We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff & great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Farnham House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This hotel is in a great location with lovely grounds and looks the business from outside. Internally, the decor is faded and the rooms are clean, but need updating (tartan carpets??). It obviously does a lot of business from weddings - we were there Friday & Saturday for a wedding (off-site), and both nights they were booked with weddings.

The staff are fantastic - young, friendly and very keen to please, they really stood out in making this an above-average stay. Havieng read previous reviews, I called beforehand and asked to be put in rooms on the top floor, and upgraded if possible. The girl on the phone said she would put us in rooms as far away from the wedding action as possible, but if we wanted to be upgraded, this would put us in a room above the party - we stuck with the former, and slept blissfully unaware of everything.

Breakfast was your typical full English buffet, sausages a cut above the usual, everything else nothing special, nothing bad.

The outdoor swimming pool is a big plus - its not bath hot, but wasn't cold either.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gavstergav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (286)
There are newer reviews for Farnham House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 286 reviews

Reviewed May 26, 2009

The Farnham House Hotel is in a gorgeous location, surrounded by countryside (so it's very quiet) yet only a few minutes from main roads / motorways for easy access. My boyfriend and I stayed for two nights at the end of May. The staff were very helpful, polite and friendly.

Having read the reviews here, we also asked to be moved to another room after being allocated one next to the shingle-covered car park (I'm a light sleeper). Maybe secondary double glazing would help? Both rooms we saw were small and very basic in furnishings. This is NOT a luxury hotel although the external views give that impression.

Unfortunately it seems the owners (Hollybourne Hotels) are not re-investing much as far as the interior of the hotel goes; it's really crying out for refurbishment (and I would agree with some of the views here - a more powerful vaccuum cleaner would be a good start!). The shower hose had a huge split in it. The iron we asked for had a burnt plate. The decor could be ignored, but the extremely uncomfortable bed definitely could not. I spent the entire night trying not to roll into my boyfriend. At 85k (him) and 66k (me) we are not that heavy, either!

The breakfast was of poor quality (cheap sausages), but edible anyway.

On a more positive note, the tennis court and swimming pool were great and the gardens absolutely beautiful. The building itself is a lovely old country house, so it's a real pity the owners aren't bothering to take care of it. This could be a great hotel if it was re-furbished and the quality of the food improved just a notch. I would recommend this hotel for no more than two nights and only then to someone who isn't too particular about things but who appreciates a nice location.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosie1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2009

We booked in for 4 nights as my boyfriend was doing business in the area and I decided to tag along for a couple of days. My boyfriend arrived before met. Having seen the first room he went to reception to say whilst it was fine, as I was going to be there for 2 days he would prefer something a bit more spacious. Without hesitation they moved us to room 18 complete with 4 poster bed and a jacuzzi... it was lovely.... the grounds are beautiful and so quiet with amazing country views and animals to observe. The staff couldn't do enough for us and were really polite and helpful. We've stayed in other hotels in Farnham but this was just loveley and trust me, I'm not easily pleased. If you want a nice quite, rural retreat with access to the centre then this is perfect !

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireBorn2shop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2008

My husband booked an over night stay as a wedding anniversary suprise

Room no 3 on the ground floor was on the back of the hotel with a shingle carpark.

2am we were woken by a delivery van reversing on the shingle, again around 4am, then at 6am the night porter decides to vacumn the hall outside our room for 10 minutes !!

The shower room was scruffy with the tiles needing a good clean and the toilet seat broke so we placed it on the floor till the following morning..

All thro the night I had a tickly cough at the back of my throat .this was the result of the carpet not clean..with a layer of dust and fluff/hair bits on the carpet by the bedside.
We didnt realise the carpet was so dirty as at a glance the carpet was a pinky/grey shadow pattern, only when I picked up my shoes I realised how dirty it was.

My husband ordered a gift of flowers which were placed in a plastic water pack on the dressing table.
At some point in the night the flowers fell off the dressing table and we woke to find water all over the floor and it soaked our travel bag.

so after arriving full of hope of a romantic evening in a nice hotel we left the following morning.tired from sleep disturbance and our clothes,travel bag and flowers in plastic black bags !!

Food ! no brown bread rolls only a white french stick cut up,
two choices of food we requested were not on the menue,as we were told chef threw out the fishcakes this morning !!
The meals we did finally receive were acceptable.and portions acceptable.

I did complain the following morning to the deputy manager who inspected the room and agreed it was dirty.
She agreeded the broken toilet seat was unacceptable , they could have placed the flower pack into an ice bucket to prevent it falling over.
It was not acceptable for vacumning to take place at 6am.!

We were offered another complimentry overnight stay.which we declined . a voucher for a Sunday lunch we again declined.
She finally deducted £30 from the tariff of £90.

In hindsight we should have not accepted this reduction. We should not have been charged at all !!!
We would not return to this hotel and have told friends to make them aware as they are booked in for New Years Eve.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettyblueyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2008

We attended a wedding at the Farnham House Hotel during October. The wedding was excellent, good food, good service and staff.

However, when we come onto the hotel part, the hotel didnt fare as well.
The website and photos of the hotel, do not live up to reality, the hotel needs some redecorating and updating. It has become a bit shabby around the edges.

The room itself was fine, but was very hot, so much so we slept with all the windows open.

Breakfast, is the real reason for the poor rating.
On arriving for breakfast, there was no where to sit, with the tables needing clearing. There was no clean cutlery or crockery, or coffee. It took ages for hot food to arrive, and when it did, only consisted of 10 sausages, which wasnt enough to feed 50+ people.
The main problem was there was 1 member of staff looking after over 50 guests, and they had to do everything.
We complained on check-out, but was told that because we arrived towards the end of breakfast (8.45, when it ended at 9.30) that things were winding down. But, coming back to previous reviews I think that this is normal.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuthbert_the_octopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

Me and my partner stayed here for the one night. Rooms were small and cramped, and noisy if on the ground floor. Most of the fittings needed updating as were tired and worn, dbedding old, shower dirty etc.

Whilist not impressed with the rooms, the bar and reception areas were pleasant and has a nice atmosphere to them and grounds were very nice. However at £90 per room this was not good value and breakfast was of poor quality and tasteless, would not stay again

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Pixie2211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

The hotel is in a nice woodland setting with a long drive and looks impressive. It has potential but the rooms and service make it no more than a 3* hotel.

The rooms all appeared rather dirty and run down. We had friends staying in one of the top rooms with a 4-poster bed, which we thought was impressive. However, even that room was disappointing. The TV signal was terrible, wallpaper was bubbling in places indicating damp and the bathroom was a disaster. There was a shower in the bath but its temperature and pressure changed on its own leading to the shower head flying off the wall and soaking the whole bathroom. Both the rooms we saw were in need of a good clean and re-furb. They certainly did not sparkle.

The restaurant staff were not very professional. They used little/no discretion or knowledge/understanding with visitors with specific dietry requirements.

Overall, it was a pleasant stay in a lovely location but we were glad we weren't staying more than one night.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lou181818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
1.8 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Frensham Pond Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
107 reviews
6.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
367 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham House Hotel

Address: Alton Road | Surrey, Farnham GU10 5ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range: $87 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnham House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel with comfortable bedrooms in a beautiful peaceful rural area yet convenient location. The hotel is set in over 5 acres of beautiful landscape grounds with a tennis court and garden gazebo. The relaxing bar and restaurant offers both a snack menu and full menu. The hotel provides air conditioned rooms for business meetings and conferences. Well renowned as a wedding venue the hotel is also available for exclusive use. There is good onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farnham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham House Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing