We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something much better”
Review of Gurkha Durbar

Gurkha Durbar
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Grayshott
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $37
Cuisines: Nepali
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Something much better”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The Gurkha Nepalese is just so much better than other typical indian / curry restaurants. All the dishes we have had over the years are good and it is a long term favourite for both restaurant meals and family takeaways, The sauces are very good and the ingredients good quality but it is the range of tastes that make it Ghurka special. The updated menu has some nice new dishes too. The service is always excellent and the restaurant is a very pleasant place to spend an evening. We are lucky this is close to where we live but this is one restaurant I would travel too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    35
    10
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always great service”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

superb food, portions a tad light, but always well cooked, interesting and well served. I must admit to not entirely understanding the difference between Nepaleese and Indian but I guess It's similar to Cornish and British. but all well spiced and well explained.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fat_Food_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Local Institution”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have friends who will not visit unless we go to this restaurant during their stay. The reason - the Nepal menu is different and better than your average Indian restaurant. The Chef's specials and anything with Gurkha herbs and spices are particularly recommended. We usually get the set meal for 4 with friends. Otherwise pick and choose. It is reasonably priced but not cheap and staff are particularly friendly. Also does take away. Cannot understand why this is not No 1 in Grayshott when the competition serve the sort of greasy meal that tastes the same whatever the protein ordered.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great restaurant and take away”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The food and service is great. I regularly order take away and it is always spot on. Their food is a step above other local curry houses with great quality dishes and excellent seasoning.

I love the Piro chutney and excellent bhajis.

The staff are very friendly, welcoming and helpful.

Highly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RDH4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely food, but more Indian than Nepalese”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I went trekking in Nepal in 2010 so was looking forward to re-visiting the delights of Nepalese food. I was surprised to find the staple Nepalese dish on Dal Bhat was not on the menu. I asked of the chef could make me a Dal in the Nepalese style and the waiter smilingly agreed to ask. The Dal that arrived was as described in the menu, garlic dal, but it was not at all like the dal in Dal Bhat. The food was lovely and the service was very good. I would definitely return. However the food was Indian rather than Nepalese, I'd say. Still lovely and very good service. Worth a visit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GadgetGal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gurkha Durbar also viewed

 

Been to Gurkha Durbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing