the sound of one of them - boo!

Our roast lunches were really, really delicious - BIG HOORAY!

But bloody expensive, considering the small portions - BOOO!


So, a mixed bag - lovely staff, great food and this place could be a firm favourite, but the lasting impression is one of mild annoyance - it's always lovely to see a pub/restaurant operating at the top of their game, but this place lets itself down with moments of sloppiness.

IMO.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Ambushed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thanks for your review. You seemed to have had a mixed experience and for that I must apologise. All our staff are instructed to read out the specials to every table so why you were not aware of the specials is irritating and I can sympathise with your comments. The roasts are written on the reverse of the menu but again your attention should have been drawn to this, dirty glasses are just wrong! I hope you feel like returning again and if so I hope you have a 'big hooray' experience from start to finish!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“A SOUTH LONDON BOOZER WITH AVERAGE GRUB”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I searched on Trip Advisor for somewhere in Kingston for Sunday Lunch and the Canbury Arms came well recommended. Booking with OpenTable was easy and we were all ready to go when Sunday arrived.

I was a perfectly ordinary corner of the street South London boozer and had had a makeover a while ago. We sat in the "conservatory" by the open door and within reach of a wall fan - this made the glorious weather streaming in very acceptable and not too hot for dining.

The menu was good but we favoured two Sunday lunches and one smoked salmon Salad Nicoise. Service was quite slow for an almost empty pub, but hey food preparation can take time, so no worries. They did have draught real ale and that was served at a good temperature and was very good.

The food arrived and I must admit being a little underwhelmed. The Sunday Roast Beef (@£16) was two slices of meat on a pile of vegetables with some roasters and a Yorkshire pud. The Salad Nicoise was heavy on spuds and olives.

The beef was nothing special and I double came from a fresh joint of meat as the pub was almost empty - the rest was average. The roast pork was similar - you had the feeling it wasn't freshly carved - but I could be wrong. The Salad Nicoise was OK but a bit light an salad and heavy on spuds.

Service was good, drinks were fine but to my palate food was average.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BoogieBopBruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are local residents of this wonderful borough as well as business owners we feel grateful to have built our business and reputation here with many loyal regulars, returning weekly for Sunday lunches. As you say we are a 'boozer', or a pub known for serving good food, all of it is freshly prepared on site, offering something for everyone's budget whether it's Sunday lunch, our famous rib eye steak or a simple Scotch egg. We hope to see you here another time. CS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our local pub!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

It's hard not to rave about this place, I've been coming here for 4 years now and was hooked from the first time with their amazing menu. Always fresh and seasonal stuff on offer. The courgette flowers remain my favorite, when in season. Staff is really friendly and quick to please. Overall it's everything that a pub should be...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunjayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks so much for your review and for being such a loyal customer over the last four years. We try to keep the menu fresh and interesting, the weekly changing set menu seems to be a great hit with everyone and can reflect the seasonal produce really well. We will keep up the good work, your kind words are a real bonus for the team, we hope to see you again soon. CS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great for a group catch up”
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice venue, good food - perfect for a group catch up in the Kingston area. We booked a table for 10 - some ate, some had drinks - it was very casual which suited us well.

Helpful?
Thank Kzroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We're so pleased you had an enjoyable visit to the Canbury. Please come back soon! CS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canbury Arms also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The Canbury Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing