We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, a lovely getaway!”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel de Vie with my fiance over Christmas and we thoroughly enjoyed our time at the hotel.
We spent one night in the Decadence room, and Decadence is the perfect word to describe it. The bed was soooo comfortable; I sometimes have trouble with hotel beds feeling a bit worn-in with stiff, thin sheets, but the gorgeous four-poster bed in this room was so cosy we both kept snoozing our alarms the next morning so we didn't have to leave it!
Plenty of space to get ready in the morning, with a lovely dresser to sit at to do my hair and makeup for the day.
Breakfast was beautiful, home-cooked to perfection just how we like it. I love the lobby area, being able to help yourself to coffee, hot chocolate and juices whenever you like is a great addition, and I might have helped myself to the oreo cookies perhaps a bit more than I should have ;)
The bar is great too, well-stocked and of reasonable price. My fiance especially enjoyed his Guinness, which is made using a special machine to get the taste and the head perfect. Highly reccommended, and he still talks about the 'Guinness Machine' to his friends :P
Of course the whole place is very clean, as would be expected. The theme throughout the hotel is great too, slightly risque, but in a tasteful way!
Arran and Marta have done a fantastic job with the Hotel de Vie, creating the perfect relaxed getaway for young couples like us, and I'm sure it would be just as luxurious for anyone staying here.
Can't wait to return, and hopefully next time we'll be able to stay in the stunning Scarlet Suite!

Room Tip: If you can afford to choose one of the larger rooms or a suite, definitely go for it! They are all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 303 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed with my girlfriend in the parisian suite last week and it was one of the most welcoming and respectful hotels I have had the pleasure of staying in. The room was exceptionally clean and the bed was comfortable and enormous!! The bath was one of the biggest I had ever seen and it was a great feature having two showers. The breakfast was really nice also. The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Fantastic location for a business trip to Farnham with an easy walk to the numerous Farnham restaurants. Delightful room.Delicious breakfast. I am a light sleeper and could hear the traffic although this stopped at night.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stayed in the Parisian Dreams suite which had a huge bed & bath - we found the room to be clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was lovely. We would recommend this hotel for a quiet break away.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Whenever we go away for a short break we try and find places that are not boring and the same as everywhere else. This one is different, a great find!
It had a relaxed feel as soon as we entered, no cold formal reception and we were warmly greeted by the staff. The downstairs has big sofas to lounge on and a large flat screen TV. The breakfast area is close to the bar and looks fresh and modern. There was a large choice of tea and coffee and you could help yourself at any time, large cups too, so often the cups are too small. I really liked helping myself to the oreo cookies on the way out!
Breakfast was good and they were more than accommodating if you wanted something cooked in a particlular way, you just had to ask. I had a Full English and asked for my Sausage to be over done and my bacon with no fat.
We were celebrating our Anniversary so we treated ourself to the Parisian Suite, Wow.... a lovely large room, the bed was so enormous that I could barely find my Husband in it! the room also had a long sofa and wardrobe with hangers for our clothes. There was a hairdryer and small hanging compartments inside the wardrobe for jumpers and underwear storage. There were also two bathrobes.The duvet on the bed was lovely and soft, warm too and the bed was comfortable. The bath, never seen one so big and with two showers so we could both stand in and shower at the same time, we prefer a shower, quicker. There were complimentary toiletries, tissues and two large bottles of water. There was also a coffee maker but we preferred to wait until we were downstairs.
We stayed during the week just before Christmas for 2 nights. We don't like staying in large cold clinical hotels as they lack spirit, so if you are looking for somewhere different to stay this will not disappoint.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TailsTonbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I recently visited this hotel for the second time. (Last time was last January). It was wonderful before but is even better now. The new owners have re-carpeted and the floor in the dining area is beautiful. Even the entrance is more welcoming with heathers and small trees. I didn't consider it lacking last time, but this time I was blown away! I stayed in the Scarlet Suite and cannot even start to say how fantastic this room is. As mentioned by previous reviewers the staff are so helpful and nothing is too much trouble. I really enjoyed the breakfast, delivered to my room at exactly the time I requested, hot and delicious. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to family and friends and this time will not leave it a year before coming back!

Room Tip: Scarlet Suite cannot be bettered!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mandymac2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

this is a great little hotel with very nice helpful staff the room was perfect as was the breakfast we will use again its near to the town centre only a two minute walk Farnham itself is not a bad place plenty of choice with pubs and restaurant's if you need a taxi try local company home James

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Blackbess2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country house hotel & Spa
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
116 reviews
1.7 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range: $129 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a relaxing adults-only Boutique Hotel/B&B with eight luxuriously-fitted bedrooms and is popular for both couples and Farnham business travellers throughout the week. The freshly-cooked breakfasts and fast, free wifi are included in the room rate. Only a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre and Farnham station, Hotel de Vie regularly wins TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence for consistently being one of the highest-rated hotels in Farnham. The child-free policy gives a quiet and sophisticated elegance to the lounge area which is only open to residents, so guests can enjoy the private bar and restaurant and get away from the stresses of everyday life and work. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing