We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely 14th birthday party for our daughter”
Review of The Vintage Cake House - CLOSED

The Vintage Cake House
Description: The Vintage Cake House is a traditional English style tearoom run by a small team who each have a passion for vintage style, baking, tea drinking and providing friendly service, good quality fresh food and fantastic tea & coffee. Located in the historical town of Farnham, Surrey - situated on Downing Street, we are blessed to be surrounded by other beautiful listed buildings. We thrive on being a completely independent business & the only Tearoom in Farnham. Please browse our website for more information
Restaurant details
Description: The Vintage Cake House is a traditional English style tearoom run by a small team who each have a passion for vintage style, baking, tea drinking and providing friendly service, good quality fresh food and fantastic tea & coffee. Located in the historical town of Farnham, Surrey - situated on Downing Street, we are blessed to be surrounded by other beautiful listed buildings. We thrive on being a completely independent business & the only Tearoom in Farnham. Please browse our website for more information
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Our daughter wanted afternoon tea to celebrate her 14th birthday and The Vintage Cake House was perfect! Ten girls had sandwiches, scones with cream and jam and thoroughly enjoyed cold drinks served in pretty jam jars with straws. The Cake House also made a birthday cake for us and gorgeous pink and white cake pops that the girls took home as a keepsake. The staff are lovely and couldn't do enough to help us, even though the rest of the cake shop was busy with other customers. Absolutely great for a teenage celebration, and very relaxing for us as her parents! We look forward to going back in the new year to try some of the other things on the menu. Thank you very much!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vintage c, Owner at The Vintage Cake House, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your review - I am so pleased your daughter had a lovely birthday - she and her friends were a pleasure to cater for. Kind regards The Vintage Cake House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 37 of 59 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

The café was packed so were asked to pop back in 10 mins. Customer service was excellent. Keep it up

Thank realsunfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vintage c, General Manager at The Vintage Cake House, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are really happy you enjoyed your visit to our tearoom. Kind regards The Vintage Cake House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This place is perfect when you need to take someone out for a traditional tea, and you don't have to order the whole thing, you can just order the scones, cream and jam if you're not in the mood for those little sandwiches with the crusts cut off - never could understand the attraction to those.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank stokesyla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vintage c, General Manager at The Vintage Cake House, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your review - we are very happy you enjoyed visiting. We look forward to seeing you soon, kind regards The Vintage Cake House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Last Saturday wanted to do something girlie & special with my daughter who was home from united and thought I would give the cafe a go as it had survived the first few months so glad I did. Cakes were interesting and tasted homemade. Choice of teas excellent. Lovely service all round lovely experience. Hope you last Farnham needs independent shops.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adelaide61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vintage c, Front Office Manager at The Vintage Cake House, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

We are extremely pleased you had a lovely experience with your daughter. Kind regards The Vintage Cake House Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Earl Grey tea was delicious, piping hot and very fresh. We did have a very long wait for the scones, but when they came, they were soft and delicious. It was a little disappointing that they ran out of strawberry jam, and although we were given an alternative of Orchard jam, this was nowhere near as good as the strawberry. My teapot was chipped and the stainless steel milk jugs did little to add to the "vintage" ambience. The staff are all clearly quite inexperienced and this showed particularly with the manageress, but we all have to start somewhere. All in all, not bad...the food and teas are very good, maybe just a little polishing of customer service skills and bin chipped crockery!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pollilop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vintage c, Front Office Manager at The Vintage Cake House, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your fresh loose leaf tea - unfortunately on extremely busy days (like the day you visited) at the end of the day we do unfortunately run low on Strawberry jam after a busy day serving our famous Cream Teas. We are sorry our alternative homemade orchard jam was not as satisfactory.
As a brand new independent business owned by someone who is younger than most business owners we are constantly learning - so thank you for your comments. We hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards The Vintage Cake House Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vintage Cake House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing