We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasurable”
Review of The Canbury Arms

The Canbury Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Description: We are a Gastropub serving great homemade food, outstanding wines and superb real ales, service is second to none. Our style is relaxed but professional, we are independent and proud, committed to our community and embracing of all our cutomers.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The BNO club met up at the Canbury Arms for a drink and bite to eat. The beers on offer are very good... I had the Hog's Back T.E.A which is always brilliant and my friends opted for the Naked Ladies (!) – also a very fine pint they assured me. Bill, a francophile, had a French Merlot which he said was excellent. Not all pubs do drinkable house wines... so this was a pleasant surprise. On to the food... very pleasurable too. My braised lamb shoulder – cut into slices atop a pile of spring greens with sautéd new potatoes and what I think was a red wine jus was almost perfect but a little over-cooked. My friends had the beefburger (medium as requested and NOT cremated), veggie burger and fish and chips. All sound. This is not gourmet fayre but good pub grub and served efficiently and very politely by lovely staff. £23 a head for one main course including drinks and a tip. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chingachgook2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
There are newer reviews for The Canbury Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

204 - 208 of 299 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

This is great example of a fabulous local gastropub. I had the Braised Lamb Shoulder, Spring Greens, Sauté New Potatoes and Jus and my dinner partner had the butternut squash risotto from the specials. Both excellent. My lamb was piled with lamb and could have done with more greens, which is not the worse criticism in the world. We shared a bottle of the delicious NZ Taringi Savvy Blanc. Prices are not cheap, but quality is good and as good as any 'proper' restaurant. They had 2-3 course menus, which offered great value, but we didn't go for that. The ambience is lovely. Buzzy, without being noisy and able to hear each other. Service was excellent. And I always give big thumbs up for the bottle of tap water without being asked.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pandameister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Great review! Thanks, we're so pleased you have submitted your feedback it is really helpful for us. We try to keep our prices competitive and our pricing structure is down to the quality of ingredients and products that we offer. I hope that you return again soon and enjoy another good experience at the Canbury.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Have really enjoyed a few meals in here now, including an excellent Sunday Roast. The beers on tap are rotated so there is always something new to try drinks-wise.

This is by no means our local, but we do make the effort to come here as the food is very good!

1  Thank Surbytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for such a great review. We are really delighted to hear that you have made a few special journeys to enjoy our hospitality and have always had good experiences. The standards we set ourselves are very high so it's great news to hear you've had no complaints so far!! Hope there'll be a new beer to try next visit, we got some good ones coming up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I met up with friends for New Year's Eve and was very pleasantly surprised. Despite the event, we were not restricted to the "special" menu, but the full menu was on offer.The staff were very helpful and attentive and agreed to let us order course-by-course so that we were not sitting twiddling our thumbs until midnight. And the food? Very good! We had one issue: a dish served cold, but it was removed ansd replaced, very hot!, very quickly! Between us wemixed between the regular and special menu and none of us had a complaint from starters to main courses to dessert.
The pub has a very comprehensive, and good value. We all had a throughly enjoyable evening and we would be very happy to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CesmeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thanks for your review, it was lovely to hear your feedback. We always seek to satisfy all our customers needs and on new Year's Eve we were determined not to 'cash in'. We wanted all our customers to be able to enjoy the night without having to pay hiked up prices for what essentially is a night when everyone should enjoy the atmosphere and food, the same as any other day! Sorry about the cold dish, I'm just glad to hear it was quickly replaced by a hot one! We hope to see you again very soon and many thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We went for a work do Xmas meal and so often the food can be disappointing for a group, but not here. Up to the excellent standard of individual dining.
The service was also prompt and attentive. A modern but still warm and cosy atmosphere

Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we value every customer's views. Your comments are useful and we hope you return to the Canbury Arms soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canbury Arms also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The Canbury Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing