We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Drink”
Review of The Canbury Arms

The Canbury Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We are a Gastropub serving great homemade food, outstanding wines and superb real ales, service is second to none. Our style is relaxed but professional, we are independent and proud, committed to our community and embracing of all our cutomers.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Have really enjoyed a few meals in here now, including an excellent Sunday Roast. The beers on tap are rotated so there is always something new to try drinks-wise.

This is by no means our local, but we do make the effort to come here as the food is very good!

1  Thank Surbytonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for such a great review. We are really delighted to hear that you have made a few special journeys to enjoy our hospitality and have always had good experiences. The standards we set ourselves are very high so it's great news to hear you've had no complaints so far!! Hope there'll be a new beer to try next visit, we got some good ones coming up.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 313 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

I met up with friends for New Year's Eve and was very pleasantly surprised. Despite the event, we were not restricted to the "special" menu, but the full menu was on offer.The staff were very helpful and attentive and agreed to let us order course-by-course so that we were not sitting twiddling our thumbs until midnight. And the food? Very good! We had one issue: a dish served cold, but it was removed ansd replaced, very hot!, very quickly! Between us wemixed between the regular and special menu and none of us had a complaint from starters to main courses to dessert.
The pub has a very comprehensive, and good value. We all had a throughly enjoyable evening and we would be very happy to return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CesmeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thanks for your review, it was lovely to hear your feedback. We always seek to satisfy all our customers needs and on new Year's Eve we were determined not to 'cash in'. We wanted all our customers to be able to enjoy the night without having to pay hiked up prices for what essentially is a night when everyone should enjoy the atmosphere and food, the same as any other day! Sorry about the cold dish, I'm just glad to hear it was quickly replaced by a hot one! We hope to see you again very soon and many thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We went for a work do Xmas meal and so often the food can be disappointing for a group, but not here. Up to the excellent standard of individual dining.
The service was also prompt and attentive. A modern but still warm and cosy atmosphere

Thank gillian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we value every customer's views. Your comments are useful and we hope you return to the Canbury Arms soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

First up parking is a nightmare, all residents parking on street and a very small pub car park. Once inside the dining area is very sparse and basic. However the service was excellent, friendly, charming and very welcoming. The food was good but not exceptional. I would go there again but with lower expectations than last time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Legal-Al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CSKingston, Owner at The Canbury Arms, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2013

Many thanks for your review. I agree with you that parking in Kingston is a bit of a nightmare! Our car park can get full very quickly but we always ask staff to offer to help customers to park, we are nevertheless lucky to have a carpark, others nearby are not so lucky. Unfortunately the local authority make all the decisions about on street parking restrictions. We are fortunate that after 6.30pm parking is free immediately outside the pub mon-sat and free all day on Sunday. The cost for pay and display directly outside the pub and in adjoining roads is very reasonable, not as jaw droppingly high as central Kingston.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed our food and service and I hope that on your next visit your expectations will be matched. Please visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I specifically asked for a nice table and was given what I requested. Sunday roast was excellent, but a bit heavy on the meat at the expense of the veg for me. Waiter bought more cabbage when requested though, and I wasn't charged. Fruit crumble was tasty and went down well with the custard; the group liked it. I would prefer coffee cups to mugs following a lunch! Pleasant service, would probably come back, and recommend, although I did think it was over pricey- £15 for a Sunday roast mains.

Many thanks,

Jo

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Canbury Arms also viewed

Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
Kingston upon Thames, Greater London
 

Been to The Canbury Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing