We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location and excellent service”
Review of The Princess Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Princess Royal
Ranked #1 of 22 Farnham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Our 3 night stay was an ideal location for visiting the Royal Surrey Hospital. As we were coming and going at all hours the card entry system was ideal. The bedrooms themselves being in a separate building made it all the more convenient with parking outside it meant we were not worried about getting a car park space in the pub car park. The food was excellent and well presented with friendly and attentive staff. Very good lunches and the breakfast was well cooked. Fine array of cereals, fresh fruit including pineapple and melon and a croissant that was nice and warm and light as a feather. The bedroom was well appointed and very clean. Clean towels whenver you want them and a well replenished tea/coffee tray each day.
One thing you must try are the famous chips which are exemplorary. What more can I say it is was it says on the tin and the bedroom wase as you see in the photos. Nothing hidden and certainly nothing taken away. We will use this hotel as our base when in the Guildford area. Well done Princess Roya

Room Tip: We were in room 20 ( first floor ) which is next to a private staff room with no bedroom the othersi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (661)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 661 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012

We stayed one night and were put in a twin room. Unfortunately the drains were malfunctioning which made the room smell. I think this was a one off problem. We complained,eventually spoke to the manager and she dealt with it admirably and would commend her customer services skills. We would stay again for this reason alone. Breakfasts were good if a little chaotic. Didn't have dinner but the menu looked good.

Room Tip: check room 15 dies not smell??
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed one night here for business. Have stayed here before. Rooms are well appointed, flat screen tv, coffee, biscuits, iron and ironing board. Good water pressure in shower. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pub has restaurant and does bar food. Good quality fresh ingredients and all freshly prepared. Excellent quality cooked breakfast.

My biggest tip is not to follow the sat nav to find this place - this hotel is off the A31 at the Runfold exit on the old Guildford road not the A31 Guildford road.

There is road noise from the A31 - background "hum" and not an intrusion.

Free wifi in roooms and pub with quite a fast speed.

Room Tip: all rooms have road noise but its more of a background noise and probably only a problem for light s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smartstuff28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Been to the Princess Royal a few times now for lunches / meals (not stayed overnight), nice atmosphere, staff very nice and attentive made to feel welcome, food good and reasonably priced. Worth a visit for a quick lunch or an evening meal.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brighty65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We attended a family gathering for Sunday lunch here and were disappointed not only at the quality and pricing of the meal but also the slow and disinterested service we received. Avoid the puddings which are very small and very highly priced. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank voyager017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Had a meal here last night for my daughter's birthday. Well all ordered something different and I ordered a smoked haddock gratin. I was so diappointed with it as it was inedible. Gratin should have some sort of sauce including cheese which it did not. I complained to the waiter who in turn spoke to the chef. The answer was it was because I had mixed the breadcrumbs to much in with the fish which had made it dry!!! I was offered a free coffee or dessert neither of which I wanted. We asked for this meal to be taken off the bill which it duly was. The others found their meal satisfactory . The waiter cleared plates before everyone had finished. The service was poor, the atmosphere was poor - sad as we have had some good meals here before.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NickyS24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Basic rooms but very clean & ideal for what we needed. Sofabed for kiddies very comfy so everyone slept well & plenty of room for our own travel cot, but they do provide them. The main A331 runs past the hotel so I was a bit worried about road noise, but I needn't have worried as we couldnt hear it at all!
The best bit we felt was the delicious cooked breakfast included in the price of the room, fresh & very tasty! Would definitely come again!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SabiLabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Farnham
Premier Inn Farnham
#1 of 6 in Farnham
205 reviews
4.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
1.9 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
Aviator Hotel Hampshire
#1 of 7 in Farnborough
2,056 reviews
1.5 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.3 mi away
Farnham House Hotel
Farnham House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Farnham
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Princess Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Princess Royal

Address: Guildford Road | Runfold, Farnham GU10 1NX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Farnham
Price Range: $93 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Princess Royal 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you stay at the hotel, or just call in for a meal, we can assure you of a varied menu of freshly prepared home-made food, conplemented with a selection of award-winning Fuller's ales or a glass of fine wine.There are 21 comfortable en-suite bedrooms. All rooms have Sky Sports, satillite TV, hairdryer, ironing facilities, tea and coffee making facilities, free parking and free Wifi.Weddings, functions, meetings. conferences and private receptions all catered for.Situated close to Farnham, Farnborough, Aldershot and Guildford a warm welcome awaits for both the business and leisure traveller.we look forward to welcoming you to our hotel in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Princess Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princess Royal Hotel Farnham
The Princess Royal Farnham, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing