We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Scarlet.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
worthing
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful Scarlet.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2009

A quick thank you to roger and his staff for ensuring that we had a wonderful night away from our children. The Scarlet suite was beautifully decorated, very large and spotlessly clean. The 4 poster gave a touch of romance and the huge bath was a treat !!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WorthingLouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    50
    14
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
227
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Country
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2009

Well, what an absolute gem! We met Roger ( the owner) straight away and booked in, only to be offered a selection of rooms to choose from. We went for Number 4 Decadence. It was decorated in a modern but sumptious feel. The shower room had a very good size and powerful shower, again modern with all the fluffy towels you could shake a stick at! matching the fluffy bathrobes in the bedroom. Obviously alot of thought had gone into each room, ours enjoyed dimmer switches for those more intimate moments and touch lighting by the bed. Dinner was excellent value for money and cooked by Roger. After an extremly comfortable night in a lovely four poster with egyptian cotton sheets, a hearty breakfast was enjoyed by the other half. The selection at breakfast was very good, including the option of porridge, scrambled egg and smoked salmon, cooked or just fresh fruit, cereals and plenty of toast. The downstairs lounge/bar area continued the theme of modern/ informal/boudoir and the real beneift for ourselves was the off street parking for our pride and joy. All in all, don't let the exterior of this building cloud your judgement, it is an intimate/luxury atmosphere inside and would be perfect for lovers everywhere! We are so going back to visit that Scarlet Suite!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2008

A friend of mine recently stayed at the Hotel de Vie and was full of praise for the service and ambiance on offer. Looking for a surprise break away with my wife, I thought this would make a pleasant and sensual break and made a reservation for the Parisian Room.
To be honest I was a little disappointed, although we still had a fantastic weekend including a wonderful meal in The Vienna Restaurant in Farnham town.
I don't feel the room fully lived up to the hype of the web site or was reflected in the room rate of £140.00 per night (although the big bath was really cool!)
Maybe this is just me & possibly too critical but I (we) feel that the bed was not that comfortable, the floor creaked with every step, the decor/furniture was not 'hand carved' (MDF), mood lighting was spots on dimmers and just did NOT get on with the love swing (but then there are always alternatives xx)-it just didn't live up to expectations. The staff were friendly enough & very accommodating, breakfast, although a little unusual in its set up (reception area come bar come dining area) was of a high standard.
I base my judgement on the fact that I (we) have a B&B and what we offer is the above (less the big bath & love swing-but a much more comfy Super King size bed) for £60.00 per night.
Is it value for money? No
Would I go back? No
Would I recommend it? No
Guess you need to make your own judgement

  • Liked — The big bath where we shared a bottle of wine, chocolates, bubbles & ........
  • Disliked — Creaky floor boards, less than comfortable bed
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2luvx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HdV_Owner, Owner at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, November 27, 2008
Can I firstly thank everyone on here who has taken the time to write a few words about thier stay at Hotel de Vie it is very much appreciated.. .

Clearly most reviews are based on our guests genuine perception of aspects of thier stay with us and as a result of this personal taste will always be a major feature.

To my recollecton this is the very first guest that has found any of our beds (let alone the super king size bed in the Parisian Room) to be anything less than comfortable.

In one or two areas of this room the floor boards do creak a little although I don't think that is too unusual in a 1930's building.

Can I just state categorically that our furniture is hand made in Indonesia from hard wood I have no idea how this guest has drawn any other conclusion. ( Not that there is anything wrong with MDF of course|)

All of our market research and feedback from by far the majority of our guests is telling us that the rate charged charged for this room is competetive. A high percentage of our guests stay with us based on recommendations (as this guest did) and we have many returning and regular customers.

We put a lot of effort into creating ' informal luxury' at Hotel de Vie and whilst this guest's stay was 'a little disappointing' I am pleased that they enjoyed our freshly prepared breakfast and the level of service offered. As they have said they still had 'a fantastic weekend'

Regards

Roger Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

We stayed in the very sensual Scarlett room. The white french styled bed was inviting, the size immense and large enough for more than just the two of us!

The bath was amazing, there was plenty of room for two, candle scones on the bath wall and a very intimate touch made by the silk like curtain that covers two sides of the tube - a very rewarding experience and worth all those pennies!

We stayed here on the recommendation of a friend, and the whole experience was near perfect - we're already wanting to book a christmas stay here too.

Highly recommended, nothing we didnt adore, and if there were any problems or worries I have no doubt that they would have been fixed immediatly by Roger the owner. For a pleasure stay, for a couple or more - Id recommend at least one night here.

  • Liked — The sheer luxury feeling everything in the room haf - from the pillows to the bath products
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hantsdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2008

... thanks to the end of British Summer Time!.... We stayed in the Victorian Memories room,,,,, very clean, very large bed and a good sized double bath. Roger and his staff are all very friendly and it was a pleasant change to sit in a comfortable hotel bar and talk to the other guests! The Dinner Menu was more than adequate and the food excellent! I must also compliment Roger on his superb taste in art-work ----- certainly a talking point!

  • Liked — The themed rooms &friendliness of staff,
  • Disliked — If I had to make a critism it would be the lack of adequate toiletries in the bathroom......no bathgel!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank D_DSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2008

We attended a wedding at Cain Manor ( stop it...!!! CAIN...not CANE...lol) on 4th October and opted to stay at the De Vie simply because the Bridge was full.
At this point let me formally thank Roger for his help in arranging an earlier check in( necessary because of the time of the wedding).
On arrival the Hotel looks very ordinary from the outside but please do not let that put you off. It has treasures hidden within. Parking is available at the rear of the hotel and the parking bays are marked out using ..LOGS. For reasons only really explorable on the couch of a psychiatrist, I found this to be a really amusing/ individual idea and it was just a hint of the individuality displayed throughout the entire hotel. We were greeted by a very nice and friendly proffessional chap from Romania. This for me was a real bonus. I absolutely ADORE Romania and have been there 5 times. So to be greeted by one of the country's finest was a real bonus for me. We were shown to our room which was named gothic. It was smaller than expected and to be honest not quite as gothic as we had anticipated. But having said that , this is the only remote critisism we cound think of. The room was nicely appointed with good sized fluffy towels in the bathroom. Everywhere was clean. Even the two copies of Scarlet looked unblemished. :). A good plus point was that the foot of the bed is wide enough to actually sit on...Quite essential when two long haired people are fighting for the mirror.....
The breakfast the following day was very good and served by the same excellent Romanian man who had made us feel so welcome on arrival.
To me personally, what makes this hotel different is the downstairs. It has been decorated wonderfully right from the bar area to the front bay window. There are photos that are just very faintly suggestive as opposed to erotic, and one painting that , in its depicted simplicity of a woman adjusting her stockings, is quite divine.
In the introduction to the hotel I seem to recall that it had been Rogers dream to open such an individual place. It always gives me great pleasure to see someone who is not part of one of the big hotel chains acconplish something that can really give the big boys a run for their money. That dream has been accomplished here. And as for THAT mirror and the beautiful decor surrounding it half way up the stairs...Its my birthday on christmas day Roger... :))).
In conclusion , a fine hotel worth every one of its good reviews. You can almost feel the stares from the net curtains of vanilla land over the road as the more ordinary residents of Farnham try to peer at a place where they would love to know its secrets but are far too conservative ( in the true sense of the word) to enter.
Any one who can achieve that in Surry is fine by me!! Well done !!

  • Liked — The Bar and lounge area, the staff, THAT painting, and the mirror on the stairs.
  • Disliked — the gothic room was a little smaller than expected
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Electricwarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2008

We really liked the Hotel de Vie. We stayed in the gothic room although the room itself was smaller than I had expected.the large and Luxurious room soft furnishings large mirrors and a double ended bath all make for a romantic time in the privacy of your room. You could stay hidden here quite happily for a few days, or walk downhill into town to one of many local public houses or bistros. We enjoyed The Lamb with its comfy leather chairs open fires occasional live music and friendly staff (details available online).
We also found a very reasonably priced and very tasty italian restaurant about 10 doors up from the pub.

  • Liked — luxurious bedding
  • Disliked — room was a little on the small side but was en-suite
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank LeeOny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.5 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 8 in Farnborough
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,443 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.8 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#6 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Property: Hotel de Vie
Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a small boutique hotel of 8 en-suite rooms, just a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre, Farnham station, and a host of other local attractions. Hotel de Vie, Farnham, provides comfortable accommodation, with great staff, freshly cooked to order breakfasts, powerful showers, and lots of free snacks, hot drinks and treats. Affordable luxury in a friendly and relaxed environment that many guests keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing