We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice evening, good food”
Review of The Canbury Arms

The Canbury Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a Gastropub serving great homemade food, outstanding wines and superb real ales, service is second to none. Our style is relaxed but professional, we are independent and proud, committed to our community and embracing of all our cutomers.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Very nice evening, good food”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

We went to Canbury Arms for the first time in years, and had a very nice experience . We had reserved a table outside in the very pleasant small courtyard off the dining area (it was good to see that the staff immediately asked diners who came outside to the patio to smoke not to do so and to use the bar patio at the front). We had heard mixed reports about the food over recent years, but the new chef has clearly done a great job there. The starter/ small plates menu was lovely, and we had a couple of salads and small plates to start with, all of which were excellent. The main course menu was more 'publike' (after all, it is a pub) but ours were all well-cooked and well-presented. Wines by the glass were very good, the service was excellent. We wouldn't hesitate to come back, thank you.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HalfwayCottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Many thanks for your review, it's always useful to hear feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your meal, we have a super team in the kitchen at the moment, they are all passionate about great tasting, fresh food. Our head chef will be cooking live at the Kingston Food Festival in about a month so you'll be able to see him in action! We are as you say a pub but believe we go above and beyond many other pubs in terms of food and service quality. We take pleasure in keeping our menu full of what customers want, listening to feedback helps, so many thanks for contributing to the melting pot! Hope to see you soon. CS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    91
    50
    17
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

My family of 7 chose to eat here as we are local and we were not disappointed. Whilst some choose from the main menu my mum and I chose from the small plates menu, kind of a tapas but English styliee. 3 plates is enough and was lovely to sample different tastes - we will be returning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickiFFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thanks for your review. We're happy that you found everything to your liking and enjoyed sampling the different dishes, the tapas English stylee is designed for customers to do a bit of mixing and matching just as you did. We look forward to your return visit. CS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic party venue”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Canbury is our local, so we know they do excellent food.
This time we decided to book my husband's 60th birthday party in their 'Garden Room' (about 30 guests at two large tables).
The service could not have been more helpful and supportive, with everyone offering assistance well beyond the call of duty: Lilly helped me with the decorations, Victor offered and fitted the Canbury table cloth and later came to our resue with a microphone (for the speeches). Kamal cut up and served the birthday cake I had brought as well as the pre-ordered food and was attentive and thoughtful througout.
As a result the atmosphere was relaxed, friendly and joyous - and a splendid time was had by all.
Thanks you, Canbury team!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anne r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Canbury for your celebration. We take no greater pleasure than making sure every guest enjoys their visit, especially when it is such an important celebration. I have passed on all your praise to the team, they are a fantastic asset and we are grateful that you had such a wonderful experience and made time to let a wider audience know about it! See you again soon. CS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fantastic Sunday Roast!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Our Daughter who lives in Kingston kindly offered to take us out for Sunday Lunch, our choice of venue. After A lot of searching online I simply googled "Best Sunday Lunch in Kingston." Top of the list was the Canbury Arms! We all went along and I have to say I agree with Google! Good quality food and impeccable service from efficient friendly staff. Highly recommended and we will be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pieBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thanks for your review, we try to be the best and happy to see Google search agrees! We also do a pretty good lunch monday to saturday too, not to mention dinner. It's really rewarding to hear that you had a great experience at The Canbury, please pay us another visit soon. CS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
546 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Friendly cosy gastro pub”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

Friendly and cosy with good interesting gastro pub food. Not a restaurant. Not a pub. Not bad either!

Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Lovely. Not a bad review. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canbury Arms also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The Canbury Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing