We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be better” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Farnham House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Farnham House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Farnborough
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could be better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

I was staying at this hotel as part of a wedding party that had exclusive use of the hotel and my first impression was good - the outside of the hotel is beautiful and fascinating to look at. I had asked on booking and again when I phoned a week before arrival to be put into a room next door to a friend of mine who was staying by herself however upon checking in they had put us in different corners of the hotel. We complaining to the unorganised Reception Team they did try and move us together but in the end we had to setlle for being in the same corridor. Rooms were tatty and in need of a coat of paint at least but did have the basic facilities and the sight of conference chairs piled haphazardly in the corridor and partially blocking a fire exit did concern me a little. The wedding breakfats itself was excellent - organised and friendly staff who went out of their way to ensure everyone was catered for and the food was hot and tasty!!! Duringa break in the day, I decided to walk around the grounds although they are not extensive as first appears and the swimming pool had a very green look about it and smelt odd. We were assured that this was algae that had grown on the bottom of the pool and was harmless but that they were trying to remove but it did look particularly welcoming. Corridors are quite noisy and our room was situated opposite the breakfast room which did not lead to a lie in at all. The bar is quaint but not ideal for a busy wedding reception.Overall, we had no choice but to stay at this hotel due to the wedding being held there but I would not go back for a personal stay due to the lack of organisation and general upkeep of the hotel

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FarnboroughRuthR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    72
    60
    38
    32
See reviews for
59
87
12
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

This hotel is in a great location with lovely grounds and looks the business from outside. Internally, the decor is faded and the rooms are clean, but need updating (tartan carpets??). It obviously does a lot of business from weddings - we were there Friday & Saturday for a wedding (off-site), and both nights they were booked with weddings.

The staff are fantastic - young, friendly and very keen to please, they really stood out in making this an above-average stay. Havieng read previous reviews, I called beforehand and asked to be put in rooms on the top floor, and upgraded if possible. The girl on the phone said she would put us in rooms as far away from the wedding action as possible, but if we wanted to be upgraded, this would put us in a room above the party - we stuck with the former, and slept blissfully unaware of everything.

Breakfast was your typical full English buffet, sausages a cut above the usual, everything else nothing special, nothing bad.

The outdoor swimming pool is a big plus - its not bath hot, but wasn't cold either.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gavstergav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

The Farnham House Hotel is in a gorgeous location, surrounded by countryside (so it's very quiet) yet only a few minutes from main roads / motorways for easy access. My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights at the end of May. The staff were very helpful, polite and friendly.

Having read the reviews here, we also asked to be moved to another room after being allocated one next to the shingle-covered car park (I'm a light sleeper). Maybe secondary double glazing would help? Both rooms we saw were small and very basic in furnishings. This is NOT a luxury hotel although the external views give that impression.

Unfortunately it seems the owners (Hollybourne Hotels) are not re-investing much as far as the interior of the hotel goes; it's really crying out for refurbishment (and I would agree with some of the views here - a more powerful vaccuum cleaner would be a good start!). The shower hose had a huge split in it. The iron we asked for had a burnt plate. The decor could be ignored, but the extremely uncomfortable bed definitely could not. I spent the entire night trying not to roll into my boyfriend. At 85k (him) and 66k (me) we are not that heavy, either!

The breakfast was of poor quality (cheap sausages), but edible anyway.

On a more positive note, the tennis court and swimming pool were great and the gardens absolutely beautiful. The building itself is a lovely old country house, so it's a real pity the owners aren't bothering to take care of it. This could be a great hotel if it was re-furbished and the quality of the food improved just a notch. I would recommend this hotel for no more than two nights and only then to someone who isn't too particular about things but who appreciates a nice location.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosie1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farnham hotels

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2009

We booked in for 4 nights as my boyfriend was doing business in the area and I decided to tag along for a couple of days. My boyfriend arrived before met. Having seen the first room he went to reception to say whilst it was fine, as I was going to be there for 2 days he would prefer something a bit more spacious. Without hesitation they moved us to room 18 complete with 4 poster bed and a jacuzzi... it was lovely.... the grounds are beautiful and so quiet with amazing country views and animals to observe. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were really polite and helpful. We've stayed in other hotels in Farnham but this was just loveley and trust me, I'm not easily pleased. If you want a nice quite, rural retreat with access to the centre then this is perfect !

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireBorn2shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fleet
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2008

My husband booked an over night stay as a wedding anniversary suprise

Room no 3 on the ground floor was on the back of the hotel with a shingle carpark.

2am we were woken by a delivery van reversing on the shingle, again around 4am, then at 6am the night porter decides to vacumn the hall outside our room for 10 minutes !!

The shower room was scruffy with the tiles needing a good clean and the toilet seat broke so we placed it on the floor till the following morning..

All thro the night I had a tickly cough at the back of my throat .this was the result of the carpet not clean..with a layer of dust and fluff/hair bits on the carpet by the bedside.
We didnt realise the carpet was so dirty as at a glance the carpet was a pinky/grey shadow pattern, only when I picked up my shoes I realised how dirty it was.

My husband ordered a gift of flowers which were placed in a plastic water pack on the dressing table.
At some point in the night the flowers fell off the dressing table and we woke to find water all over the floor and it soaked our travel bag.

so after arriving full of hope of a romantic evening in a nice hotel we left the following morning.tired from sleep disturbance and our clothes,travel bag and flowers in plastic black bags !!

Food ! no brown bread rolls only a white french stick cut up,
two choices of food we requested were not on the menue,as we were told chef threw out the fishcakes this morning !!
The meals we did finally receive were acceptable.and portions acceptable.

I did complain the following morning to the deputy manager who inspected the room and agreed it was dirty.
She agreeded the broken toilet seat was unacceptable , they could have placed the flower pack into an ice bucket to prevent it falling over.
It was not acceptable for vacumning to take place at 6am.!

We were offered another complimentry overnight stay.which we declined . a voucher for a Sunday lunch we again declined.
She finally deducted £30 from the tariff of £90.

In hindsight we should have not accepted this reduction. We should not have been charged at all !!!
We would not return to this hotel and have told friends to make them aware as they are booked in for New Years Eve.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — the fact that it was not clean and cold
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2008

We attended a wedding at the Farnham House Hotel during October. The wedding was excellent, good food, good service and staff.

However, when we come onto the hotel part, the hotel didnt fare as well.
The website and photos of the hotel, do not live up to reality, the hotel needs some redecorating and updating. It has become a bit shabby around the edges.

The room itself was fine, but was very hot, so much so we slept with all the windows open.

Breakfast, is the real reason for the poor rating.
On arriving for breakfast, there was no where to sit, with the tables needing clearing. There was no clean cutlery or crockery, or coffee. It took ages for hot food to arrive, and when it did, only consisted of 10 sausages, which wasnt enough to feed 50+ people.
The main problem was there was 1 member of staff looking after over 50 guests, and they had to do everything.
We complained on check-out, but was told that because we arrived towards the end of breakfast (8.45, when it ended at 9.30) that things were winding down. But, coming back to previous reviews I think that this is normal.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cuthbert_the_octopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2007

Me and my partner stayed here for the one night. Rooms were small and cramped, and noisy if on the ground floor. Most of the fittings needed updating as were tired and worn, dbedding old, shower dirty etc.

Whilist not impressed with the rooms, the bar and reception areas were pleasant and has a nice atmosphere to them and grounds were very nice. However at £90 per room this was not good value and breakfast was of poor quality and tasteless, would not stay again

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixie2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
3.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
1.8 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#4 of 6 in Farnham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
6.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Alton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
10.7 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham House Hotel

Property: Farnham House Hotel
Address: Alton Road, Farnham GU10 5ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnham House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel with comfortable bedrooms in a superb peaceful yet convenient location. A unique country house hotel set in over 5 acres of beautiful landscape grounds with a tennis court and garden pavilion. The relaxing bar offers a great snack menu or for extensive a la carte dining there is the restaurant. The hotel provides air conditioned rooms for business meetings and conferences with Wi Fi through out, good on-site free parking and the opportunity of having the hotel on an exclusive use basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Farnham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham House Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing