We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, lovely grounds and friendly, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Farnham House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    77
    61
    42
    32
See reviews for
67
91
12
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent one night in the Farnham house hotel for my father in laws wedding reception last night and I must say my wife and I were very disappointed.
Overall the setting is very good, picturesque and recessed away from main roads. The room we were given was draughty due to a very ill fitting window. Our bathroom was locked from the inside so a member of staff had to break in and when we did get in the base of the bath was stained and the loo paper was as cheap as could possibly be, which I know may sound petty but when your paying £90 for one night's stay, I expect at least some soft loo paper.
Thr toilet had to be repeatedly pumped to get it to flush and even then it wasn't guaranteed. And to top it off the shower would stay at one temperature, if some used the toilet within the hotel it would be either scolding or freezing.
I have not stayed in many hotels but I have stayed in premier inns and a few country hotels and this was by far the most disappointing.
To top it all off, when we came to check out, some on had booked drinks to our room in the night of the reception and there was no way of proving it wasnt ours due to an archaic paper method of keeping tabs.
I swore I would never write a bad review on trip advisor but this was a real let down and I feel people should know.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank womsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The hotel was set in lovely grounds with nice areas to walk when it was not raining. when we arrived it was raining very heavy and there was two wedding taken place, I felt the wedding took all priority. The pictures in the brochure of the rooms did not look like anything to the box room we stayed in but as we were only there for one night i could put up with it. due to the heavy rain i thought i would sit and have a drink in the bar, this was impossible as the two wedding were taking everything up, when i complained at reception i was told i could sit in one of the training rooms and someone would come up and serve us. the training room was a training room with flip chart and other training materials in it. I was not happy with this and complained to reception who then allowed us to sit in one of the bars whilst the wedding guests had there meal.
if you are staying here on a weekend check to see if there are any wedding taken place as you are put second to the wedding, i am glad we were going out that night as the stay would have been a boring one stuck in our room.
Breakfast was really good and the staff were helpful when they were not dealing with the wedding guests.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I attended a wedding at this hotel, and I was very surprised with how beautiful the building looked. The whole day was great and highly recommended for a wedding. We were lucky as the day was lovely sunshine and blue skies. So the ceremony was outside. The only complaint I would have to say about the whole day was the meal. It lacked so much taste and looked like it was put together by somebody on work experience due to the shocking presentation. The hotel I felt was trying too hard, sadly the food really let them down. They would have been better simply serving steak and chips. I didn’t say at the hotel as I felt it was well over priced for a three star, but I’m sure it would have been a lovely hotel to stay in. Nice grounds in a great location. Also the hotel was very easy to find. So apart from the food, it was a great hotel and all the staff worked hard to make everybody happy...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunwharf3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Obnoxious night porter, extremely crude when talking to his colleague about women, complained about having to work 16 hours straight, not really what you want to listen to when trying to relax in the bar. No windows to open at night room temperature far too high unable to change the thermostat and as such was like sleeping in a sauna. Decided to eat dinner in the restaurant, ordered a caesar salad was the only person in the dining area, there was a 25 min wait for the salad. The only pleasant time spent in the hotel was checking out. Lovely reception staff willing to help as was staying due to business will not recommend and advise company to remove from our approved hotels. Never again!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAlex186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Farnham hotels

Northants
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Just came back from a wedding at the hotel. It was very enjoyable & the staff we very helpful (besides an issue with a raspberry). There were two small issues. The first re rooms being ready (a lot of us wanted to get changed in our rooms as we had travelled a long way but as they had had a wedding the previous day very few rooms were ready in time - perhaps a room for people to change would be a good idea). Second , check your bill. When they get rushed errors can be made (I don't think they were intentional)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3witches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Visiting the area for a wedding at nearby northbrook park. Hotel is lovely, nice grounds, we stayed in a nice room with a recently refurbished bathroom with jacuzzi bath. It could be a four star with just a few improvements.
It's a shame that after refurbishing the bathroom that they put in a rubbish shower, not a power shower!
The chap that looked after us with our meal was friendly, perhaps a little too over familiar.
The main let down was the food. The service was quickish, but the quality of food was below par. The steaks were poorly cooked, if requested rare, it was medium or even med-well. The puddings were not great either. Some of our party ordered the bread & butter pudding, it was warmed up stodge! Awful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Farnham
1.8 mi away
Mercure Farnham Bush Hotel
3.9 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Hog's Back Hotel & Spa Farnham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Bishops Table
The Bishops Table
#5 of 6 in Farnham
107 reviews
6.8 mi away
Alton House Hotel
Alton House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Alton
365 reviews
5.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Farnborough
Holiday Inn Farnborough
#6 of 7 in Farnborough
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Farnham House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Farnham House Hotel

Property: Farnham House Hotel
Address: Alton Road | Surrey, Farnham GU10 5ER, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Farnham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Farnham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Farnham House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming hotel with comfortable bedrooms in a beautiful peaceful rural area yet convenient location. The hotel is set in over 5 acres of beautiful landscape grounds with a tennis court and garden gazebo. The relaxing bar and restaurant offers both a snack menu and full menu. The hotel provides air conditioned rooms for business meetings and conferences. Well renowned as a wedding venue the hotel is also available for exclusive use. There is good onsite parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Farnham House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Farnham House Hotel Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing