We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”
Review of Artists Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kingston upon Thames
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Artists Villa
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I stayed at this B & B for two nights and enjoyed my stay very much. A clean room and bathroom, a nice host, close to railway station and Kingston and fair prices. I can only recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 40 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2011

This is a small friendly & clean B&B in a quiet residential neighbourhood. .It is a 15 minute walk from the centre of Kingston and close to local services and rail and bus stops. The welcome is warm but never intrusive. I enjoyed privacy and conversation appropriately. I stayed over a three month period while I completed an assignment in Kingston and have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCGandCoLt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

This is a small and friendly spotlessly clean B&B. The welcome is warm but never overbearing. I enjoyed privacy and conversation appropriately. Breakfast was always very pleasant. Both bedrooms are very comfortable.
I stayed over a three month period and would have no hesitation in recommending.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dghtraining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I stayed at The Artists Villa for two nights and found the room to be most comfortable and the house itself was in excellent order. Ingrid, the owner is a Ceramic Artist and the decour is amazing. The house has much room and the bathroom and the bedroom were always spotlessly clean. I really enjoyed my stay here and wouldn't hesitate to go back. Sharing breakfast with the other guests and ingrid was a delight.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sburlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2010

I had a great stay for 3 days at Artist villa. The B & B is very well located, peaceful & quiet, exellent service and only 3 minutes from Norbiton trainstation. Very nice rooms, clean & spotless, comfortable and I just love the bed. One bathroom to share and it was very ok. Just a 10min walk to the market town center and very easy to find. I will defenately give this B&B my best recommendations, Ilona

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ilona9967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

myself and partner stayed in this b & b and we both hated it from the moment we stayed there , the house was so cold both physically and emotionally and we actually got the impression that we were not wanted !!! as we booked online we did not know what this house appeared like on the outside when we arrived we were surprised to see buliding work been carried out in the area plus no b & b sign which made us a little weary to say the least ....

we felt we were not made welcome and told we could make tea but we felt so comfortable to do so as the owners were always present in the kitchen and stood over us while we eat and the breakfast was a joke so miserable , cereal tea and two yoghurts , the cereal was running low and the fruit was in abundance...

the rooms were very cold at night time , needing extra blankets to keep ourselves warm, our rooms were not cleaned out during our stay there and our towels were not changed either.

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

Lovely home within 5 minutes walk of Norbiton train station. At the time we stayed, there was road construction, which meant buses were a bit further away to catch.

Don't ask the owners about bus info, though -- they enjoy their city by bicycle. After a couple of days there, I agree that it would be the best way to get around this lovely area.

It's a bit of a ride to get to Hampton Court Palace or Kew Gardens & Palace, but if you sit at the top of the bus for the long rides, you get to take in the beautiful area of Kingston Upon Thames and Richmond/Richmond Park.

The B&B itself is nicely set up. There is one shared bath with the owners, but it was never a problem for us. Everything is kept clean and, as the name suggests, an artist does indeed live on the premises. This is evident by the beautiful art that you are treated to while you enjoy their home.

The only reservation I had is that it is a little awkward to make/have tea, but the host is very agreeable and quick to make some for you if asked.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AprilAllYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kingston upon Thames hotels
0.8 mi away
Queen’s Head
Queen’s Head
#1 of 11 in Kingston upon Thames
158 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon Thames
Antoinette Hotel Kingston upon T...
#7 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
898 reviews
1.1 mi away
Warren House
Warren House
#2 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Artists Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artists Villa

Address: 57 Cobham Road, Kingston upon Thames KT1 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range: $53 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a stay in a relaxing artists home just 10 minutes walk from the historic market town centre of Kingston Upon Thames, the River Thames and Richmond Park.Artists Villa is in a quiet residential street, close to bus and train stations and within an easy 30 minute ride to Central London. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing