We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Certainly no more than a 3* hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farnham House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Reviewed September 1, 2007

The hotel is in a nice woodland setting with a long drive and looks impressive. It has potential but the rooms and service make it no more than a 3* hotel.

The rooms all appeared rather dirty and run down. We had friends staying in one of the top rooms with a 4-poster bed, which we thought was impressive. However, even that room was disappointing. The TV signal was terrible, wallpaper was bubbling in places indicating damp and the bathroom was a disaster. There was a shower in the bath but its temperature and pressure changed on its own leading to the shower head flying off the wall and soaking the whole bathroom. Both the rooms we saw were in need of a good clean and re-furb. They certainly did not sparkle.

The restaurant staff were not very professional. They used little/no discretion or knowledge/understanding with visitors with specific dietry requirements.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay in a lovely location but we were glad we weren't staying more than one night.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou181818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

285 - 291 of 291 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2006

This was the noisiest and most awful night trying to sleep I have ever had and am very disappointed that such a well presented hotel offered such a low standard of accommodation for what is not a cheap hotel.

Stayed: November 2006
2  Thank KirstyHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2006

We got married at the Farnham House Hotel in July 2004 and it was a beautiful venue. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful at all times and the setting is lovely. The main dining room and conservatory holds 75 guests, and the food was really good, especially compared to other weddings we've been to where the food seems to suffer from being prepared en-masse.

The grounds are lovely and the hotel is small enough that we filled all the 25 rooms, which meant it felt like "ours" for the day. The four-poster bridal suite was full of character and very spacious. Other rooms were all nicely presented and clean.

All our guests have said lovely things about the hotel, and some wrote to thank the management for the work they put in.

We have dined at the hotel on a separate occasion on a week night and found the food to be very good, and the service just as professional as it was on our wedding day.

  • Stayed: July 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alycya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bournemouth
12
Reviewed April 2, 2006

My partner and I found this hotel purely by accident and thought I would let your readers know what a lovely little hotel this was. The hotel is set up the Main road along a tree lined driveway and has some lovely grounds. The hotel was warm and inviting and the staff were very friendly.
The standard of room that we had was very reasonably priced and came with everything you would expect for a 3star hotel and more. I am sorry we do not have any pictures but really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Fareham
16
Reviewed March 27, 2006

I was a guest staying overnight after a wedding reception at the Farnham House Hotel. The hotel was very picturesque and a dream to stay in. Our Four Poster bedroom was of a large size with a king size bed & jacuzzi which we were not expecting. The staff were freindly and did an excellent job of looking after us. I would definatley reccomend this hotel for anyone looking to get away fro a few days or for a romantic break.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding.

Lovely setting for a hotel. Reception small but staff friendly and helpful. Rooms are a good size and very modern.

Food in the restaurant was excellent and waiting staff were good. Breakfast was ok, staff need reminding of replacing things and topping things up but thats a minor complaint.

The hotel is a wedding venue, so expect a variety of guests around the hotel.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Brodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivano S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
3.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Country House Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
116 reviews
6.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
382 reviews
11.6 mi away
Angel Posting House and Livery
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham House Hotel

Address: Alton Road | Surrey, Farnham GU10 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range: $84 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnham House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel with comfortable bedrooms in a beautiful peaceful rural area yet convenient location. The hotel is set in over 5 acres of beautiful landscape grounds with a tennis court and garden gazebo. The relaxing bar and restaurant offers both a snack menu and full menu. The hotel provides air conditioned rooms for business meetings and conferences. Well renowned as a wedding venue the hotel is also available for exclusive use. There is good onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Farnham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham House Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing