We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place let down by rushed service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grayshott Health Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grayshott
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice place let down by rushed service.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a night but left feeling the "spa experience" isn't for me. Lovely place and super facilities set in beautiful grounds however, public areas had a Gods waiting room atmosphere where one felt obliged to whisper which to my mind doesn't concur with a relaxing environment. Restaurant food was good (not great) though service was so rushed we had to put the breaks on when offered desert or three courses would have been consumed in sub 40 minutes - Again not very relaxing. The waiting staff were totally disorganised almost over eager and lacking management. Maybe allowing a single waiter to look after certain stations will control the amount of repeat questions and over rushed service. It would also be nice to be shown any a la carte options at the table as we were unaware until a frequent customer on the next table was brought an omlette for instance.
I think the next time I am tempted to spend so much on a night away I will choose to stay in a quality hotel with a spa attached and dine out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Grayshott Health Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Gary

Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the facilities and grounds at Grayshott, but sorry that you were not happy with the calm and quiet of the public areas.

We find that most of our guests are seeking to relax and escape the stresses and strains of everyday life, and therefore appreciate the calm, nurturing ambience of Grayshott in order to relax and revitalise.

Our spa cuisine has won several awards and we continually receive complimentary reviews from departing guests. However, we are continually looking to improve our guests’ experience, and I will certainly address your comments regarding the waiting staff with the Restaurant Manager.

Kind Regards
Peter Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    112
    90
    60
    48
See reviews for
73
127
120
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Walton on the Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have been visiting Grayshott for the past 23 years and decided to make it my 'home' during the recent six-week period between house moves.

It has been the most wonderful experience. The staff (without exception) have been so welcoming, friendly and helpful.

To just turn up three times a day for the most delicious (and healthy) cuisine has left me feeling utterly spoilt and although I'm looking forward to moving into my new home, I will miss the 'home from home' feeling at Grayshott.

There are accompanied walks twice a day over magnificent adjoining National Trust land.

They seem to have got the mix between relaxation and formality exactly right.

I will be back!

Room Tip: Room 4 in the main manor house is very large and grand with plenty of wardrobe space for a longer st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllyEll19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Grayshott Health Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Elly

I am delighted that you enjoyed your recent 6 week stay at Grayshott, and that you found our staff so friendly and helpful.

We have a number of guests who stay with us for several weeks at a time on a regular basis and have been coming to us for years, as you have; I feel that this is, in no small way, due to our staff and their professional and helpful attitude.

I hope that your house move went smoothly and we look forward to welcoming you back to Grayshott in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I stayed here last weekend with my mum and sister (who is 7 month pregnant).

We've been here before a few years ago and so were happy to come back. The rooms are lovely, soft towels, comfy beds etc. The food is delicious - but due to the healthy living regime - dinner is quite small - so be sure to fill up at lunch! But all food is freshly prepared and tasty!

The treatments are lovely - my sister had a massage as really enjoyed the foam bed set up which allowed her to be on her stomach despite having quite a large bump! I also had a massage but did have a male masseur which was a bit of a shock as I had stated I only wanted women. Also - if you are going to have a gel manicure / pedicure - be sure to tell them before if you already have it on - as we were not asked when we booked and apparently it takes then 30 misn to get it off so only my sister could have it done and not my mum.

So overall very nice stay, just two hiccups that were a bit of a shame!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Derek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Grayshott Health Spa, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear Derek

Thank you for your very complimentary review following your recent stay.

I am delighted that we lived up to your expectations, having not visited us for a few years, and I hope that you enjoyed the improvements we have made in the intervening period.

We pride ourselves on the holistic approach we take to our treatments, therapies, exercise and nutrition, all of which are designed to leave guests feeling rested and rejuvenated.

With regard to your note about a male therapist, I will discuss this with our Spa Scheduling team to ensure that the next time you visit us you are only given female therapists. In addition, whilst we highlight in our brochure that we advise guests to notify us in advance if they have a semi-permanent gel/polish to be removed, as there are time implications, I will suggest Scheduling additionally mention this at the time of bookings, in order to offset the issue you experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grayshott in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a brilliant evening here, we really wish we could have stayed for much longer, staff amazing Jenny and Shauneen excellent hosts in reception and dining room!! Food was simply amazing, and for my best friend who is as fussy as she loved every mouthful !!! Nothing was to much trouble at Grayshott!! We will definitely be returning ASAP!!! Only disappointment was the female spa steam room wasn't working and my best mate couldn't use the male spa. But all round lovely and relaxing experience. Many Thanks guys and gals Lester and Sammi xxx

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwoodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Grayshott Health Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Lester and Sammi

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your Spa & Dine evening at Grayshott. I can only apologise that the female steam room wasn’t working when you were with us; the problem was rectified shortly after your departure and I hope that you will enjoy using it the next time you are with us.

I will pass on your kind comments to Jenny our Receptionist, Shauneen our Restaurant Manager and the Chef.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future, and hope that you can then stay with us longer in order to fully experience all that Grayshott can offer, including our award-winning treatments, classes and facilities.

Kind Regards
Peter Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent 3 night stay at Grayshott Spa. It is such a lovely quiet, peaceful, relaxing place. A great place to visit on your own, not atall intimidating. The grounds are beautiful, (lots of rabbits and squirrels running around). The treatments that I had were all fantastic, and the therapists were all very experienced, knowledgeable, and so friendly. I thought the food was delicious, all very healthy, but plenty of it! All of the staff were very polite and friendly. I left feeling really relaxed and energised. I would definitely go back again :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DubaiJendubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Grayshott Health Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear DubaiJendubai

Thank you for your kind comments.

We pride ourselves on the high level of service our staff give to all our guests, something that guests continually remark upon, as well as our renowned treatment therapists, and our award winning cuisine, and I was delighted to see that you had singled these out in your review.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future to experience the unique charm of Grayshott once more.

Kind Regards
Peter Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I had a spa and dine evening at this spa and the only good thing about the stay was the very friendly staff, and the pretty grounds. The outdoor pool area is not very attractive, but the indoor pool, and hydrotherapy pool, is nice. We didn't use the relaxation room or sauna as it's separated by sex, which is shame if you're going there with your partner.

Dinner was where the whole experience took a complete dive! They even state that dinner you "eat like a porper" - not good if you've purchased a voucher for a "spa and DINE evening"! If the quality of the food had been good then the tiny portions would have been fine, but sadly we believed the food to be very low quality - my husbands pasta dish tasted like tomato sauce with a whole bunch of dried herbs thrown in. Thankfully when we left we mentioned our disappointment with our food to the lady at the front of house, and they did arrange for our bottle of wine to be taken off the bill.

Nice place to relax, but I feel cheated having paid for a spa and dine evening there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Grayshott Health Spa, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Dana

I was very disappointed to read your recent review, as I am always saddened when we don’t meet our guest’s expectations.

With reference to your comments about dinner on your Spa & Dine, our food policy centres on portion control, rather than calorie counting. We offer a three course à la Carte dinner in the evening, preceded by pre-dinner canapés in Bubbles bar.

As a destination spa, we deliberately manage portion size to support guests on their quest for well-being, but if anyone is not satisfied we will naturally offer them additional food or fruit.

I am disappointed our Chef was not given the opportunity to rectify your husband’s pasta dish to his liking as we are always keen to cater to our guest’s needs and personal requirements.

I would like to mention that we were awarded ‘Best Spa Cuisine’ from The Spa Traveller and continually receive excellent feedback on our spa cuisine from our Guest Survey Questionnaires which are monitored weekly by me personally.

I hope that you experienced a spa treatment and enjoyed our nightly programme of entertainment and talks during your time with us.

Kind Regards
Peter Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Head, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

My mother and I stayed at the Grayshott for two nights and were were so sad to leave! This Spa is the perfect get away for someone looking to revitalize and improve your health. Every single treatment I had (Detoxifying Body Envelopment, Himalayan Body Scrub, and Holistic Therapy) was remarkable and memorable to say the least. The bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in, and every room offers a beautiful view of the grounds. The staff is extraordinarily helpful and there's tea 24 hours. The gym is in amazing condition and the trainers are at your disposal should you need them. I thoroughly enjoyed the food as well. They were the perfect portions to fill you up without stuffing you to discomfort. Every single dish was prepared with your health in mind. You can feel free to indulge WITHOUT the guilt! And everything is truly delicious. Every day the Grayshott plans things for your entertainment. The "talks" are very informative and the movie selection is generally great (even if it's not, you can pick your own from their massive collection). The reading room is beautiful and the whole experience is unparalleled.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Grayshott Health Spa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Heather

I am so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Grayshott, and thank you for your kind comments. I will pass on your positive feedback to the staff at Grayshott who made your, and your mother’s, stay so enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Grayshott in the near future.

Kind Regards
Peter Wood
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grayshott
17.0 mi away
Pennyhill Park, an Exclusive Hotel & Spa
4.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
21.2 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,507 reviews
24.7 mi away
The Runnymede on Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grayshott Health Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grayshott Health Spa

Property: Grayshott Health Spa
Address: Headley Road, Grayshott GU26 6JJ, England (Formerly Grayshott Spa)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Grayshott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Grayshott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grayshott Health Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grayshott is one of the few true destination spas in the UK. Unlike a hotel spa, visits to Grayshott are aimed at improving health and well-being, with therapeutic treatments, healthy spa cuisine and a full programme of fitness and relaxation classes. Renowned for our highly trained therapists, extensive facilities and delicious spa cuisine, Grayshott is the perfect place to visit for a stay or a day, to de-stress, cleanse, address a particular health problem, recuperate, get fit or simply relax. Facilities include indoor & outdoor swimming pools, tennis courts, separate male and female spas, gym, exercise classes and 47 acres of gardens and grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grayshott Health Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grayshott Hotel Grayshott
Hall Hotel Grayshott
Grayshott Health Spa Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing