We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Older Couples!”
Review of Hotel de Vie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Vie
Ranked #3 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great for Older Couples!”
Reviewed February 18, 2008

What a lovely hotel, and restaurant, for couples to stay. It doesn't matter whether you're young or old, it only matters that you enjoy each other's company.

Immaculately clean, beautifully presented, tastefully decorated with nice friendly staff.

We had valentines night there and will definitely make a special trip again to have some 'us' time.

The restaurant had an interesting menu and the food was well cooked, nicely presented and pleasantly served; there were also local couples enjoying a valentine's meal there who were bemoaning the fact that as they are local, they can't stay there ?!

Excellent coffee.

Bev Brown, Kent

  • Liked — The thought and care that had gone into the layout of the room, for example a dimmer switch for the lights at exactly the right spot by the bed
  • Disliked — the car park
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KentBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    50
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
7
232
11
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2008

Beautiful hotel. Clean, spacious and welcoming. We booked the Victorian room but had a free upgrade to the Parisian room, with the super king size bed and super king size bath! We had an evening meal in the hotel which was lovely and a super breakfast which was ready early for us, as requested. A very friendly, chic hotel, would definately stay again.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious and friendly
  • Disliked — going home
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank love2travel024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2008

My boyfriend and I have stayed in the hotel de Vie three times already, having the pleasure of experiencing a different room on each occasion: Lady Hamilton, (cosy, well laided out, making the best of the space) Decadence, (wonderful four poster bed adding ambiance to the feeling of being a royal guest) and Victorian Memories (luxurious with the double ended bathtub, superb to relax in together!). We have fallen in love with the place – the area is surprisingly quiet and the beds most comfortable which certainly encourages one to have a nice lie in every morning; the showers are very powerful and you’ll find a pile of fresh, soft towels in the bathroom, almond soap, shampoo, shower gel and body lotion, even white dressing gowns in the wardrobe! Each room is filled with stylish furniture, unique mirrors and a few other surprises...each one is immaculately clean and decorated with great taste and sophistication. The hotel staff is most helpful, warm and friendly and as is the owner; the atmosphere light and romantic, the whole place very sensual – ideal for special occasions as well as any other time … (we always manage to find an excuse!) The food is most delicious, fresh and mouthwatering (choice of smoked salmon or full English breakfast, cereals, an ice cold orange or grapefruit juice, hot, strong coffee or aromatic tea). Pure luxury, indulgence and decadence – unforgettable experience every time! We’ll certainly be back!
Bee & Ra

  • Liked — The all round atmosphere
  • Disliked — No bathtub in each room
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bee-Ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2008

We have just been to the Hotel de Vie for the weekend and found it to exceed our (already high) expectations. Food was fantastic, service excellent, rooms very clean and well decorated. Would definately visit again.

  • Liked — The extras included in the rooms are excellent :) Food is excellent.
  • Disliked — The complimentary toiletries were very limited (hair conditioner and hand cream). Otherwise nothing.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank xyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

Stayed on the 26/1/08....needed a break from normal & all the stresses & strains from the couple of weeks i had had.....Quiet room, clean, food, alcohol & a comfortable atmosphere....Well what can i say - Was i suprised????...........This place i thought was absolutely excellent......We stayed in the "Gothic Room" (Room 2).....We was greeted by the owner who was very pleasant indeed & straight away you knew it was a very friendly & relaxed atmosphere. After showing us some reviews that they had received & explained the theme to the hotel he showed us to our room...... This was very clean & comfortable in every aspect with a large bed which you just sunk staright into & the bathroom facilities were extremely good with a proper power shower & deep double ended bath......The bar was very well stocked along with a number of wines & champagnes & a very pleasant comfortable seating area with large leather sofas.......The restauraunt had a small varied menu which caters for everyone. The food is cooked from fresh which allowed us to have a drink in the bar while it was being prepared. The food itself was very good & the cooked breakfast again cooked freshly........The staff were very pleasant (& all spoke English) ..........The whole experience was just what i needed & i left there on the Sunday feeling very refreshed & relaxed......I will be recommending this hotel to all my friends........i shall be returning very soon....Oh & the suprise being the swing!!!! HAVE FUN

  • Liked — Cean & pleasant
  • Disliked — Had to leave
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TigerTone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2007

We stayed in here one night as a special treat in November and chose the Parisian Dreams suite partly for the bath that was almost big enough swim in! We were impressed with the meals, in particular the lamb shank. The bed was very comfortable too. Wish there were hotels with the same on offer in our local area, and within this price bracket.

  • Liked — bath
  • Disliked — parisian style decor in main suite
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank spikyhedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2007

Handy for getting into the centre of Farnham.

very clean rooms and public area, but the bedrooms, though looking nice are so small, even the bathroom door would not open fully as it hit the bed. No tea or coffee facilities in rooms.
Bathroom so small with a cloakroom size hand basin.,no where
to put wash bags.
Breakfast was a disaster, no milk on tables, help yourself to tea from a machine in the corner. Choice of breakfast cereal, just two
a general lack of laying out a table for breakfast and choice.
Would not stay again at these prices they charge for tiny rooms. One gets a better quality in some B&Bs with larger bedrooms and bathrooms.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — size of rooms and bathrooms and very poor breakfast and layout
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fittraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HdV_Owner, Owner at Hotel de Vie, responded to this review, December 19, 2007
At Hotel de Vie the quality of our guests experience is our No. 1 objective. Obviously the review from this guest is a marked contrast from the other reviews written so far on trip advisor and whilst I am extremely disappointed that this guests stay with us did not meet their expectations I do feel that there are some important points for me to make in response to this review.
The rooms at Hotel de Vie are themed, individual and vary in size and price accordingly. This review appears to suggest that all of our rooms are small. I can assure readers that this is not the case. The room which is the subject of this review is our Mirrors & Lace room it is a smaller, in fact our smallest, double room it is also the cheapest room, that said like all our rooms, this room has a flat screen TV with DVD a power shower, quality furniture and Egyptian cotton linen. This guest booked with us through a third party online agent where are rooms are listed by size and price only so we were unable to discuss options and needs with the customer which is something we usually do when guests book directly with us.

The whole concept of Hotel de Vie is geared to ‘informal luxury’ and it is for this reason that we do some things a little different to other establishments e.g. we do not put Tea & Coffee making facilities in the room, we do not believe that our guests should have the hassle & mess of making tea in the room with long life milk! However as it states in the Bedroom info pack... just push the reception button on the phone and we will bring you a fresh hot cuppa free of charge. At breakfast we do offer guests the opportunity to help themselves to juices, freshly brewed coffee or alternatively to select a standard or Earl Grey tea bag with readily available hot water & fresh milk. The review might suggest to some readers that we have an instant tea or coffee machine, this is not the case. We also have an extensive cooked to order Breakfast menu with free range eggs, smoked salmon, Kippers & the usual sausages, bacon, tomatoes & mushrooms, toast & preserves etc.

Clearly this guest has not had a good experience at Hotel de Vie and so for whatever reason we have failed on this occasion but I do hope that I have managed to put some perspective into the situation. I would also like to thank everyone who has taken the time to write a review.

Regards

Roger Williams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.4 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
107 reviews
5.2 mi away
Aviator Hotel
Aviator Hotel
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
1,877 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vie

Property: Hotel de Vie
Address: 22 Firgrove Hill, Farnham GU9 8LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Vie 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Vie is a small boutique hotel of 8 en-suite rooms, just a short walk from the historic Farnham town centre, Farnham station, and a host of other local attractions. Hotel de Vie, Farnham, provides comfortable accommodation, with great staff, freshly cooked to order breakfasts, powerful showers, and lots of free snacks, hot drinks and treats. Affordable luxury in a friendly and relaxed environment that many guests keep coming back to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de Vie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel De Vie Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing