We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome ribs and chicken!”
Review of Sandrock

Sandrock
Ranked #86 of 128 Restaurants in Farnham
Price range: $65 - $65
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Awesome ribs and chicken!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Monday nights are ribs and chicken nights. My mates and I are totally hooked on the massive racks of ribs and it has become a bit of a competition between us finish them, staff are really nice although they are blatantly trying to make us fat! There is a student discount but we have not managed to convince them we qualify at 25ish, never mind happy to pay full price

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PieAndMashEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    9
    1
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Really good food, disinterested service”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I agree with other reviewers that had great things to say about food, but service ruined the experience. I get a sense if you're not a regular you don't get the same service levels. We were basically ignored and treated rudely yet another couple came in (there were only the 2 tables occupied) that were given a whole different attitude.

After ordering 2 different pies and being told they were out of them we asked for a list of pies that they did have. The server rolled her eyes, went into the kitchen and came back with them listed on a napkin.

Pies were great, portions huge, won't be back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good pub, good grub.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We live close and have been coming here occasionally over the past few years. The pub is split between the restaurant room at the back and a more locals bar at the front. The place is unpretentious and you get what you see. Which I like a lot. There are no nicknacks adorning the walls, just and minimal, clean and open feel to the place.

The food is great, copious and well priced. Service is what you would expect from a pub. Perhaps a little direct at times but it matches the pub as a whole. I personally prefer a smile and efficiency over fawning interruptions throughout my meal.


The front bar can be full of ale chugging 'locals' but this is a pub! And if you smile at them they'll smile back! And the beer is good so who can blame them for enjoying it.


All in all a consistently good experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We absolutely loved our food and such amazing value!”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to the Sandrock for a meal, we both only live around the corner so it's not the first time we'd been here. We have both been very happy with the food every time, the portion sizes are huge (which isn't a bad thing in our eyes) and the prices still shock me. I am pleased to see a nice pub meal under a tenner! This time around our food was lovely, we both were stunned and took pictures of our meals! My pulled pork pitta was impressive to look at and so tasty! We will definitely be going again soon to try out their roast dinners!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paula L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not great.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went here as we heard that food was mainly home cooked and good. Yes it was home cooked and ready quickly. The service was very poor seemingly because we did not fit into the "Real Ale" boys huddled around the bar, all giving the what are YOU doing in here look. The server was pretty disinterested in making us welcome. We are unlikely to return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank CastleBoy50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandrock also viewed

 

Been to Sandrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing