We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem!!!”
Review of Warren House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Warren House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Warren Road certainly leads to some amazing buildings. One of those is Warren House. At the end of our London holiday we spend out last night here and what a delightful surprise we were in for. Everything was excellent - front of house, the room, dinner, the bar and high tea. Well done to the Warren House team for making our stay so pleasant. The buildings and gardens are an absolute pleasure to walk around and view. I think Warren House offers excellent value for money and will definitely return whenever we can. I have already recommended the high tea to a couple who live in Teddington! which is nearby. Finally, well done to Vikus, Alessandro and Armande for making our stay even better. Your service is to be commended.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Rex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWarrenHouse, General Manager at Warren House, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for your lovely review! Do come and see us again soon, now that you have found us! Thank you also for recommending us to your local friends.
Very best, Carolyn & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

682 - 688 of 829 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for New Year's Eve 2013 (although we partied elsewhere). We discovered Warren House through lastminute.com. It's a spectacularly grand house of some age, off a private and very quiet road, not far (by car) from the sights of Richmond, west London. Its ambience is very much that of an old English manor, with a large, sweeping staircase and wooden panelling in many of the day areas of the hotel. Fortunately, unlike many an English manor, this one was clean and dry, and the heating worked!

The staff were all very friendly and efficient from before we even arrived (they booked our cabs to & from our off-site party the day before after we rang for local taxi company suggestions); and when we arrived, the reception lady remembered our name from that conversation the day before, which is always very impressive for the terminally forgetful like myself. And this is the first hotel I've ever stayed in where the porter refused a tip for carrying my baggage to our room, which (to my mind) immediately set the tone for great service during our stay.

We didn't eat in the restaurant at night but we enjoyed the bar service in characterful surroundings before we headed out to our party. In the morning, the breakfast area was busy with many people enjoying the full English breakfast and the usual selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt, etc., which was plentiful and good. The staff coped well in spite of the number of guests coming and going.

Only very slight negative - our room (No.9) was quite small for a double but frankly, we spent little time in it - why would you when you're surrounded by such a beautiful house? - and in any case, all its facilities were modern, clean and worked well. e.g. The ensuite shower was very good and the mattress was firm so must have been new or very close to it.

In all, Warren House is highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room no.9 is quite small (should you intend to spend any time in the room).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanielPK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWarrenHouse, General Manager at Warren House, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It's great to hear where the team really made a difference! We'll have to make sure you have a larger double on your next visit - in an old house all of the room sizes do vary somewhat!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

I found this little gem in the summer of 2013 when looking for a hotel last minute. I loved the trasitional feel so much that I decided to book my team Christmas lunch here in December. We were not disappointed!

The Hotel is tucked away on a private road just outside Kingston. The grounds are very pretty and the elegance of the building immediately makes you think of Christmas.

We had pre-lunch drinks in the bar and then a lovely lunch for 10. The meal war reasonably priced and yet above standard for a christmas party. We were worried that we might be a tad noisy for some of the guests so we retired to a smaller room for after-lunch drinks and secret santa.

We went to Winter Wonderland in the evening so did not stay for dinner but sampled breakfast the following morning, which was good.

The rooms are comfortable and good quality. The team all commented on the rooms, as we often stay in hotels and the quality here was noticeable.

The customer service shown to my husand was exceptional. He had been at a separate party and was joining me later. The night manager opened to gates for him before he could even buzz and met him at reception with a key and ready to show him to our room.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HollyBramble1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWarrenHouse, General Manager at Warren House, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your review.
Lovely to hear that our night team were so 'on the ball' - it really is the detail that makes the difference and it always makes me happy to hear the examples of this in 'real life'.
Great to hear that we exceeded expectations on the food and quality of the rooms.
Perhaps your team should return for a Summer event too!
Very best wishes,
Carolyn & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My favourite hotel in London. Genteel Edwardian elegance with excellent service. Even though the hotel is obviously targetting corporate clients, private ones are equally welcomed.

Elena is to be commended for her warm welcome and smile.

All enquiries by email are swiftly answered by Helen and Amanda (thank you ladies) and nothing is too much trouble Just booked my third visit because of convenience to a daughter at university in the region.



Thank you Warrent House x

Room Tip: A view of the garden...sublime. You can imagine how it was in the Edwardian days with views across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusLou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWarrenHouse, General Manager at Warren House, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really do try to create a home from home......we are thrilled that you are enjoying your visits with us.
Very best wishes,
Carolyn & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were booked into Warren House last weekend as part of The Times Superbreaks - this occasion being a guided tour on Sunday morning of Hampton Court Palace. The hotel seemed really nice when we arrived in t ime for afternoon tea which was part of the package. The room was 'nice' but toilet seat was loose and the shower head was fixed at 5'9" and at 6'0" hubby had to bend down to use the shower,
Afternoon tea was lovely but took an age to arrive and we were asked several times what our room number was! We had booked into the restaurant for dinner and on arrival hoped to enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the bar but we were ushered into a corner of the restaurant to an unlaid table amongst others which were also unlaid giving a rather dismal feeling to the room. Food was OK but our choice of wine was questioned by the waiter in a sort of 'put-down' way.
Lack of atmosphere meant we disappeared to bed to watch tv after dinner.
Next day came downstairs to a notice at the bottom of the stairs pointing "Superbreak people" to a small breakfast room for continental breakfast which was included in our "Break" price. Hubby asked for cooked breakfast to great surprise and a hardly discreet exclamation that of course, this would be extra on the bill.
To complete our overall disappointment, we were overcharged £47 for the afternoon tea (which should have been included in our "Break".
We felt really disappointed overall. The hotel is billed and should be a top-notch place but it didn't feel at all like that last weekend.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dilko3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWarrenHouse, General Manager at Warren House, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your review here, on our restaurant page and indeed for the email that you sent following your stay....
As I indicated to you in my response we will certainly investigate the issues and comments that you have made.
I feel compelled to say though that your feedback is the opposite end of the spectrum in terms of the rest of our Superbreak visitors....
Some of their comments (on our guest feedback form) include:
'Everything a delight. It is so much appreciated when someone will go that extra mile, which all the staff have done'.
'This is our first visit, I do hope we will have an opportunity to come again'
'The standard was well above our expectation'

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our stay at Warren House began on a Friday with dinner for 12 in one of the beautiful private dinning rooms. The staff couldn't have been more attentive and the food was fantastic. The chef worked with us to cater for our specific food requirements and nothing was too much trouble. On Saturday we were joined by another 30 friends and family who stayed at the house on a bed and breakfast basis. Throughout the weekend whilst we were in and out for my son's bar mitzvah service, and later at his party at a larger venue (if only we had fitted into the dining room!), the staff welcomed us and saw we had everything we needed. They were friendly towards the children who felt comfortable and safe throughout their stay and the adults were treated to a relaxing and restful time. I look forward to finding another opportunity to stay at The House and would recommend it highly to anyone looking for a special venue for wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Whitewoolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWarrenHouse, General Manager at Warren House, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

Thank you for your lovely review of Warren House. It was a pleasure to have you all with us for such a happy occasion. Come and see us soon!
Very best, Carolyn & the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

As our son was married in Scotland, we held a post-wedding party at Warren House for friends and family who live in the south. The whole evening was superb. The staff were welcoming & friendly, nothing was too much trouble & they sorted out any queries efficiently. The buffet was excellent, & so many guests commented on the high quality of the food. We combined this party with two birthdays which were on the same day & the staff brought in the cake at exactly the time that we'd asked for. Overall the evening was a great success & we will definitely return to Warren House.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
Thank mally_jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMWarrenHouse, General Manager at Warren House, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review. A party at Warren House really is a fabulous way to experience the property and unique aspects we offer.
Come and see us soon!
Very best wishes,
Carolyn.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston upon Thames
1.9 mi away
The White Hart Hotel
The White Hart Hotel
#1 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
1,179 reviews
1.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton London Kingston Upon Thames
Doubletree by Hilton London King...
#4 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
Brook Kingston Lodge Hotel
#6 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon Thames
Premier Inn London Kingston Upon...
#3 of 12 in Kingston upon Thames
769 reviews
2.2 mi away
Richmond Hill Hotel
Richmond Hill Hotel
#3 of 14 in Richmond-upon-Thames
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warren House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warren House

Address: Warren House Warren Road, Kingston upon Thames KT2 7HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Kingston upon Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kingston upon Thames
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kingston upon Thames
Price Range: $102 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Warren House 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Warren House is a privately owned venue on the outskirts of Kingston upon Thames. We host conferences, meetings and events like weddings, private celebrations and other family gatherings. We additionally have 46 bedrooms within the property which guests use in conjunction with meetings or events or indeed on an individual basis. We are a venue and as such create a homely feel focused on service, a quality environment and attention to detail. When you are at Warren House you are an individual, we respect that and aim to exceed your expectations every time you visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Warren House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warren House Hotel Kingston Upon Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing